We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to Experience the #1 Winner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
246 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Had to Experience the #1 Winner!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is very Grand and yet very comfortable. Staff is attentive without being overly formal which is what we like. We had eaten at Addison for our anniversary, so we opted to enjoy the music in the lounge and ate a light dinner there. The Crispy Tuna Roll is FABULOUS and filling! Wines by the glass were tasty and a good price. The spa was off the charts. I had the 1 hour body exfoliation treatment and will go back and do that again. It was heaven! Salt water Jacuzzi & saunas the best I have ever had.

Room Tip: Any room is good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Conrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,471
    113
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
479
634
32
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

After reading several recent reviews I thought I had very little to add. But since this is probably the best hotel we have ever visited, I felt obligated to tell people that.

The hotel's architecture evokes Italy, except it is more beautiful than any hotel we have been to in many visits to Italy. The grounds are impeccably landscaped with beautiful gardens, paths, pergolas and lawns. The furnishing are outrageously stunning without being over-the-top garish.

Our room was large and comfy with a balcony overlooking a croquet court and a lush garden. Staff members went out of their way to be accommodating and helpful. Everyone made us feel like they were honestly pleased that we would spend 6 days with them. We really enjoyed the golf course which was a Tom Fazio beauty.

We were close enough to La Jolla and closer yet to Del Mar Beach to be able to shop and eat. We even spent time in San Diego were we went to the zoo, visited the USS Midway and walk through Little Italy. All this less than 30 minutes away. Add perfect weather to the equation and it just doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank racar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is just... wow. I don't know really how to describe the whole place. It's opulent, grand, lavish and above all simply amazing. The bed was massive and comfy and the bath tub, oh my goodness, you could certainly drown in there for the depth! The rooms were large and cosy and it was lovely having a bath and a separate shower place. The grounds were amazing so large and because the weather being so good, it was lovely walking round the whole place. There's tennis courts, gold courses and equestrian stuff too, so everything for everyone. Also an amazing top of the art gym. Loved the fact that there was a grown up only pool and a family pool if you wanted it. The food was really nice, but a little expensive for what you get, but the staff were super helpful and friendly. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spacey_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Nothing is overlooked. This is a top hotel and the people that work hear are amazing. I will start with the art in the halls. The Grand Del Mar must have thousands of paintings in the halls (at least 5 in my room alone).

The room is like something out of the another time (but is all so new). Landscape is second to none. Didn't bring children on this trip, but noticed that the Grand Del Mar has an activity schedule for children 5+.

Outdoor pool (it is San Diego) and an adults only relaxing pool.

Very clearn and well appointed. Bathrooms are amazing and we had a balc.

Room Tip: There must be a few rooms that face the pool? Always ask if you are worried about noise in the even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjswanso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This place is absolutely ridiculous. This sprawling resort is pristine. The service is the best I have ever experienced. The housekeepers tie your power chords up with a nice bow!! chocolates or chocolate or chocolate covered oreos every night on your pillow, complimentary coffee and juice in the morning. I loved the adult only no cell phone whirlpool. Concierge and bellmen are extremely helpful. Courtesy car service into La Jolla or Del Mar. Simply Amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night to celebrate our 13th anniversary. We had a "standard" King room with a nice walk out patio onto the grounds. The room was immaculate - very clean and well appointed. The bathroom was amazing - marble, with a huge tub and walk-in shower. We're really picky when it comes to cleanliness, and we were more than satisfied with the room! I was also pleasantly surprised how quite the room (and the rest of the grounds) were, especially with the number of families there during our stay.

We had a late lunch at the restaurant (Amaya) and enjoyed very good food and some nice mixed drinks. We were touched by the free anniversary dessert they gave us as well. The service at this restaurant was like the rest of the experience throughout the hotel: superb. The staff was all friendly, made sure we had everything we needed, helped us with directions and questions and really made us feel like VIPs.

The grounds are beautiful, and the pools are perfect. We spent the afternoon at the relaxation pool in the Spa - no kids under 16 allowed there. It was peaceful and beautiful. The other pool on the grounds is a ways away and geared towards families. We'll definitely go there next time we bring our kids.

We've stayed at some pretty nice places in the past and this experience is at the very top of our list. We'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jdboyd777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This place has the best combination of luxury and family friendly I've ever been. I'll take anytime on business or family travel. The most excellent service & accommodations. Great location, has a tight golf course and the pool situation is great for kids and has adult only pool as well.

Room Tip: With 3 kids 2 adjoining rooms works well
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marshall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, triple Five-Star Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ebookers, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing