We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

964 - 970 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is a first class resort. It is worth all the money that you pay. Service and quality are top level here. And service is great, staff is trained great. Will be coming back definitely. Also is family friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

The Grand Del Mar is unquestionably the nicest resort I've ever visited. The property is amazingly decorated, the service is second to none and the facilities are top shelf. I've never felt so pampered in my life. There is plenty for families and those without kids. They have it all covered in first class style.

Stayed: August 2013
3  Thank Brendan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I tend not to give 5 star ratings; there is always something that irks or could be improved. The Grand Del Mar is the exception. It was truly, truly, outstanding and points were checked for all of us. My 6-year-old son LOVED the explorers club, my baby daughter was taken care of beautifully, and us parents - in need of a break, were thoroughly pampered. The staff is outstandingly trained and each and every single one of them surpassed our expectations.

Room Tip: 4 of us (2 adults, 1 baby in a crib, 1 son in a rollaway bed) stayed in a king room. It was somewhat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The resort was magnificent. We had an incredible stay, from the moment we pulled up to our departure, the staff and service was superb. We were traveling with our 6 month old and were a little unsure of how she would do, well needless to say she loved it! They provided us with a crib (it had bumpers, so we removed them) and inside the crib was a really cute baby bath set. We walked around the grounds, which were really magical-- we enjoyed the fountain and the bon fire (they provided marshmellows), we also had a drink in their lobby bar/restaurant and enjoyed the grand piano music. The next morning we had breakfast at one of their restaurants (Amaya?) and the service was beyond attentive, so nice. Check out was a breeze, they provided us with bottled water for the road. The only unexpected hiccup was the bath tub--we were running it for our baby's bath and noticed some black residue in the water, we freaked out, called the front desk and they assured us it was not toxic--we didn't risk it and showered her in the stall instead.

Room Tip: We were in room 158 and it was easy to navigate with a stroller since its on the first floor and rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzy217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My sweet husband booked a weekend staycation to celebrate my birthday here in August 2013. From the moment we checked in to the minute we checked out, the service was incredible. I suppose you expect a certain level of service from 5-star resorts, but a lot of times there is also a little bit of pretentiousness that comes along with it, especially when you look younger than you really are. Thankfully, we didn't experience any of that during our stay. Everyone, from the front desk, to the bellhop, to the housekeeping staff was friendly, polite, and helpful. We had our dog with us and she was treated like a first class guest too! They require guests with dogs to book a room on the first floor so that you can easily access the lawn area from your room. It was so convenient for us to let our dog out to run around and do her business directly from our room. They also provided her with dog bowls (and two bottles of water!) and a doggie bed.

The resort itself is just beautiful and so elegantly appointed from the rooms to common areas. We enjoyed room service, a casual dinner at Amaya one evening and a more formal dinner at Addison another evening. We enjoyed massages at the spa as well. The spa is not as big as ones you'd find in Vegas, but it was very nice. There is a jacuzzi tub, steam room, sauna, showers, bathrooms, lockers, relaxation room, and outdoor patio area.

I never thought I would enjoy a staycation as much as we did here. It really felt like we were on a vacation miles away from home when we were only 15 minutes away. It has completely changed my thoughts on staycations and I hope we get a chance to come back here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gellibelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Would have given 6 stars if I could. A truly beautiful hotel. Fabulous room. All the touches you would expect of an absolutely top drawer hotel. All is and a setting in a lovely valley in San Diego. Cannot wait to come again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank PhilipJepson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,008 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#47 of 278 in San Diego
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £347 - £710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the elegance and comfort of an old-world Mediterranean estate, San Diego's luxury Fairmont Grand Del Mar golf resort and spa welcomes guests to Southern California with signature charm and impeccable service. Magnificently situated on 400-acres in a pristine coastal canyon five miles from the Pacific Ocean, Fairmont Grand Del Mar shines as TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Vacation at this Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five Diamond luxury San Diego resort featuring the private Tom Fazio designed golf course, A Five-Star spa, four sparkling pools, tennis courts, yoga and fitness classes, Explorer's Club for kids, nightlife and exquisite dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star and Five Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing