We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless From Start To Finish”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #3 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I previously had not stayed at this property due its location in suburban San Diego. It is 20-30 min from downtown San Diego and about that to Mission Bay, as well. However, don't let the location fool you; this is an amazing hotel. Recently built, no detail went overlooked. The property is well manicured and expertly maintained. The pools were a perfect temperature and the pool chairs/lounges were comfortable and kept in great condition. I stayed in some sort of mini suite which appeared to be the size of two regular rooms. Honestly, I cannot think of a single things wrong with the room; everything from furnishings to sheets to large bathrooms could not have been better. Bell and valet service was prompt. Front desk staff was attentive. The fitness room rivaled what you would expect at a full service gym. The restaurant food was good for dinner and great at breakfast, although the service at dinner was painfully slow and not very good. The five star restaurant on property has a dress code (which I could not meet being that I was in SD for a getaway weekend and who plans to wear a coat/tie on the weekend in SD??). I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again and have already recommended it to several others. Pricey, but in this instance you really do get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Rooms off of the adult pool area and near the spa and fitness room- as opposed to family pool- are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Latitudes_Dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,848 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

My family stayed at this property for spring break. We were greeted by friendly and charming front desk employees and immediately offered fresh, cold beverages. My children were treated very kindly and dug through the "treasure chest" offered to them by the front desk employees. When we arrived in our room, two giant chocolate chip "welcome" cookies decorated like cats were waiting for my kids. That was definitely a highlight of the trip and a delightful way to start it off at the Del Mar. We found the food to be delicious, the staff to be of the highest quality and the kids' Explorer Club to be the best we've seen so far. We will be returning again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 700mumtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very pleased with our one-night stay at the Grand Del Mar. The staff was friendly and helpful. The facilities are amazing (some of the decor is a little over the top but fun to take in). Pools are great. Resort is kid friendly. Obviously not a budget hotel, but fair value. No resort fee (congratulations to the management for this!), reasonably prized breakfast at Amaya ($60 for two). This resort compares favorably to many Ritz Carlton Resorts that we have visited in the past (somehow feels one notch up from Ritz Resorts). Location is isolated, but this is part of the appeal. Hope to visit again soon and play some golf, as well.

Room Tip: Got the impression that all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRIPMEISTER2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This was our last stop on a weeklong California trip and the perfect way to wind down a tiring trip. Rooms, pools, restaurants and all public areas are beautiful. We loved that they offered different activities at the resort, such as kayaking, fitness classes, etc. The fitness center is also very nice. We would love to come back soon!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank travelbirds0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

It's a little out there in terms of location. Premises are kept really nice. Staff was ok not great. The room I stayed in was average, but I was expecting more. On positive side, rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldisatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDelMar, Executive Director of Rooms at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for your review. While we are pleased to hear you found our grounds and room cleanliness exceptional, it is disappointing that every aspect of your stay wasn't as notable.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, I kindly invite you to respond to my direct message at your convenience.

Sincerely,
Nenad Praporski, Executive Director of Rooms
The Grand Del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We spent three days at the Grand Del Mar and it is hands down, the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The Hotel and grounds are beautiful. We would leave out of the back of our room, which dumped into the gardens and just go for a walk around the grounds. My 9 year old daughter was in awe. The service on top of this, is what makes this place so special. It's spectacular yet down to earth, which to me make it's better than a Ritz from a service aspect. They never say "No", and genuinely seem to care about your enjoyment. It's as if everyone is invested in the property.

We have been to a lot of nice places, but I would say the Grand was heads and shoulders above the rest.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kenswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

After a year, I was offered a free spa massage after my initial visit (see my original review).

The spa services were wonderful, I received a glass of champagne with lovely chocolates to accompany.

This spa is lovely. I had a wonderful return. I will be back.

Thank you for extending this offer to me.

Room Tip: Spa visit only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank LoveZeroG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,120 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,101 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#2 of 286 in San Diego
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,226 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 286 in San Diego
1,048 reviews
Downtown
THE US GRANT, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#2 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £336 - £701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Prestigia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing