We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Week Vacation in San Diego from Puerto Rico” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One Week Vacation in San Diego from Puerto Rico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

All I have to say is this place is amazing, we clearly went from one Paradise to another. The Gran Del Mar is awesome. Beautiful grounds, Absolutely fabulous rooms, Pools for families and separate one for adults too. Golf course, tennis courts, different restaurants to choose from.

Room Tip: Request the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Del_Este2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,435
    110
    37
    19
    13
See reviews for
464
623
32
329
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I capped off our week traveling the PCH with two nights and this stunning resort. Resembling a Tuscan villa, Grand Del Mar, is opulent: marbled lobby, manicured lawns, fragrant landscaping, Mediterranean-style courtyards, terraces and walkways with awe-inspiring views, and outdoor fireplaces, fountains and adirondaks for sitting to enjoy the view. There are two tennis courts, two family pools, a kids' activity center, an adults only pool, 24-hr fitness center, a spa and courtesy shuttles (bmw 7-series and Cadillac escalades) to La Jolla and the beach near Torry Pines. We were fortunate enough to dine at their signature restaurant, Addison.

The reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is housekeeping requested a specific time from us for turn-down service and NEVER showed the second night. I missed the chocolate covered Oreo they left on the pillow the previous night.

NOTE: the on-property equestrian center is closed. Horseriding is offered thru a third party.

Room Tip: It is difficult to imagine getting a bad room in this resort. Our room was facing a beautiful garden...
See more room tips
Green Features: You can request "green" service. Only towels left on the floor are changed.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Wow! This is the best hotel we have stayed at to date. And mind you, we have stayed at plenty of high end hotel/resorts around the world. The Grand Del Mar is just something else. Beautiful grounds. Absolutely stunning rooms. Pools for families and separate one for adults. Golf course, tennis courts, different restaurants and bars around the hotel. Wait staff is friendly. You really feel like kings and queens staying here. True luxury hotel where you can get R&R.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank svpepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at "the Grand Del Mar" at the end of June for 4 nights, for the beginning of our Californian trip .
It's one of of the best hotels we've ever stayed in. I was not sure when booking it about the location , but it's just 5/ 10 minutes drive to Del Mar beach , which is a really lovely area with shops and restaurants and not too far either from other tourist attractions .
From the time we arrived in, we loved the hotel , great reception , huge room, lovey restaurants but the best part of the hotel is the amazing staff.
I was slightly lost on our first day and the lady at the computer room gave me a little tour of the hotel, so nice.
We also enjoyed the completely guided hike around the canyon and the completely yoga class in the evening.
I recommend this hotel highly.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sophielondon17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I have nothing bad to say about the Grand Del Mar & honestly how could I? It's only about 7 years old but it feels as if it's been there forever (in a good way!) & the service & amenities are top notch. I've stayed at many 5 star resorts & the service here is far superior, they treat you like the kings & queens that you are & no detail is overlooked from the rooms to the housekeeping to the food to the concierge. All the restaurants were fabulous but the breakfast was out of this world & the lobster & corn tacos at the lobby bar were more than memorable. The extensive wine list & creative mixed drinks are also a fun & delish treat. Would definitely recommend it!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Courtney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

They knew our name, however that happened I was shocked. They take the time to remember you and make you feel like royalty. Best experience ever. I can not wait to go back. It is in the middle of no where and a bit slower paced. If you want lively hot spot this is not the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChandraThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was invited for a team offsite meeting at this hotel. I was amazed when I arrived: The entire place is very well organized and clean. The front desk is exactly what we see on the movies. Good, helpful and friendly staff. The room wasnt ready when we arrived, but they text me and offered me to keep my luggage.
The room is very clean and comfortable, even having the parking area view.
I will be back there with my family, since is pretty close to the beach and with a good pool area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loliv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, triple Five-Star Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing