We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Del Mar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Grand Del Mar”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I would say this is the nicest resort hotel in the U.S. and would recommend it for a romantic getaway or for a family vacation. There's no watersides but they have kids camps and it's still very kid friendly. The golf course is an excellent resort style course and there's please of trials to hike or horseback riding (they have stables). In addition, there's tennis, swimming pools, spa, croquet and lots of lawn space for kids to run around. It's close to Del Mar racetrack but it's about 5 miles to the beach. The restaurants in the hotel are great but pricey. They will shuttle you around the Del Mar area but it's first-come-first-serve so book the shuttle early with concierge. The service and staff are amazing and will treat you like royalty. Just remember…your stay won't be cheap but it will be amazing!

Room Tip: If you want quiet/romantic, don't have a room in the courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,470
    113
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
479
634
32
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newport coast
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for two nights for my birthday and were upgraded to a king room on the top floor overlooking a beautiful fountain and gardens. The cost is a bit over $600 a night.
The pools are beautiful and the patio dining was really great, especially for breakfast. The setting is tranquil - peaceful - expansive. The staff is extremely accommodating, gracious and very customer oriented. The only issue we had was with one concierge when late afternoon I asked where the Addison restaurant was located. She responded, then looked at my husband and said in a somewhat condescending tone - you can't wear shorts to Addison. I later returned to explain how rude I thought her response had been.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnjtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent place ...the rooms are great ..very serene and calm place . Excellent service and great landscape .

Perfect get away place for a quit vacation. Great views . Really liked the pool area . Amidst an excellent golf course

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avaish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County, CA
Level Contributor
223 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a very elegant property with perfect service. The staff caters to your every need. The golf course was in great condition, not too many players and fun to play. We had some of the best massages we've ever had too - great spa. We ate at Amaya and it was very good - we skipped Addison's because we weren't in the mood for a big foodie experience this time but may do that at another visit. For us this hotel was a little over the top - everything was perfect, we're just a little more casual.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelleyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The place blew away our expectations from start to finish. Aside from the stunning grounds and aesthetics, there were 2 themes to highlight in particular. 1.) Customer service- It may very well be the best customer experience we've had at a hotel. Everyone, from towel man to concierge, actively finds ways to delight you. In my view, good customer service is when you ask for something and you get it. Excellent customer service is when you get what you need, as well was what you didn't know you needed. They engaged in this consistently throughout our stay. It felt as though the staff was not just doing their job. They felt invested in us having an amazing experience.

2.) Family Friendly- Typically a hotel is either family friendly and lacking on the luxury-side, or vice-versa. In this case, the hotel seamlessly integrated the 2. When we checked in, we were treated with all the formality you would expect from a top-notch hotel. But then...after getting our keys, they bring our kids to a treasure chest to the side of the front desk where each kid got to pick out 2 prizes. Our kids, who were cranky from a long flight to San Diego, were elated. We get to the room and 20 minutes later, a gentleman shows up with 2 large cookies for the kids with our kid's names on the cookies, respectively. It was the perfect welcome that I could never have anticipated.

Room Tip: I really like being on the ground floor and having a personal patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
153 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last year and came back wondering if our stellar experience could be duplicated. It was!! The level of service is so superior, their staff training must be the absolute best. From the concierge who always remembered our names and asked about the specific arrangements they had made for us to the little cafe shop who remembered our preferences from the previous day. That's just the little things.... The spa pool was perfect, quiet, relaxing, adults only and no cell phones. The grounds and beautiful architecture were an amazing setting for a most wonderful vacation. Rooms are very spacious and luxurious. One little thing that made me smile....the shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion provided had large lettering, no need to squint without my reading glasses in the shower to differentiate between the identical containers!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the Grand Del Mar to celebrate an anniversary & birthday. It is a beautiful property and we enjoyed every second. From the spacious rooms to the glorious fountains & gorgeous grounds... It was lovely all around! Our kids joined us for a few days, and they were treated like royalty! A full crib with bath products was delivered for our infant and our 4 year old loved the special kids meals at the pool. The staff went out of their way to provide us with an awesome experience. Can't wait to go back for a special occasion in the coming year! Thank you, Grand Del Mar!

Room Tip: Honestly, I think this is the only hotel where I could say that every single room is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendiebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, triple Five-Star Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing