We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get stuck in a room with a, "Juliette," balcony”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We were placed in a room that only had a twelve inch, "standing room only," balcony. They called it a, "Juliette," balcony--- too small for any table, chair or bench. The only way to enjoy the California sunshine from the room was to keep the French Doors wide open and pull the desk chair up to the railing. Not the ideal way to enjoy a room that charged high end, "five star," rates. When I asked about moving to a room with a functional balcony, I was told, this was the, "corporate rate room," and any change would be an extra $100.00 dollars per night. I checked with several other business attendees that had rooms with balconies big enough to have a table and chairs, and found their room rate was the same as ours. So we were lied to by the front desk. We expected much better from this, "high end," resort property.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms with only a, "Juliette," balcony if you want to relax and enjoy actually b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Abiismyscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrandDelMar, Executive Director of Rooms at Fairmont Grand Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your review. Since you were traveling on business, room types may have been contracted. We would like to ensure you received accurate information. Please respond to our direct message, so we may research your reservation.

Sincerely,
Nenad Praporski, Executive Director of Rooms
The Grand Del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

935 - 941 of 1,808 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Ok first let me start off by saying this property is beautiful and the staff fantastic!

We stayed there for 3 nights when we were down to Del Mar for opening day at the track last month.
The hotel is located about 15 mins from the ocean.
There is nothing but residential around it.
No shops, no restaurants or bars or anything.
The golf course it is on looks great but I don't play golf anymore so that was not an amenity that we used. The pools are beautiful but the family pool area is super loud and lots of really young screaming kids took us out of there immediately. Nice outside bar though on that side.
We then went over to the adult pool which is quite small for a hotel this large. That was not the issue though....it was soooooooo quiet and boring you could not help but look at each other with amazement!!!
Average age was 75 years old....go figure!
I will say the attendants AT THE ADULT POOL WERE OVER THE TOP WITH THEIR SERVICE AND FRIENDLY ATTITUDE!!!!

We had a suite looking over the adult pool on the bottom floor. It was not cheap but worth every penny.

Restaurants:
The Addison was really boring but top shelf food and wine. VERY EXPENSIVE!!!

Lobby bar was ok but nothing special...we ended up going offsite most of the time. However, once again we were looking for a little more lively crowd.
Overall this hotel is perfect for the older golfer and that is who they cater to...just does not happen to be me.

Room Tip: if you want quiet then get a room overlooking the adult pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank RowerPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

From the moment you pass the guard gate, it feels as though you are entering another world. The grounds are impeccable, the hotel is gorgeous, and the staff are beyond wonderful. The fresh flower displays in the lobby look brand new every day and are beautiful. We were shown to our room by Sam, one of the bellmen. He was so courteous and genuinely interested in our itinerary. He asked if we would be partaking in the Porsche driving experience and suggested routes to drive to take in the best scenery. When we arrived back at the room about an hour later after walking the mile trail around the property (at his suggestion and would definitely recommend to get a good layout of the property), Sam had left a handwritten note with several maps and directions on areas we might like to test drive the Porsche. He later that night had left hiking trails as I had mentioned I would be hiking the next morning. He checked on us throughout our stay and always seemed one step ahead of us with maps, suggestions, etc. He definitely made our stay superior and was the most thoughtful hotel employee I had ever come across. This type of service is what makes the Grand Del Mar the #1 hotel in the US. Our room was immaculate each day and personal touches like turn down service and never once seeing housekeeping staff in the halls makes this hotel so special. The management staff at the Grand Del Mar should train every hotel staff in the country on what true hospitality and superior staff looks like. I cannot say enough about this wonderful hotel!!!!

Room Tip: We traveled without children and our room was on the 3rd floor facing the adults only pool. Beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

When you combine an amazing property with outstanding service and a delightful climate, the results are fantastic. The Grand Del Mar deserves it's reputation as one of the best resorts in the world.

Guest rooms are very spacious, well appointed and make it tempting to never go outdoors. From the oversized, luxurious bathroom to the extremely comfortable bed, these rooms are amazing.

The grounds are very well maintained and the list of activities can keep you quite busy. For those seeking rest and relaxation, you are in store for a treat as the hotel offers several swimming pools and other areas to unwind in a beautiful environment.

The fitness center is very well equipped and the spa exceeded my high expectations. Service provided to guests is first class from the moment you arrive until your departure.

Overall, the Grand Del Mar stands out as a superstar among 5-star resorts.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank EasyTraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel grounds were phenomenal. From the moment you enter the drive way into a private road it makes you feel like you are in a private villa in Italy. I loved the details in the design and architecture. I was there only one night and I wished I would have stayed longer to explore the property. So many amenities offered! My favorite detail was the french press in the bedroom! The bathroom was amazing, it was so spacious it could be another bedroom.
I was concerned about taking my one year old to a hotel like this but It was very family friendly. While we were checking in the wonderful front desk offered my daughter to pick a toy from the toy chest they had there, how thoughtful of them! Will come back with out a doubt, even though I did not receive my morning newspaper but I was able to get a copy during breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Delia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We came for 2 days for my husband's birthday and every person we encountered couldn't have been nicer. The property is beautiful with all materials imported from Europe. No detail has been left out. The rooms are beautiful, comfortable, and have espresso machines in them. The furnishings make you feel like you are in a very wealthy home. The public areas are stunning and comfortable, and the golf course, hiking trail, and grounds are convenient and accessible. They offer many activities at the fitness center. We also enjoyed the massage and hair salon. A very nice getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I would say this is the nicest resort hotel in the U.S. and would recommend it for a romantic getaway or for a family vacation. There's no watersides but they have kids camps and it's still very kid friendly. The golf course is an excellent resort style course and there's please of trials to hike or horseback riding (they have stables). In addition, there's tennis, swimming pools, spa, croquet and lots of lawn space for kids to run around. It's close to Del Mar racetrack but it's about 5 miles to the beach. The restaurants in the hotel are great but pricey. They will shuttle you around the Del Mar area but it's first-come-first-serve so book the shuttle early with concierge. The service and staff are amazing and will treat you like royalty. Just remember…your stay won't be cheap but it will be amazing!

Room Tip: If you want quiet/romantic, don't have a room in the courtyards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,058 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 286 in San Diego
2,067 reviews
Downtown
Pendry San Diego
Pendry San Diego
#3 of 286 in San Diego
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,212 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £321 - £706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capturing the elegance and comfort of an old-world Mediterranean estate, San Diego's luxury Fairmont Grand Del Mar golf resort and spa welcomes guests to Southern California with signature charm and impeccable service. Magnificently situated on 400-acres in a pristine coastal canyon five miles from the Pacific Ocean, Fairmont Grand Del Mar shines as TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Vacation at this Forbes Five-Star and AAA Five Diamond luxury San Diego resort featuring the private Tom Fazio designed golf course, A Five-Star spa, four sparkling pools, tennis courts, yoga and fitness classes, Explorer's Club for kids, nightlife and exquisite dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star and Five Diamond restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing