We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed 11 December 2008

We stayed at the Grand Del Mar to celebrate my boyfriend's 40th birthday, added surprise he proposed to me on the night of his birthday! The hotel did not leave a detail uncovered for both great events. I was calling the hotel on one hand to set up plans for his 40th, meanwhile he was calling them to set up plans for our engagement. The conceirge staff were so helpful and friendly, (thanks Katie!), they made sure every detail of our stay was met. They sent champagne up to the room twice! The gave us an agenda when we first checked in, with our massage schedules, dinner, breakfast the next morning. I did the massage package, which included 2 60 min massages, parking, breakfast for 2 and a fairway view room. The rooms are absolutely amazing. First class in every way, very big, great marble bathroom, comfortable bed, flat screen TV, Ipod player. The grounds are impeccable, great pool, we had lunch at the pool bar, food was really good. Addison's (their restaurant) was amazing. They take you over there (its just down the way) in an S class Mercedes (very nice touch!). The food was very good, very expensive (we paid $400+ for dinner for 2). I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who really wants to be pampered and catered to, its a fabulous experience!

  • Liked — The rooms, the grounds, the staff
  • Disliked — Nothing, I loved it.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelgirl056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,487
    117
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
481
642
34
341
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2008

I cannot find one bad thing to say about this property--by far, this is the most beautiful, luxurious, ourstanding hotel I have ever stayed at. It beats the St. Regis or the Waldorf Astoria any day. Every little detail was well thought of, the furnishings are absolutely beautiful, the rooms are HUGE by any standards. The service is absolutely outstanding. When we arrived, I had a bad cold, and was sniffly and coughing during checkin. After we went to the room, in about 15 min houskeeping came to the room with soup, compliments of front desk wishing me to get well soon!!! The concierge arranged for baby sitting services and even though I kept changing the date and time I need them, they never complained and always had a smile on their face. we LOVED the hotel and will return as soon as we can!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Ognianka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2008

We could not have asked for a better place to celebrate our honeymoon. The room was amazing. The staff was very helpful without being pushy. The restaurant was great. The views were beautiful. We decided to split our trip and stay downtown at the US Grant and then head out to the Grand Del Mar for the final two nights of our honeymoon. We would have stayed all four nights except that the Grand is very expensive.

We did the Breakfast package for 410 a night and it was worth it. We got a $65 credit per day for breakfast. We ate like royalty on that 65 dollars each day.

Our last night the hotel delivered all the fixings for S'mores down to the firepit for us to share together. When we returned to the room they had sent a plate of chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of champagne to the room.

  • Liked — How well the staff treated us.
  • Disliked — The price.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2008

Had a warm welcome, lovely professional staff, porters and waiters are very friendly when coming to the rooms, nice and chatty. Staff seem to enjoy being there and getting along with guests.
Rooms are excellent, great views, spacious, beds fantastic and bathrooms of excellent standards, huge bathtubs.

  • Liked — excellent location and views
  • Disliked — getting to and from downtown san diego
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MonicaW_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

This place is incredible. Everyone is attentive and on thier game.
Addison restaurant was over the top. Anaya had a very nice breakfast buffet. Bar at the golf club was great. Bar in the hotel quite nice.
Golf course was great. Forecaddie did a wonderful job. Played two rounds!
Good eye contact by staff.
Finishes in all areas are exquisite. Rooms are huge and very nice.
Tub is DEEP and fills up quickly. Flat screen in bathroom is a very nice touch.
Keep it up!

  • Liked — Service and Facilities. Just great!
  • Disliked — That I had to leave!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Trying2BHelpful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

Setting: Beautiful, but note that this is not in Del Mar (or even that close). Located on the Penasquitos Canyon Preserve, this is five miles inland. For those familiar with Aviara and La Costa, this is a little more rustic as there is much less development surrounding The Grand

Hotel: Very modern, but the other reviewers are correct - the decor is way over the top. Its supposed to be "moorish" but it feel boorish. Almost like someone had a great idea but got carried away.

Facilities: Did not play golf, but the course looks awesome. Pools are very nice and perfectly heated - not too hot, not too cold. Spa is first rate.

Food: Ate lunch by the pool and the food was actually lower priced than I expected for this type of resort. Beer for $6 - I can handle that. Heck, I pay that on an airplane. Did not try the restaurants, but had a drink in each of the bars (lobby and Amaya). Both were above average for a hotel bar.

Service: Overall very good. Housekeeping for us was particularly strong. Had turndown both nights and the second night someone actually folded clothes we had lying around!

  • Liked — Accomodations and facilities were first rate
  • Disliked — Very expensive and the decor is over the top
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Just last week when a couple of business travelers from the Northwest walked through the doors of The Grand Del Mar. Little did they know, they soon would become famous for having a terrible hotel experience, and creating one of the most entertaining Power point decks ever made to share with all our clients.

This classic Power point deck will take you through the duos late night discovery that guest just don't matter. From there these two detail what exactly a reservation agent "described" is (maybe not as rock solid as we all think), night clerk Mike's career path, and their forced to accept par service.

The hotel appears to have lost all of what was the good staff. No one knew what was going on and things were a disaster. We arrived late and with very few bags. The pushy doorman insisted on taking our small bag to the room. ( We let him because we understand that everyone could use a buck today) All was good but it was late and after two phone calls to the desk and 40 minutes later the little bag arrived. When we asked what appeared to be a housekeeper bringing it up, we were told that the bellman had gone home for the night.

The next day we just wanted to share the story with the manager and were told he would contact us shortly. “Surprise” we never heard from him.

We had our meeting and it was fine. They had problems with the AC but often in monster hotels this can happen.

When we went to check out they said that they could not find our car keys, after about 30 minutes they found that they had been tossed to the bottom of their storage area.

So the rule is don’t bother with this one. It is very grand in structure but poor in service.

  • Liked — nothing really
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
26 Thank tvlingjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
879 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, triple Five-Star Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing