We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“truly 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“truly 5 Star”
Reviewed 9 March 2010

this is one of the very best hotels I ever stayed at. I consider myself as a very demanding client, I have no problem paying a bit more but then again, I expect the best. And this hotel is truly 5 star.

Everybody seems to make sure you enjoy your stay, they know you by name. The rooms are fantastic, the food at the restaurant is outstanding. Service is spectacular and I am really sorry I only had three nights at this wonderful place.

If you feel you deserve the best, this is the place to be.
Truly, truly recommendation!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capeguy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,471
    113
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
479
634
32
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

This is probably one of the fanciest hotels we've been to in a long time. Most places opt for the more modern look now, but this is just the opposite. It reminds me of a by-gone era, and service was impeccable. The decor is a little heavy with the gilded look, but hey, I'm not complaining.
Like others mentioned, there were very few people while we were there. Not sure if it's due to the price or location. It is a wee bit far from civilization - definitely cannot walk anywhere. For folks with small children, I think they may be bored since we didn't see anything obvious for small kids other than the pool, a very immaculate pool.
We ate at the outdoors patio, and the food was quite good, and not as expensive as I had thought. Service was prompt, but again, we were one of only 2 parties there.
The resort is huge, so we did not see it all. Next time, I'll make a point to visit the spa. It looks scrumptous. It would be a really good place for a girls get away.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yardley pa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2010

We recently spent a week at the Grand Del Mar. I have stayed at some of the top hotels of the world and the the Grand Del Mar ranks with any of them. The rooms are all magnificent. The grounds are beautiful and extensive enough to take an hour jog and never leave the hotel paths.

Most impressive is the concierge service. The desk is staffed from early morning to late at night with a group of the most knowledgable, smiling and attentive people I have met in any of my travels. There seemed to be nothing they couldn't or wouldn't do. When they overheard my daughter mention to me that her kids missed having a dvd player for the TV for naps, one happened to appear in her room. I cannot compliment them enough. And they were right about every restaurant and attraction they sent us to.

The staff throughout the hotel was equally attentive and pleasant. The restaurants were wonderful, without being "snobbish".

This is simply what every hotel strives for.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank art89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nj
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2010

I traveled to the Grand Del Mar for business and for pleasure with my six year old son. We stayed for five nights leading into Thanksgiving 2009. Most importantly to me, the staff here treated my son like he was a special guest. They could not have been more accomodating, kind or kid friendly. This includes the golf staff who were wonderful. My son continues to rave about his trip and is the best promoter of this resort walking in New Jersey!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCrutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

This place is the most amazing place I have been. Travelling a lot, being to many hotels, this hotel is the best of the best I have ever been.
The grounds are beautiful, the hotel is well built and beautifully decorated. I don't see any flaw in this hotel. Everything was perfect, even the prices of drinks and food was reasonable. There is this great cafe where you can have your morning coffee with a nice pastry or sandwich for a very reasonable prices.
The staff is very nice and professional.
The hotel is priced really cheap for what you get. I will definitely return! and I recommend this hotel to everyone that wants a good value.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EstherD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Located less than 2 miles off the I-5, The Grand Del Mar is a hidden gem. While my husband and I only stayed for 1 night, we felt tremendously relaxed. The standard room was spacious with a balcony, king sized bed, large bathroom, separate bath and shower. Our room overlooked the pool and jacuzzi, yet it was very quiet. We took advantage of the warm and sunny weather and took a walk around the resort. Apparently there are many hiking trails to go on. We ate lunch at the Clubhouse Grill (tortilla soup, fish tacos & ahi tuna salad) and the food and service was excellent. The resort/hotel is so spacious with the sights of the beautiful hills and lush greens, that you forget that you are in a major city. This is one of the best resorts/hotels that I have ever been and overall, their service is top knotch!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LatinAsianMix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2010

I can honestly say, without reservation, that my rating of this hotel is neither exaggerated nor underrated. This was the best hotel I have ever stay in. The place was spotless, from the drive up the long road, to the valet, to the front desk and lobby, to the hallway and finally our room. Our three night stay was for our honeymoon and a gift from a family member who has time share in one of the Villas at the Grand Del Mar. It was just awesome. We had room service two or three times and the food was great, though pricey, worth it to splurge for our honeymoon. The staff was very welcoming and made everything perfect.

I highly recommend The Grand Del Mar.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griff88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, triple Five-Star Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing