We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredible resort!”
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Stayed here after a conference at the Hilton Torrey Pines in La Jolla. It is like night and day - the Grand is an incredible play to stay. Service is top notch and it is absolutely gorgeous. We'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moorech1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,509
    119
    39
    20
    15
See reviews for
487
658
35
344
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Everything was just wonderful. The service was outstanding. The gym was fully equipped and clean. The room was pretty and very comfortable. Just a great place overall.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAKathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

Just returned from a combined business trip and pleasure. This was my second stay and it was even better than I remembered. The buildings and rooms are to die for, but what is even better (besides the food) is the service. And it extends from the first moment you check in to the folks who are cleaning your room. I've been to many other 5 star hotels, but this one is truly special.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlucas1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Essex
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We have travelled around the States quite a bit and have stayed at some very good hotels but I have to say that the Grand del Mar is the best so far. It is not cheap but then again you expect to pay for quality and this hotel has that in abundance.
The staff, without exception are polite, attentive and very professional and you feel that nothing is too much trouble. The room was exceptional, we were on the ground floor and had a siiting area outside by the Reflection Pool which was great as the sun was there all morning.
We ate at the Amaya, the Lounge Bar and the Clubhouse Grill. The food was of a high quality and reasonably priced. We also took the courtesy limo to eat at a Chinese restaurant in Del Mar. The Concierge arranged everything and even sent us confirmation.
I only have two negative comments. On the first night we ate in the Lounge Bar and placed our order with the waiter, after half an hour our food hadn't turned up and we raised it with the waitress. It turned out that the waiter had forgotten to place the order with the kitchen. This was quickly rectified and we weren't charged for the food. My second issue was that at check-out we were charged for some mini-bar items that we did not have, again this was quickly rectified.
Overall this place was amazing and I would recommend it anybody.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Webb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2010

I stayed at the Grand Del Mar a few months after it opened (July, 2008) and cannot wait to return.

Only a 15 minute drive to La Jolla, the Del Mar surprised us in every way. Stunning layout, highest quality finishes, terrific staff, lovely adult pool (quite!) and the best sleep ever. Everything about this resort is luxury, yet is maintains a certain casual flavor. I would rank this well above any Ritz Carlton in terms of high-quality rooms and superior amenities. I was surprised by the spaciousness and serenity of our room - and we didn't even stay in a superior suite!

The gym is terrific. The staff excellent. Rooms are beautiful! I can't wait to return this summer!

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

I have stayed here three times. I feel that it is the best hotel in the San Diego area. I have also stayed in St Regis Monarch Beach, Laguna Niguel, Four Season Aviara, Hotel Del, Rancho Valencia, The Westgate, and Hotel Parisi. The service at the Grand Del Mar seems to set it apart from these other fine resorts. There is a free shuttle the runs in a 10-12 mile radius including the beach in Del Mar. The grounds are beautiful. Kudos to the staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mille125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, Ca.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

Was looking for a southern Cali getaway weekend to celebrate a birthday. Our travel agent found us a fantastic package at this hotel which is only 20 minutes from our home in the SD area but it seems like a world away. The hotel is several miles inland from the ocean, north of the city of San Diego. Freeway access is excellent- a mile or two east of I-5. Our package included golf for two, overnight accommodation, breakfast credit, and a certificate to use at the spa. It was an amazing value and I will look for it again.

The hotel lobby, library, bar,etc are strikingly handsome and comfortable. The staff could not be any more friendly (in a sincere manner) and helpful. The hotel grounds are immaculate. The room was probably the nicest one I have stayed in. Everything from the room size, furnishings, bed/ bedding, huge tub, marble floor in bathroom, TV's, balcony, and room safe large enough for a laptop were first rate. Seriously, this was nice. Our room had a comfortable patio overlooking (from third floor) the adult pool.

The front desk staff asked which newspapers (you get two) we would like in the AM. They sent a nice note and a dessert in honor of the birthday celebration. All the staff members were really gracious and helpful. We had breakfast on the patio of the Amaya restaraunt. We have previously dined at their 5 diamond (pricey but totally worth it) Addison restaurant but did not go there this trip- it is fantastic however. There is also a grill room at the golf course and a coffee bistro that serves light breakfast and lunch in the main part of the hotel.

The adult area pool has a large hot tub with these comfortable outdoor mattress lounges to rest on next to the water. The cocktail waitress was attentive and friendly. There is a separately located family pool (three pools including two pools for kids of various sizes/ages). This has its own bar.etc,

The golf course actually functions as a private club with access for hotel guests. It is a Tom Fazio design and is a terrific course. We had to take a caddy (part of the package, excluding gratuity). The idea of the caddy was great although ours did not come across as too friendly or interested (perhaps the only negative of the stay) but others may be friendlier. The golf was really great though. Back at the hotel there was complimentary fresh raspberry lemonade and cookies in the lobby to refresh/snack after golf.

The Grand Del Mar exceeded all my expectations. Honestly, I cannot remember staying anywhere that I found more pleasant. I don't usually gush during my reviews....
ok, I'm gushing in this one.

Even though this property is so close to home, we will definitely go back for another stay at home vacation.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,996 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
925 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Grand Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Grand Del Mar

Property: Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Address: 5300 Grand Del Mar Court, San Diego, CA 92130 (Formerly Grand Del Mar)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#1 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#1 Family Hotel in San Diego
#1 Business Hotel in San Diego
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#11 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Grand Del Mar 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serenely nestled amidst San Diego's Los Penasquitos Canyon Preserve and a mere five miles from the Pacific coastline, triple Five-Star Fairmont Grand Del Mar seamlessly combines the old-world charm of a Mediterranean estate with the modern luxury of an elegant resort. The result: TripAdvisor's #1 Luxury Hotel in the United States. Little wonder, given the sun-drenched climate, stunning natural beauty, championship golf course, one of only 25 Five-Star spas in the United States, and irresistible dining - epitomized by Addison, Southern California's only Five-Star/Five Diamond restaurant, helmed by Relais and Chateaux Grand Chef William Bradley. From the completely relaxing to the downright invigorating, you'll find a variety of ways to fill your days (and nights) at Fairmont Grand Del Mar. Engage in a seasonal mixology class. Take a dip in one of four heated pools. Enjoy an afternoon hike or horseback ride amid the pristine nature preserve. Or, sip signature cocktails at the resort's enticing lounges - all before retreating to your thoughtfully appointed guestroom. Welcome to the Grand life - just east of the Pacific and slightly north of expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ebookers, Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Grand Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Del Mar Hotel San Diego
Grand Del Mar Hotel
Grand Del Mar San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing