We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want loud fun, this spot is "bene"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sogno Di Vino

Sogno Di Vino
Ranked #494 of 4,697 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“If you want loud fun, this spot is "bene"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We went on a Saturday night when Little Italy is definitely busy, but the service was pretty bad even cutting some slack for the crowds. As with most spots in Little Italy, all the people at the restaurant are Italian. Good wine list. The food is good, try the cioppino or fish of the day. Be ready to talk loud, as though you are at a bar or club.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    41
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“You feel like you are in Italy here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

While in San Diego on business we took the Trolly to Little Italy. Someone suggested Sogno Di Vino so we went. We arrived during Happy Hour so everything on the menu was 1/2 price between 3pm and 5pm. The food was out of this world! The restaurant is small inside but don't let that stop you! The service was amazing. Our waitress was very attentive. We met the chef who is from Rome, Italy. He cooked our meals fast and they were delicious. There was group of 7 of us and with everything being 1/2 price at Happy Hour, we tried nearly everything on the menu. We tried the cheese plate, the meat and cheese plate, the baked goat cheese plate, the crostini and olive plate, the eggplant timballo, the grilled veggie plate, the stuffed avocado and more. If you like Italian food, you will not be disappointed here. It is great for a group of people or an intimate dinner for two.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
251 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great Spot in Little Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Wanted to try something different since we always go to the tried and true Filipo's.
I'm so glad we did. Delicious eggplant appetizer and wonderful pasta dishes, especially the mixed green pesto pasta. Friendly service, nice atmosphere too.
I will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dkrstec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Reviews for this placed proved us right.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

We went to little italy and decided to try out this place because of the good reviews. We were not disappointed the meat and cheese plate was more than plenty for two, it was very tasty. Excellent wine selection, Service was very nice.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RHC380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Only good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

The food is good ont exellent but good,we had a burrata and a calamari like appetizer and my son spaghetti allo scoglio, my wife filetto al pepe verde and a branzino I try all plate and was well prepered, only think I AM DISAPPOINT is the service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniele26_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sogno Di Vino also viewed

 
San Diego, CA
 

Been to Sogno Di Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing