We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let vacation begin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #51 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Let vacation begin!”
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I was a bit worried with the pictures I saw on the website that this hotel was going to look dated and seem a bit hokey with the thick bamboo-looking furniture - WRONG! In person, I thought everything looked just fine. I walked into our room and was struck by the large quarters and beautiful view of the bay (even from our 1st floor room!) I felt like I finally was on vacation. The pool was big enough for our kids and actually felt heated! Breakfast was okay. Many selections, but I was expecting a bit better from the raves. ( I was expecting a lot more from many things in San Diego due to Trip Advisor raves, and found myself a LITTLE disappointed on quite a few things.) I was a bit irritated that the breakfast personnel bring you your drinks, but then leave a paper and pen for you to leave a tip. Sorry, but I didn't tip. If a breakfast is listed as COMPLIMENTARY, then don't pull this move and expect extra $! But, back to business . . . There is a small beach with bonfire rings right across the street from the hotel. I saw several large Navy ships pass by. COOL!!! We also walked three hotels down and the kids played at the bayside playground. The only negatives were: the water coming from the sink was a bit yucky when brushing our teeth and the A/C did not run continuously during the night and would wake us up when starting up (at least the first night of our 3 night stay.) There was a concert at Humphries our last night, but the music was turned down and could hear it a little from the pool area, but not disturbing at all! I would definitely stay again!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 1Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajwillard, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Thank you for taking time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. It is through such feedback from our guests that we are best able to maintain the highest levels of guest satisfaction. In fact, in an effort to clarify the purpose of the breakfast checks we have begun explaining at check-in that the slips are provided solely so that we may have an accurate accounting of complimentary breakfasts consumed and to ensure that any non-guests are being charged appropriately. Thanks again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    490
    134
    48
    20
See reviews for
409
616
49
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Wayne
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This was a splurge for us on a SoCal trip, and we loved it.
The location was amazing, the room was very large, well decorated, and all the comforts one would hope for.

I would highly recommend!

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fullerton, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here from 8/1 to 8/4/11. The room was very large with 2 very comfy queen beds. The room decor was very clean, modern and seemed very new. Flat screen TV (basic cable channels) was large. The bathroom was amazing because it had seemed recently redone with nice tile and VERY large counter space. The sink/counter area is separated from the tub/toilet area by a door, which can be good or bad depending on your preferences. We had the harbor side and the view out the patio was very scenic. We only heard one very loud plane take off during the night from the military base across the bay. The room is worth the price. Added bonuses include the free breakfast every morning (eggs, bacon, sausage, potatoes, bread, cereal, coffee, juice). I only wished they had pancakes every morning as that is a kid's favorite. The location is very convenient to all of San Diego and its attractions. They seem to have concerts next door at Humphrey's, but honestly I didn't hear anything at night. Parking is excellent at the hotel.

My only concern is the Wi-fi. You can only pick up the signal from the lobby. It does not reach the rooms, although the front desk said it is supposed to. I wasn't the only one with their laptop in the lobby trying to get the signal. That is why I do not give this hotel a 5 star rating. Invest in some more boosters and routers and your guests will be happy!

Also, I would make it a policy for those having gigantic behemoths of cars be required to park in the underground parking. They do not fit properly in the hotel parking and stick out too much. It makes it very hard for the other guests to maneuver around those dinosaurs.

I also rated sleep quality only a 4, because apparently Sasquatch lives above on the second floor. If you are bothered by Sasquatches having bowling tournaments on the floor above, ask for 2 second story room and not lower level. The person(s) staying above us must have had lead feet because we heard EVERY step.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gauchotipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Great value and location! Hotel has it all; huge clean rooms, beautiful views, great food. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhoenixBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2011

hotel was fantastic. only 12 minutes from airport and downtown. Room was huge. Staff was excellant. view was beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, CA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Bay Club Hotel and Marina on July 27, 2011 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The front desk service was friendly and efficient. Very unexpectedly, we were upgraded to a junior suite on the second floor. The room had two balconies and overlooked the marina. The accommodations were spotless and very inviting, with a comfortable king bed and a sitting area with a comfy couch, two chairs, and a coffee table. The room itself was very quiet, but guests should be aware that Humphreys next door features outdoor concerts on summer evenings and the music and applause are very audible from the Bay Club. The hot buffet breakfast in the morning included potatoes, sausage, bacon, and scrambled eggs plus toast, fresh fruit, and cereal. The food was only lukewarm, but tasty nonetheless. My husband and I did not appreciate that the tv in the breakfast room was turned to FOX "News." That we could have done without. However, all in all, our stay was very enjoyable and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkttoride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My wife and I recently got away for a couple of days to San Diego and stayed at the Bay Club Hotel. It was our first trip to San Diego and I did a lot of research on hotels in the area and wanted a reasonably priced hotel that was close to downtown but not in downtown and on the water. The Bay Club Hotel was a terrific choice for us. The staff were very nice and helpful. The food at the restaurant was good and the free breakfast was above average which we found to be a big plus. The pool and huge hot tub provided much needed relief at night to rejuvenate our feet from the walking we did during the day. The rooms were very large and gave us plenty of space to move around and the balcony looking over the marina was amazing especially in the morning. Great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel as well. Very easy drive to downtown. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Get a room on the marina side, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunSeeker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#55 of 278 in San Diego
1,619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.7 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#30 of 278 in San Diego
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Property: Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina! Our scenic waterfront location in Point Loma is conveniently close to San Diego International Airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence each year from 2011 through 2017. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, beautiful restaurant and lounge, and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi; complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers; complimentary morning coffee in the lobby; and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our large selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our dinner package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Shelter Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing