We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Away From The Heat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #47 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Front desk was friendly Had fish and chips the first night it was disgusting and was not wreath the money???? Never went back to eat dinner in the restaurant for the rest of our stay... Breakfast was a good deal it was in the price of our room:) I think at breakfast time they need a little more HELP..... Landry room...... Be "prepared" to wait up to at leased 3 hours to wash and dry your cloths as the manager of the marina likes to wash and dry her towels while working her 8 hour's I don't understand why she had to use the washer and dryer while there was guests waiting I thought that was very inconsiderate not cool :(

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 77Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

We just recently stayed at Bay Club Hotel and Marina for 3 nights. It was a great pick for us. It's on Shelter Island, which is about 5 minutes from downtown San Diego, but not the city. We had a 2nd floor marina view room. I booked it online a couple of weeks prior to our stay and we got a great rate of $169.00 a night. The setting was lovely - our balcony offered a peaceful view of the marina. Breakfast is included. There are about 4 warm breakfast offerings each day along with fresh fruit, coffee, juice cereal and toast. They give you a receipt at breakfast to sign and fill in a tip amount if you choose to do so. We didn't sign it 2 out of the 3 mornings we were there. The room was really large and the bed super comfortable. We had an issue with our shower that was completely resolved within 20+ minutes time from when we telephoned the front desk. I recommend parking in the below ground parking because the spaces up top are too narrow. Parking was an additional $5.00 per day. The hotel is located 5 minutes from the airport but you don't hear the noise. There is a fitness center that seemed to be a secret and there was a computer and printer in the lobby where you can print your airplane boarding passes. A real nice restaurant at the end of Shelter Island is Bali Hai. The view of San Diego fantastic and it's a beautiful setting with great food. Also, we went to see the Mets play the Padres at Petco Stadium. You can get really premium seats for really cheap (according to New York standards) or pay as little as $10 to sit and watch the game. It's a great stadium. All of this is 5-10 minutes from this wonderful hotel. We certainly will return on our next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beachbumLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajwillard, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback about your stay with us! We wanted to take a moment to clarify that the checks that are brought to the table for breakfast each morning are purely for accounting purposes to ensure that only guests receive the breakfast complimentary. Consequently, we do ask that each guest sign the slip and provide their room number. Leaving a gratuity, as always, is at the guest's discretion. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I just returned from my annual (8 years or more) trip to Shelter Island, San Diego. I just go to sit. I love the scene at the Bay Club. Marina on one side, San Diego Harbor on the other. On the harbor side, there is a boat ramp which is always full of activity and, depending on the chum thrown back in the water, you may sight some seals and, for sure, a host of pelicans. I eat at the Bay Club restaurant. All three meals. Breakfast is great and complimentary. A full deal. Hot and cold. On one morning this week, they had oatmeal. My god, I haven't had oatmeal in years. Two bowls. The lunch and dinner menu is great. There has always been good cooking here. The rooms are very well soundproofed and even with a concert venue next door, Humphreys, there is relative peace. Just shut the doors and pull the drapes. The staff is friendly and amenable to early make up of the room so I can go in and out all day and have my nap when I want to. In short, this is one of the best "retreats" that I have found. I see families, oldsters, everyone here. Very nice.

Room Tip: go on the marina side. The harbor side is iffy for scenery. Some good views, some not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank esrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This was our first visit to Shelter Island. We really enjoyed our stay at the Bay Club and Marina. The relaxation of the area is wonderful!! This hotel is located about 15 mins from the airport in a safe and beautiful area. The Bay Club is a small hotel only 2 floors, but it is HUGE on service. We can not say enough how AWESOME the staff is. Jody, you rock!!! the front desk, the breakfast wait staff all AMAZING!! housekeeping always aiming to please. The Bay Club management is very blessed to have this Amazing dedicated staff. We thank all of you for a very enjoyable stay .We hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel is situated out of the downtown but central to highway access (without the noise and yucky views of actually staying right off a highway). We were able to get downtown in minutes and it was a quick drive to places like Sunset Cliffs, Mission Beach, La Jolla and Torrey Pines. The breakfast in the mornings is wonderful. A small tip to the (very nice) servers is well worth the meal to get you going for the day. The hotel is older, but is well maintained. We enjoyed the pool and hot-tub. The views of the marina are gorgeous!! We had a great sleep and would recommend it to anyone looking to stay in a CLEAN but not extravagant hotel. It is certainly a huge step up from the small ones located around hotel circle. We will be back for sure!!

Room Tip: second floor rooms are quieter and have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I was a bit worried with the pictures I saw on the website that this hotel was going to look dated and seem a bit hokey with the thick bamboo-looking furniture - WRONG! In person, I thought everything looked just fine. I walked into our room and was struck by the large quarters and beautiful view of the bay (even from our 1st floor room!) I felt like I finally was on vacation. The pool was big enough for our kids and actually felt heated! Breakfast was okay. Many selections, but I was expecting a bit better from the raves. ( I was expecting a lot more from many things in San Diego due to Trip Advisor raves, and found myself a LITTLE disappointed on quite a few things.) I was a bit irritated that the breakfast personnel bring you your drinks, but then leave a paper and pen for you to leave a tip. Sorry, but I didn't tip. If a breakfast is listed as COMPLIMENTARY, then don't pull this move and expect extra $! But, back to business . . . There is a small beach with bonfire rings right across the street from the hotel. I saw several large Navy ships pass by. COOL!!! We also walked three hotels down and the kids played at the bayside playground. The only negatives were: the water coming from the sink was a bit yucky when brushing our teeth and the A/C did not run continuously during the night and would wake us up when starting up (at least the first night of our 3 night stay.) There was a concert at Humphries our last night, but the music was turned down and could hear it a little from the pool area, but not disturbing at all! I would definitely stay again!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank 1Melissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajwillard, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Club Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2011

Thank you for taking time to leave a review about your recent stay with us. It is through such feedback from our guests that we are best able to maintain the highest levels of guest satisfaction. In fact, in an effort to clarify the purpose of the breakfast checks we have begun explaining at check-in that the slips are provided solely so that we may have an accurate accounting of complimentary breakfasts consumed and to ensure that any non-guests are being charged appropriately. Thanks again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This was a splurge for us on a SoCal trip, and we loved it.
The location was amazing, the room was very large, well decorated, and all the comforts one would hope for.

I would highly recommend!

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#55 of 278 in San Diego
1,673 reviews
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#117 of 278 in San Diego
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £79 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina! Our scenic waterfront location in Point Loma is conveniently close to San Diego International Airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence each year from 2011 through 2017. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, beautiful restaurant and lounge, and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi; complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers; complimentary morning coffee in the lobby; and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our large selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our dinner package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Shelter Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing