We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bay Club Hotel is a nice place to stay a few days.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #51 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Bay Club Hotel is a nice place to stay a few days.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I did a lot of research and reading of reviews before booking our 2 night stay in San Diego, after a flight back from Hawaii (so my expectations were high)...they met all of my requirements and were very friendly too. The hotel is on Shelter Island, but close to restaurants and a wonderful beach and boardwalk that you must take advantage of. The bay view is OK but looks over the parking lot toward the bay...the harbor view is wonderful, especially on the second floor. The food was fantastic and reasonably priced, even for a hotel. The heated pool and hot tub were great on the windy day and the cool evenings alike. The staff was nice and helpful (the shuttle driver was great.) We stayed on the second floor away from the entrance, and pool end...other than being able to hear a TV in the room next door (in the mornings only), we had a wonderful balcony view overlooking the hundreds of boats in the harbor...purchased the fiesta package and was in our room upon arrival :-)...We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a Harbor view and maybe the second floor for a more quiet experience, and ask for a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    490
    134
    48
    20
See reviews for
409
616
49
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lehi, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

POSITIVES: We loved staying at this hotel. It was our 10 year anniversary and we usually cannot nor do we spend that much on a hotel but since we were celebrating we decided to spoil ourselves a little. The view of the marina was wonderful. We left our windows open at night and feel asleep looking out into the marina.

We have 5 little ones and there free breakfast and the ability to eat outside made it so easy for us to feed our family in the morning. The food was very good. The menu changed a little each day so it was fun waken up wondering what new food there was going to be that morning.

The staff was friendly and helpful. If we had the money we would most likely stay there again.

NEGATIVES: The internet was slow and hard to connect to but it didnt bother us because we were unplugging anyway.

I didnt like see the bar right when I came into the hotel. Not the most inviting.

Room Tip: You must get the Marina view. You literally have the marina right outside your room. The other view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Lovely view of the Marina from the room however the hotel did not mention when we booked that there was construction taking place, nor did they mention there would be a concert at the Hotel next door that would keep us up due to the noise. The room was also extremely noisy due to the bar below - so very little sleep, dated rooms, but nice view.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleeplessinBayClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for four nights in May. Four things I generally look for in accomodations are Location, Cleanliness, Service and overall Value. Bay Club hits a home run in all four categories. We arrived well before check in time and were greeted by Ale (pronounced Allie). She allowed us to check in and was super helpful and pleasant...we knew right away this was the right choice. The lobby is under renovations so it was'nt as nice as it will eventually be but considering how much time we actually spent in the lobby it didn't matter. Parking is $5 a day.....cheapest hotel parking I've ever paid so no complaints there. Always spots available no matter what time of day or night we returned. We had a bay view room with balcony (think all rooms have balcony). Because the Bay Club is a little older the rooms are a generous size and our room had two very comfortable Queen beds. Bathroom was dated but very clean. We had an amazing view of San Diego from our balcony.Breakfast was included and was well laid out every morning - was nice to sit by the pool every morning and have a hot breakfast. Never used the bar or restaurant so can't comment on that. Enjoyed the Bay Club, great value, big clean rooms and super friendly service.

Room Tip: Bay View has a great night time Skyline view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kpattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Our suite #275 had a lovely view of the bay and city but was right next to the Humphrey's outdoor bar and concert venue. It was quite noisy until late at night. Rooms had a dated decor and the suite required you to walk through the sink area of the bathroom as the only way to reach the bedroom, which was a bit unusual. The free breakfast was very nice, particularly if you ate outside overlooking the small pool, but you were not allowed to serve yourself and had to wait for the sometimes surly server to do it for you, which was silly. Still a fair value.

Room Tip: Ask to be given a room as far away from the lively bar and concert venue next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fastsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Wanted to attend two concerts and Humphreys next door but this hotel was much more reasonable and parking was only $5 per day. Thus, I was able to simply walk to Humphreys for the concert and not worry about parking. Now about the hotel, restaurant is currently under construction should be completed in a few weeks. It's pretty loud from 9:00 a.m. to 5 p.m.. The bar portion is completed so you can dine there. The meals are so-so...... Complimentary breakfast is nice and the workers super courteous. It's a warm buffet that is served to you. Very nice. Caution, if you plan on taking a nap or going to sleep early, you should check to see if Humphreys is having a concert during your stay. I was at the concert but spoke to guests who weren't and said the sound checking in the afternoon was disturbing and the concert, though they enjoyed the music, was loud and sounded like it was coming from our hotel. Humprheys is an open air venue and you can see the concert from the pool area of The Bay Club so it's real close!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank damookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This has been my "go to" spot when wanting an easy two to four day getaway over the last 12 years. My local airport now offers direct service. Bay Club Hotel's courteous and friendly staff picks me up curbside from the airport and takes me to their little Shelter Island oasis. They offer a courtesy breakfast in the mornings and their in-house restaurant offers good food in the afternoons and evenings. And their wine list is respectable. John, their evening bartender, made our most recent trip extra fun with his joking but attentive manner. I really loved their previous decor . . . It seemed island retro rat-pack, but they are almost done with a remodel to a more sleek rat pack modern style, which completely moved the bar to center up to the double front foors. Seems like more work for kitchen staff, but hopefully it will work well for them. Their remodel work while we were there did not provide disruption and we couldn't believe the lightning speed they were working. The hotel is very helpful with figuring out ways for you to get around town the most economically. They will take you downtown to catch the metro-lines or just up the street to catch the bus to head to Old Town. So, being without a car is not a detriment if you are not on a rigid schedule and are truly there to enjoy the relaxation. This is the first time we never made it out poolside to enjoy the views of the marina and gentle breezes. I'll be back for more soon. The desk staff is also very helpful with alternate restaurant locations on Shelter Island. So far, our two faves over the years are the Red Sail Inn when we arrived too late for the hotel breakfast, and Fiddler's Green for a wonderful dinner and wine list when we had a larger party of six.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#55 of 278 in San Diego
1,619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.7 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#30 of 278 in San Diego
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Property: Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina! Our scenic waterfront location in Point Loma is conveniently close to San Diego International Airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence each year from 2011 through 2017. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, beautiful restaurant and lounge, and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi; complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers; complimentary morning coffee in the lobby; and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our large selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our dinner package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Shelter Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing