We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #51 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Lovely Location”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The location was perfect - only a short drive to the Gaslamp district, Old Town San Diego, and airport. The rooms were clean and spacious but a little dated. The breakfast buffet was good - I truly enjoyed the fresh fruit. The only downside was that the Internet speed was extremely slow and the connection was very spotty. A good value for the location.

Room Tip: We had the less expensive "partial view" room and it was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ETOSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    488
    133
    48
    20
See reviews for
406
611
49
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hacienda heights
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights to see a concert at Humphrey's next door. Spacious room with queen beds. Bathroom looked like it was recently updated. Parking was easy in front of hotel. Had breakfast both days. It was just o.k. with scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes and breads and pastries. Staff was friendly although when I asked about the 20% discount for dining room, they said that was a seasonal promotion and no longer available. I'm sure I saw it when I booked the room, but whatever. First night it was very noisy since we were right above the bar. Also, a noise possibly from an a/c from room next door. Then they were vacuuming at 5:30 AM!! The next day we went to Old Town and I bought ear plugs. Slept great the next night! We were able to listen to a concert from our room which was nice. Ate at their restaurant as well. Good food especially with happy hour prices.

Room Tip: Upstairs marina view rooms have a balcony. Room 262 is spacious. There are elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripper1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I am coming back to this hotel since 16 years. It is a friendly and relaxing place, in a very relaxing environment. It is close to major attractions in San Diego. Friendly staff. Breakfast could be better, but this is almost everywhere in the US.

Room Tip: Second floor is always better. And in the center is even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Returninghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutley
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is the second time we stayed here. Last year I could not find one thing wrong.
This year was disappointing.
We arrived at 330pm. Check in time is 3pm. We were told they guarantee rooms by 4pm. Why say check is 3 when the room wasn't ready until 4?
When I reserved the room I requested a rollaway bed for my second grandchild. We had to wait until almost 10pm before they brought it to the room.
Last year we loved the restaurant & our server Lisa! Lisa was still wonderful but they must have changed chefs because the food was below par. Very disappointing. We ate there for 3 nights because we were tuckered out after full days out & about plus 9 & 11 year olds do not like going out to eat. The restaurant was right under our room so when the kids were done they could go to the room or swim in the pool which is so conveniently located!
The view is spectacular & our room's balcony faced Humphrey's. We were able to hear the Ringo Starr concert without leaving our room! Even the grand kids got into it!

Room Tip: We had a Harbor view & loved the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We did not have housekeeping for two days. When they did do it, it look like it was not done. Also the tv in the bedroom you could not hear the people talking. The front desk was helpful in getting a room for us. I book the room was a one bedroom suite. Come to fine out you can book that on line. I had call several time to make sure it was right but it was not. Because I wanted it on the second floor and bay side. The staff was able to get that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Its always easy to find good rates here at Bay Club. The staff made check in/out pretty fast. Most of my interaction was with Patti & Ryan & they were very nice. (Also good to see Mgr Aaron staying busy.) I love the look & feel of the new lobby. I was tired of the old piano man! I chose a Marina View Room this time & it was perfect. I sat on my patio & listened to Humphrey's concert next door. I also had a very good Swordfish dinner in the restaurant! Thanks, guys.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank proctor992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights on the 2nd floor w a fantastic bay view from the balcony. Breakfast was delicious and enjoyed outside seating each morning facing the marina and mountain. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean but bath area is a little dated. Beds are comfortable. Wished they had a microwave in room. Hotel location is close to restaurants, grocery store and Starbucks. Great running/ walking path along barrier island. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor facing the Bay for a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GndCanyonAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#58 of 278 in San Diego
1,603 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.7 mi away
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
1.1 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Property: Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#25 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina! Our scenic waterfront location in Point Loma is conveniently close to San Diego International Airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence each year from 2011 through 2017. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, beautiful restaurant and lounge, and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi; complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers; complimentary morning coffee in the lobby; and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our large selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our dinner package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Shelter Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing