We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mid-range hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Club Hotel & Marina
Ranked #50 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Stayed 5 nights at the Bay Club and enjoyed my stay.
The location is reasonably good - right on the water which is nice to look out at and for walks but it is not that close to any beaches and is quite a distance from any nicer restaurants. Having said that the freeways are close but it is several minutes drive at least to either a beach or nicer restaurant.
The staff were friendly and helpful throughout my stay.
The rooms are large, typical of american hotels such as these with lots of empty space. The decor is fine, a little dated but in good condition and very clean. The "patio" seating area outside the room is very small and close to the next room. It rather looked out on to the parking lot, although the first floor rooms looked like they had more room, privacy and a better view.
The pool area is pleasant, although surprisingly items from the bar do not seem to be able to be brought to the pool.
I did not eat at the hotel and so can't comment on the food.
Overall I think the Bay Club Hotel is pleasant although not particularly spectacular.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hc1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,386)
There are newer reviews for Bay Club Hotel & Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2010

I chose this hotel after reading the favorable reviews on Trip Advisor. My 2 night stay at this hotel was 100% consistant with those favorable Trip Advisor reviews. The room we had included a balcony overlooking the marina (nice view) and the hotel staff were exceptionally friendly/helpful. The price included a tasty breakfast and I thought it was a good bargain compared to other hotels that I saw when searching for a hotel. My advice is to skip the local restaurants up the street...the ones we tried were not that good. Other than the local restaurants, I liked everything about my stay including the location...which was an easy drive to San Diego Zoo, Coronado Beach, Belmont Park and other popular attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeyboy_esq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We stayed at the Bay Club and it was very nice. My husband and I decided short notice we wanted to go for a romantic getaway. It was perfect we saw a deal on their website for a night and dinner for 2 it was great. We were kind of on a budget and we stayed recieved free steak and shrimp dinner plus breakfast buffet in the morning it is right across from the water so we walked on the shore the whole evening what more could you ask for? I would recommend this to anyone!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momof2nwifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Our stay was great. The hotel has more of a laid back feel. We had a marina view room with balcony. The view was beautiful and so peaceful. They had plenty of parking (underground parking as well that we did not find out about until mid stay which made things much more convenient for us!) Parking was $5 at night but still not bad. The hotel was close to many attractions and in a great area. They have many surrounding restaurants that were very good though I did not really prefer the dinner selection at the hotel restaurant and I was disappointed that they do not have microwaves in the rooms as there are mini fridges. They provided breakfast and had a great assortment. Breads, fruits, eggs, hashbrowns, etc. They provided free wifi. Kids loved the pool and hot tub. Thought there was much noise outside at times due to concerts and such we could not hear a sound when our balcony door was closed. All of the employees were very friendly and helpful. All in all...great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duckiekishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We stayed at the Bay Club for 6 nights for a near by family wedding. The Bay Club in on Shelter Island in San Diego, directly opposite the Naval Air station North Island (about 1 km away over the water). The Hotel fronts the harbour, and backs onto a huge marina filed with what is literally a forest of yacht masts. Logically, the views from the back are not stunning. From the front ( if you are a military plane buff as I am, or enjoy occasional military traffic) it can be quite fascinating. The good news is that the Military are GOOD neighbours, and the F18s usually don't start flying much before 9am. ( For this Australian, seeing 20 + parked F18s, a similar number of Sea Hawk helicopters - in both cases representing a large percentage of our whole air force- and the VERY regular naval patrols in the harbour was a real eye opener).
The Bay Club is 2 storied, it has a good pool, and the restaurant & bar are quite adequate. The included breakfast was OK, lots of it, but a narrow selection, and the food was often only warm. Lunch off the menu was better, certainly well priced, tasty and with good service. We found a room service dinner the same.
The rooms were of good size, fairly quiet, and the bed comfortable. Both the TV channel selection and the free WiFi were good. Personally, I hated the pillows (I have a long term dodgy neck, and it didn't respond well to the supplied unsupportive and lumpy pillows). The room was always hot and stuffy (unless you opened the verandah door which let the flies in), and the air conditioning proved a bit aggressive when we used it to combat the heat, making sleep a bit harder than it could have been. The room itself was a little tired, and the terylene curtaining by the verandah door was shredded in a couple of places.
So, while not perfect, well priced, great location, and somewhere I would be happy to stay again - but I'll bring my own pillow.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scubal0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

The Bay Club was a decent hotel, great price, great location. The breakfeast was a disappointment we stayed at two lesser hotels on the trip with a much better breakfeast. The pool was just OK. With this said the staff was wonderful more than helpful, the area was great. Great restuarants, the view of the bay was awsome to wake up to. The fact that Humpreys is right next door with great entertainment is a plus. I would recommend this hotel but I would try a different place next time.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelingMom20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We were quite impressed with the Bay Club & Marina Hotel. It is an older hotel but quite well maintained. Our room on ground floor was very roomy with a small balcony. Room was cleaned to a good standard.
Pool & spa area overlooking the Marina was great. We also got to listen to an outdoor concert by Roger Daltrey being played at the venue next door which was a bonus!
The breakfast was quite adequate with both hot/cold selections (we only had the cold). We also used the small gym which had weights machine, treadmills etc. We also made use of the laundry with coin operated machines.
The area around the hotel is great for a nice walk along the waterfront.
The possible only gripe I would have is that the hotel do charge US5 for 30mins to use their internet terminal. I think they have free wifi but I didnt want to lug my laptop around for 5 weeks. They also charge for parking - US5 which was reasonable.
On our next visit to San Diego we would definately stay there again.

We had a great Thai meal at Royal Thai Restaurant in the GasLamp area. The prices were extremely reasonable & the food was great (cant remember the street name but it was one of the main streets on a corner).

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneKaren67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
Humphreys Half Moon Inn
#55 of 278 in San Diego
1,634 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kona Kai Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.7 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#42 of 278 in San Diego
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Club Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Club Hotel & Marina

Address: 2131 Shelter Island Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-3106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#23 Family Hotel in San Diego
#64 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £105 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bay Club Hotel & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greetings from San Diego and beautiful Shelter Island, home of San Diego's best-kept secret, Bay Club Hotel & Marina! Our scenic waterfront location in Point Loma is conveniently close to San Diego International Airport, the Gaslamp Quarter, Sea World, the world-famous San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, the Convention Center and local beaches. We are honored to have been inducted into TripAdvisor's Hall of Fame, having been awarded their coveted Certificate of Excellence each year from 2011 through 2017. As our guest, you'll be delighted with our waterfront location, nautical decor, beautiful restaurant and lounge, and our friendly and devoted staff. The Bay Club Hotel & Marina is the only hotel on Shelter Island offering a secure underground parking garage with convenient parking for a nominal nightly fee. Also, we do NOT charge resort fees. Each of our 105 guest rooms and suites are non-smoking and offer breathtaking views of San Diego Bay or our private marina and picturesque Point Loma. You'll enjoy our 42-inch HDTV's and free HBO and Disney channels. Our guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi; complimentary weekday USA Today newspapers; complimentary morning coffee in the lobby; and airport, Amtrak and cruise ship shuttle for a nominal fee. Be sure to check out our gift shop offering travel necessities, snacks, drinks and a wide range of souvenirs. Take a dip in our heated outdoor pool and hot tub, both with a fantastic marina view. Relax and unwind in our newly renovated restaurant, The Quarterdeck, with its fresh modern decor and a unique nautical theme along with great prices! Come join us for breakfast, a business or casual lunch, Happy Hour Monday through Friday, or a delicious dinner. Enjoy a cold beer or glass of wine from our large selection of craft beers or our delectable wine list. Patio and outside dining are also available with panoramic views of San Diego Bay and the Point Loma hillside. Be sure to ask about our dinner package, which includes dinner for 2 in The Quarterdeck restaurant and a bay or marina view room along with complimentary parking. Or, try our Shelter Island Escape package and you'll enjoy two welcome drinks and appetizer along with breakfast for two. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Club Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Club Hotel And Marina
Bay Hotel Marina
Bay Hotel San Diego
Bay Club Hotel Marina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing