We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On our way to a cruise to Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Ranked #122 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My travel group from Calgary had planned a cruise and we stayed at the Holliday Inn on Seventh. What a great place. It was just right! The rooms were great ! The staff was great! The breakfast "fit the bill" It was right in the center of "things" and we could walk to everything. The hotel bus took us over to the zoo. You got to go to the Rocklin Baja , in OLD TOWN , for seafood! If you are there for a cruise , this is a great hotel to kick off your vacation. Our only complaint was we should have booked longer at the hotel so we could experience more of San Diego.
1-877-660-6550

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

Was a great stay. I was there about 4 weeks this time and cant talk highly enough. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
Elizabeth Gastelum went way out of her way to make it a super stay. A room upgrade, a birthday cake are just two of the many things.
I will recommend this hotel to anyone going to san diego. Is super clean, has breakfast every day, and plenty of parking.
I was there with a small group of guys and when we go back will defiantly stay there again. We all love it there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffrey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We loved are experienced. Everything is close by. The girls at the front desk are supper awesome, they were really helpful. If we had any questions they were happy to help :) and we really like that a lot. I recommended for any one this hotel is family friendly and is supper clean. We loved it!

Thank cabema08
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Spent there four days and stuff was stolen from my room and from my car at the parking lot. Management was never around to address the issue. I got a response from them two weeks after I left saying that if things had been stolen, I should call the police. The have no record of the people from housekeeping and no cameras anywhere on the building but the lobby. Talk about having security and crisis management! I don't think I will ever again stay at a Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SATraveler80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear SATraveler80,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay. I trust we can regain your confidence in our products and services.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

At first glance, this looks like (and probably is) a re-born hotel from the early 1960's. The exterior looks dated and while the interior has had an update, it could still use some work. You won't find fancy accommodations here. But it was clean and comfortable, no complaints there. At first I wanted to give a two star rating but it does have some real bonus features. It's on Cortez Hill and there's a nice patio area in the back with a view of downtown San Diego. You can sort of see the bay too. Ask for a south-facing balcony room, you'll get the best view. This is the only HI Express I've stayed at that had room service. I didn't order but my coworker did and she was very happy with her meal. If you knew her, you'd be impressed too! Check out Sole Lune Cafe across the street, I really liked it. It's close to the airport, which I always like too. The parking garage is difficult to negotiate but I managed OK. Worth a shot if you're on a budget. Staff was nice too and they had a free happy hour, beer, wine and soft drinks.

Room Tip: South facing balcony room is the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear CaliforniaMax,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a good place to stay when you need to fly out of San Diego and leave your car. But I would feel very uneasy driving a large vehicle into their parking structure. This hotel is right in the middle of down town around the one way streets. Lots of other hotels right around you. The service was great. They have a pool, evening refreshments and free breakfast. The morning we left we were too early for breakfast but they packed a breakfast for us to take which was more than plenty. I would stay here again. It is really nice to drive in and have a relaxed night before a 8 AM flight. Then receive a togo breakfast, be taken to your departure location and not hassle with parking. In the cost of the Sleep-Park-Fly price is your parking fee to leave your car at the hotel. Then when you come back, just call the hotel and they will pick you up right away. You get in your car and your ready to go. It's that simple.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Going4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Although this is an older property, the location of this hotel and the friendly staff help to make up the difference! This hotel is moderately priced but with a great location of uptown San Diego. So easy to pub crawl your way down the hill as the night progresses and then grab a short cab ride back to the hotel at the end of the evening. Great location for other sight-seeing during the day as well. The only two negative comments I have about this hotel is that the bathrooms are very small (reminiscent of a cruise ship bathroom) and on my stay one of the two very slow elevators was out of commission more than it was working which made for long wait to travel between floors (use the stairs, much quicker).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city and with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Downtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown

Address: 1430 7th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-2815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £81 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to welcome you to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown. This 100% non-smoking hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of America s finest city. San Diego s most popular attractions are within minutes. With our staff's dedication to customer service, the San Diego Holiday Inn Express is a popular choice amongst all visitors.The hotel is within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter. For your convenience, take our free shuttle to the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Cruise Ship Terminal, and the San Diego Airport. Enjoy our complimentary hot new breakfast bar featuring fluffy scrambled eggs or cheese omelets, bacon, sausage patties, flaky biscuits, and sausage gravy. The hotel offers free WiFi Internet access, refrigerators in all rooms, and a free business center with three dedicated computers. The hotel is two blocks from the San Diego Trolley which will take you to Qualcomm Stadium in less than 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing