We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, excellent food and great people.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Ranked #127 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed one night in November 2013 prior to Hawaii Circle cruise from San Diego. The room was good and the complimentary breakfast was excellent.

The desk personnel and Happy Hour servers were congenial and tried to please. The complimentary shuttle van driver was friendly, attentive and handled luggage with no hesitation.

We were pleasantly surprised by the service at this property and will stay again when we travel to San Diego.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnrobertsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 711 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Was going to San Diego for a quick overnight stay with my 2 boys (adults). We reserved the "book early and save" room with 2 queen beds. Said you had to book at least a week in advance and non refundable. A few days later I thought I would check and the room was $10 cheaper, so I called the hotel and told them I guess I got the "book now and pay more" rate. Anyway, they reduced the price for me. Hotel is sort of in a run down area but is seems they are fixing the area up. It was clean and rate included a nice breakfast in the morning. Centrally located near Little Italy and we walked to Gaslamp. Overall, I would stay again for same rate. They do charge $16 per night for parking. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights here and found the accommodation to be satisfactory but not outstanding. The complimentary breakfast room was bright, well stocked and had a nice variety of options (although I'm always looking for more fresh fruit in these breakfast rooms). Staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, but dated. Bed was very nice and comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of a VERY long hallway and unfortunately for me with an injured knee I had d...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Ann H,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

First of all let me tell you about my self so you know why I am writing this review.
I am a international traveler and I travel once a month year round so hotel issues are things I
"DO NOT WANT TO DEAL WITH"
ThIS hotel has been the place I lay my head down for the last two years after a grueling day of work.the managers and staff here are by far the best I have ever encountered from the girls in parking booth to the kitchen staff,van driver,cleaning ladies. They know the meaning of taking care of there guest and work very well together For example I was haven a free glass of wine during social hour and the staff had surprised a lil girl with a birthday cake.the look on the lil girls face when the staff,parents even us guest all jointed in singing happy birthday to her was priceless!!!!
THE STAFF IS WHAT MAKES THIS HOTEL!!!!!
If it wasn't for the staff this hotel would not last a year.
The managers need help,what I mean by that is the facility needs more upgrades.
GET NEW ELEVATOR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
For the rooms,for a start you should refinish all the suites then the others.
CHANGE THE BREAKFAST MENU!!!!! Please!!!!!!!!
If you back your managers this hotel could be a diamond in the ruff!!!!!!
Don't believe me? Step out he balcony on any floor facing the ocean and tell me it's not the most beautiful view of the city night lights!!!

WHEN IM AT THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS IN DOWN TOWN SAN DIEGO HOME SICK ISNT AS BAD!! :-))
Good job guys and GOD BLESS!!!!!!!

K.M

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the ocean!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I love staying in this hotel because the staff is so nice and very helpful. The whole staff from top to bottom made me feel welcome and went out of their way to help me find places to eat or just hang out. Everything from restraunts, Seaport Village, Gaslamp district is within walking distance. I definitely recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Found this hotel on line and I was totally impressed with the service and personal attention from the staff. The hotel received 3 stars but the service was 5 stars. The rooms are a little dated, but for the money I really loved this place.

Room Tip: Great front desk service and the hotel staff was very good. Rooms were large, bathroom was small...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DesertSun2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I went with my father to this holiday inn, in July for a week. When we arrived we did have some misfits but those are all on my dad because the staff there are really sweet and they even remembered my name and I theirs. I felt like we were friends. The staff are always welcoming and they really do go out of their way to make your trip as awesome and pleasant as possible. Even if they are tied down busy they have the fastest service when you need them. You can't get that at most hotels. I generally recommend the Holiday Inns and the Express' as well because I always am treated like family and have the best experience with their staff. What I also loved is how it was soo close to everything, not so handy that it is on a hill (but great exercise). One last thing about the staff and hotel is that they have happy hour and at night cookies of different kinds (FRESH) One thing I didn't like was the depth of the pool it was three feet and you cant do much with that. Also side note they don't have a fitness centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdrodeway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Stella h,

Thank you for your amazing comments about our staff. We always strive to remember and care about all our guest, especially a returning guest like you. We appreciate your time and your loyalty to the IHG brand this hotel.

Warm Regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown

Address: 1430 7th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-2815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £91 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to welcome you to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown. This 100% non-smoking hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of America s finest city. San Diego s most popular attractions are within minutes. With our staff's dedication to customer service, the San Diego Holiday Inn Express is a popular choice amongst all visitors.The hotel is within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter. For your convenience, take our free shuttle to the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Cruise Ship Terminal, and the San Diego Airport. Enjoy our complimentary hot new breakfast bar featuring fluffy scrambled eggs or cheese omelets, bacon, sausage patties, flaky biscuits, and sausage gravy. The hotel offers free WiFi Internet access, refrigerators in all rooms, and a free business center with three dedicated computers. The hotel is two blocks from the San Diego Trolley which will take you to Qualcomm Stadium in less than 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing