We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“O.K. Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Ranked #121 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“O.K. Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while attending a Padres baseball game. Hotel is on a hill overlooking the Gaslamp district. It was quite a walk from the baseball complex which is almost to the waterfront at the other end of the Gaslamp district. The rooms were comfortable and service was great from the employees we dealt with. Check in took longer than expected due to many people checking in at the same time. If you don't mind walking a ways to eat or be entertained in the Gaslamp this is the place to save a few dollars. Thier rates are a lot lower than most hotels closer to the action. There is a little cafe right next to the parking garage that has pretty good food for breakfast or lunch. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alchaffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear alchaffee,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear that you were satisfied with your stay with us. I am delighted that you liked our rooms and staff services. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry that you felt the check in time was lengthy. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    260
    134
    47
    17
See reviews for
165
206
46
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, SK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I am very happy that we stayed at this hotel. The staff are very polite, courteous, and helpful. It is in a great location. The rooms were clean. Everything worked properly. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. I liked that the rooms are quiet. I did not hear very much noise from our neighbors. The pool is quite small but my daughter still had a blast when she swam. It was really nice to have the shuttle service as many hotels in San Diego do not offer shuttle service. We checked in very late after the shuttle hours were done for the day so the hotel reimbursed me cash (up to $15.00) for cab fare. Having breakfast available each morning was great and good for saving money. Overall I am very very pleased with our stay. This was our first time visiting San Diego and this hotel helped make an excellent first impression.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2explorentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

A nice stay we had in the Holiday Inn in San Diego.
Complimentary airport shuttle, 24h check in, spacy room, nice A/C, fridge and breakfast. late check out was possible and the staff very friendly and helpful! Location is perfect; thumbs up!

Room Tip: Balcony Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have stayed in many hotels through the years and never have I encountered such an exceptional staff willing to go out of their way for service. and this is only a 3 star hotel, something I would expect for 5 stars or higher. Ro'marez is very helpful, friendly, personable and truly must love his job because he goes above and beyond for the guests. The few negatives I have are as follows: The rooms have decent/pretty views, but the bathrooms are WAY TOO small. One person barely fits in there. The other con is that its not as close to Gaslamp quarter, restaurants or the Trolley and we had imagined. it was fun to walk and enjoy the great San Diego weather, but can be far especially if hungry. Overall, I would recommend his hotel if you are planning on using it as a resting place at nighy whild you enjoy San Diego, otherwise I would suggest to look for something more comfortable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Batata32
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sdrodeway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear, Batata32


Thank you for your amazing comments about our staff. We make every effort to make the experience a five star visit!


Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

The staff was excellent, and there is a free hotel shuttle that took us to the harbor area and back. The rooms however were smaller than expected, and the bathroom was really small. The property is also in need of some repair, mostly just basic maintenance stuff, typical for an older building. Breakfast area was also a little smaller than needed, and they were having a hard time keeping the coffee from running out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Kenny C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room layout prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
94 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have stayed at few Holiday Inns and they are hit or miss. This was a miss. The trip started poorly when the complimentary shuttle they provide (part of the reason I booked at this hotel) never showed up. I called them when I landed and they said 15-20 minutes. After waiting for 25 minutes I called back and they said he was never dispatched and would be another 20 minutes. At that point I said forget it, I'll take a cab. Upon arrival at the hotel they told me I would be reimbursed for the $15 cab fare. The next morning upon checking out I asked them again about it and the front desk people had no knowledge of it and it wasn't in the system. Then they said they would have to let Expedia refund me. Would it have been easier to just give me $15 at that point? Yes, but fine. I called back a couple of days later, out of principle, and another person said they would be processing it and that Expedia received their refund. Basically I need to chase down Expedia for cab fare, which I'm not going to do. The point is they should have handled it better and just paid for the cab. The expectation that I was going to wait 45 minutes at the airport because they never sent their shuttle was absurd, so it should have been rectified then.
Other than that, the rooms were motel like, smelled of mildew, but did have a nice view. I would say it's about a 15 minute walk to the Gaslamp District but completely do-able. The cost per room is cheaper than the ones you will get down there, but if you're willing to splurge a little extra I'd say go down that way.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mnree7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is located just a few blocks away from the Gaslamp Quarter. Parking is not included in the price, you have to pay US$16 per day, but you can come in and out as many times as you want. The rooms are comfortable. The staff is super friendly. The breakfast is good.
It is a great hotel if you want to stay close to the nightlife without spending a whole lot of money!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcela1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#207 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Address: 1430 7th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-2815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to welcome you to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown. This 100% non-smoking hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of America s finest city. San Diego s most popular attractions are within minutes. With our staff's dedication to customer service, the San Diego Holiday Inn Express is a popular choice amongst all visitors.The hotel is within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter. For your convenience, take our free shuttle to the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Cruise Ship Terminal, and the San Diego Airport. Enjoy our complimentary hot new breakfast bar featuring fluffy scrambled eggs or cheese omelets, bacon, sausage patties, flaky biscuits, and sausage gravy. The hotel offers free WiFi Internet access, refrigerators in all rooms, and a free business center with three dedicated computers. The hotel is two blocks from the San Diego Trolley which will take you to Qualcomm Stadium in less than 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing