We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Bed but poor location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Ranked #96 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Bed but poor location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for a business conference over a period of 2 weeks. HIE are known to focusing on good sleep and good showers and this is no different. The room was clean and spacious. However there were quite a few things that needs attention. Firstly, the air conditioner. Given the hot weather of SD, the AC was positioned near the working table and it takes forever to cool the spacious room and not to mention that the AC must be a decade old! Next the breakfast. Its very basic and the same menu everyday. Very poor. The hotel is located on a steep hill and is at least 20 mins walk to the Gaslamp area. If you are not very mobile you may want to look for alternatives or depend on the taxis all the time which may not be a good idea if you are budget conscious (which I guess you are if you stay at HIE). The lift that goes down to sixth avenue does not always provide access for you to come up since the door is locked from the inside. The wifi in the room was also very poor. I found the customer service of staff were rather average with the exception of one or two. Overall I would not return unless I'm really out of options.

Room Tip: Request for rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GovindanNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear GovindanNair,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    256
    127
    46
    13
See reviews for
161
199
46
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yakima
Level Contributor
125 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here two nights over Memorial Day weekend. I'll start with the positive. The location worked great for us. We used public transit from Old Town to get to the property with no issue. They also took us to and from the San Diego Zoo with great service and great drivers and took us to the airport as well. The hotel is several blocks away from the Gaslamp District where we ate both evenings which was convenient. We also did the 20 minute or so walk to the USS Midway. The breakfast was well stocked, roomy and they had two people working it at the busiest time. More than met our needs. The lobby area was nice and they have a small bar with a few tables with a view over the city (and a parking lot).

The rooms and halls feel a bit outdated. The hallways could use a fresh cleaning, or new paint, wallpaper or something. Our room was fine. It was clean but nothing special. Our internet service worked pretty slow. We had 4 people in a two double bed room and were charged $10 extra per night for an extra person which surprised me. As I mentioned, we were there for Memorial Day weekend and rooms were at a premium, the price we paid didn't quite match up with the quality of the room, although, we wanted a room in the city so it was the best rate I could find. The elevator is oh-so-slow.

There's a small swimming pool that we used one evening. Us boys swam and the girls sat at the table and read. It was good enough for a short dip.

I would stay here again, but would also do some looking around for the best rate. Although the shuttle service they offered was quite good and convenient.

Room Tip: Take the stairs vs. the elevators when you can, the elevators are slow. I wish I had requested a ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpeditionMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear ExpeditionMan,

Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to review your recent stay. I am delighted with your kind words regarding our convenient location and the complimentary breakfast served. However, it is a regret that not all aspects of our facility was able to be at par with your standards particularly your room accommodation and internet service provided. All your comments have been taken into serious consideration towards improving our service.

As for our room rates, it is not our intent to inconvenient our guests instead provide rate options that make sense. Nevertheless, this point has also been noted for future consideration.

Once again, thank you for staying and I hope you choose us again on your next visit to San Diego.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I needed to spend the night in DT Dan Diego at the last minute and didn't think the trip was worth a splurge. This HIE was centrally located and had a price point just under $100/night. That rate included a continental breakfast and free wi-fi too.

The good: The room was average, but had everything you need. Housekeeping had cleaned it well and the bed was decent. Check-in was prompt and there were usually cabs waiting. Parking was available with in and out priveleges at reasonable (for dt San Diego) price.

The great: The location is really good. The price was great. By joining the loyalty program I recieved a late check-out of 2pm. I thought that was a great perk.

The poor: I kept trying to call the front desk one morning and the phone just kept ringing and ringing. When I finally walked out to the desk, the staff informed me the front desk button on the rooms phones doesn't work. They were sort of "oh well" about it. Not even a "so sorry for the inconvenience". There was also a drunk and stalky love story playing itself out in the lobby one evening. To be fair, that probably isn't a regular occurance and the desk staff handled it reasonably well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear mermaidit,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our great location and value. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge their good stay. I'm sorry for any inconveniences you experienced. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khobar
Level Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Was there for business in Downtown and stayed at this hotel. It is not really bad, but needs a lot of work especially with their elvators..i even think the certificates were expired! Looked more like a motel…I have stayed in better Holiday Inn express hotels before!
Good service: smooth check in and check out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nawafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear nawafe,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to post a review. I’m glad to know that we were able to provide a hassle-free check in and check out for you.

You mentioned in details some concerns about some of our facilities. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered. Your feedback is highly appreciated as this gives us the opportunity to improve on our guest satisfaction.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
322 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights here on our recent vacation in southern California. Upon our arrival the front desk manager Kristin was performing many duties. This woman can multi-task. She was super helpful to our needs and made sure that we were settled in alright. She went above and beyond the call of duty to help us out. Renee from housekeeping was another standout. She took the time to talk with us and told us to contact her if we needed anything. It is employees like these that can make an ordinary stay into one that is memorable and is so lacking in most hospitality establishments. I hope if management reads this that it is passed along to these employees of their job well done.

The room was super clean and had all of the typical amenities that we have come to know from a Holiday Inn. The hotel was centrally located and within walking distance to all of the sights that we were there to take in. One thing to keep in mind is that 7th Ave at the hotel site is on a steep hill, so if you will have a brisk walk to get back to the hotel. Nothing too extreme. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 63impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while attending a Padres baseball game. Hotel is on a hill overlooking the Gaslamp district. It was quite a walk from the baseball complex which is almost to the waterfront at the other end of the Gaslamp district. The rooms were comfortable and service was great from the employees we dealt with. Check in took longer than expected due to many people checking in at the same time. If you don't mind walking a ways to eat or be entertained in the Gaslamp this is the place to save a few dollars. Thier rates are a lot lower than most hotels closer to the action. There is a little cafe right next to the parking garage that has pretty good food for breakfast or lunch. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alchaffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear alchaffee,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It's great to hear that you were satisfied with your stay with us. I am delighted that you liked our rooms and staff services. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry that you felt the check in time was lengthy. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, SK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I am very happy that we stayed at this hotel. The staff are very polite, courteous, and helpful. It is in a great location. The rooms were clean. Everything worked properly. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. I liked that the rooms are quiet. I did not hear very much noise from our neighbors. The pool is quite small but my daughter still had a blast when she swam. It was really nice to have the shuttle service as many hotels in San Diego do not offer shuttle service. We checked in very late after the shuttle hours were done for the day so the hotel reimbursed me cash (up to $15.00) for cab fare. Having breakfast available each morning was great and good for saving money. Overall I am very very pleased with our stay. This was our first time visiting San Diego and this hotel helped make an excellent first impression.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2explorentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#198 of 278 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN Cabrillo Garden Inn
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#14 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Sofia Hotel
The Sofia Hotel
#80 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Inn
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#78 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Address: 1430 Seventh Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to welcome you to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown. This 100% non-smoking hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of America s finest city. San Diego s most popular attractions are within minutes. With our staff's dedication to customer service, the San Diego Holiday Inn Express is a popular choice amongst all visitors.The hotel is within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter. For your convenience, take our free shuttle to the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Cruise Ship Terminal, and the San Diego Airport. Enjoy our complimentary hot new breakfast bar featuring fluffy scrambled eggs or cheese omelets, bacon, sausage patties, flaky biscuits, and sausage gravy. The hotel offers free WiFi Internet access, refrigerators in all rooms, and a free business center with three dedicated computers. The hotel is two blocks from the San Diego Trolley which will take you to Qualcomm Stadium in less than 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing