We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit far from the city, but a very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Ranked #124 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Laurel, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit far from the city, but a very nice place to stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel is located a bit away from the gaslamp quarters and the Convention Center. Some people may actually prefer this quieter location. The hotel is located on a steep hill. The hotel is clean and the staff is obliging, friendly, and helpful. The room I stayed was bright and clean. Nice hot water. Breakfast is pretty good (it is free). The lobby is well maintained, well lit, and beautiful and has a great view. They have working computers in the lobby. Free wine, beer, and soft drinks are serves on a few days of the week. The hotel provides free shuttle service to and from the airport and also to the zoo and a few other tourist locations. The staff will arrange for a taxi cab, if you need one –wait time, about 5 minutes. There is an Italian restaurant across the street, which is small but serves tasty food and has friendly staff. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is more than a mile from the convention center. For those who would like to walk, it is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BowmanS301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdrodeway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear "BowmanS301", Thank you for taking the time to respond with a Trip Advisor survey about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown San Diego. We are so glad you enjoyed our quaint, historic hotel--we certainly value your loyalty and patronage as a valued Trip Advisor member too! My Management Team and I will continue to work hard and strive for our guest’s ultimate satisfaction. We hope to be able to host you again should your travels bring you to beautiful San Diego again in the future. Our Complimentary Happy Hour is Sun-Thurs 5:00 - 6:30 p.m. for all guests as a little "Thank You" for staying with us. Keep an eye out for huge hotel upgrades as we renovate the property over the next 12 months to make it “simply gorgeous”! Best Regards, BMB, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    272
    140
    53
    17
See reviews for
181
212
47
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel with our two sons, ages 13 and 10. We looked for a inexpensive (for San Diego anyway) hotel that had breakfast. Upon arrival, the clerk was friendly and helpful. Our room had 2 queen sized beds that were comfortable and new. The sheets and towels were all bright and clean. The furniture was new, and the bathroom had been renovated with wallpaper. The flat screen TV was a good size with many working cable channels. We all agreed that the room suited our needs since we wouldn't be in the room for much more than sleeping.

Unfortunately, the hallway seemed a bit neglected (needs better lighting and some new paint/carpet). The room carpet seemed a bit dingy too, as though it needed a good cleaning, and the shower tile probably should have been redone when the bathroom was redone. (This is a minor cosmetic issue, not anything unsanitary). The artwork on the wall had broken glass, and the room wasn't very cold when we first got there. We did, however, solve the A/C problem when we realized that the vents needed to be turned out toward the room and not up toward the curtains. The bathroom is tiny and doesn't have any vanity area outside the bathroom, which makes it hard to get ready with four people in the room.

In the morning we enjoyed breakfast that included freshly made pancakes (literally made by a push of a button), scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, and good coffee. It didn't change from day to day, but you could change your choices and still have a full meal each day.

The parking garage is tiny. We drove a Nissan Armada through it and we were just barely able to get in and out! It is within walking distance if you like walking 10-15+ minutes with hills. But it is a short drive to most San Diego attractions, and they are willing to drive you in their shuttle to places like the Zoo.

The staff was terrific the entire weekend. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. They answered questions and even provided us with a corkscrew and wine glasses for our family get together in the lobby!

Overall, it was a good value for the money. It isn't a fancy resort, but the customer service was great, the breakfast saved us a lot of money over the four days we were there, and we were close to all the places we wanted to visit. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel may 29-June 6. We are in our mid 30's and traveled with our 23 month old son. Check in was great, we were upgraded to a larger suite, but it didn't have a balcony or view, we switched back to a double queen bed room with a great view of the city overlooking the pool. Kirsten at the front desk was extremely accommodating and delivered us a couple of bottles of wine(free), water and snacks for our son. Customer service at this hotel is a 10/10. The manager also gave usfree tickets to a padres mlb game, which was excellent. The hotel provides complimentary shuttles to the airport, balboa park, the bay by the water. Just be sure to tip, our driver Alex was very nice and gave us lots of tips of what to do.

The rooms are basic, but have all you need. Free wifi, lots of towels, clean, good TV, fridge.

Location- great with a child. About 10 min walk to gaslamp district, shopping etc. 10 mins to the boardwalk. You can basically walk to anywhere. Quieter area which was perfect for us.

Happy hour- yes free drinks 5:00-6:30! You can sit and enjoy the sun on the patio.

Free breakfast- yes with yogurt, fruit, milk, cereals, eggs, bacon, coffee(which was actually good). We definitely saved tons having this option.

Tamaika at the front desk organized our car rental. Pacific pick you up, and drive you back after. It was about $30 for the rental for 24 hrs. We drone up the coast to del mar, l jolla, pacific beach etc. Worth renting a car. But you don't need one. We took a taxi to seaworld.

I would recommend this hotel. No resort fees and great location and staff.


Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lynnmairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for a business conference over a period of 2 weeks. HIE are known to focusing on good sleep and good showers and this is no different. The room was clean and spacious. However there were quite a few things that needs attention. Firstly, the air conditioner. Given the hot weather of SD, the AC was positioned near the working table and it takes forever to cool the spacious room and not to mention that the AC must be a decade old! Next the breakfast. Its very basic and the same menu everyday. Very poor. The hotel is located on a steep hill and is at least 20 mins walk to the Gaslamp area. If you are not very mobile you may want to look for alternatives or depend on the taxis all the time which may not be a good idea if you are budget conscious (which I guess you are if you stay at HIE). The lift that goes down to sixth avenue does not always provide access for you to come up since the door is locked from the inside. The wifi in the room was also very poor. I found the customer service of staff were rather average with the exception of one or two. Overall I would not return unless I'm really out of options.

Room Tip: Request for rooms with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GovindanNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear GovindanNair,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yakima
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here two nights over Memorial Day weekend. I'll start with the positive. The location worked great for us. We used public transit from Old Town to get to the property with no issue. They also took us to and from the San Diego Zoo with great service and great drivers and took us to the airport as well. The hotel is several blocks away from the Gaslamp District where we ate both evenings which was convenient. We also did the 20 minute or so walk to the USS Midway. The breakfast was well stocked, roomy and they had two people working it at the busiest time. More than met our needs. The lobby area was nice and they have a small bar with a few tables with a view over the city (and a parking lot).

The rooms and halls feel a bit outdated. The hallways could use a fresh cleaning, or new paint, wallpaper or something. Our room was fine. It was clean but nothing special. Our internet service worked pretty slow. We had 4 people in a two double bed room and were charged $10 extra per night for an extra person which surprised me. As I mentioned, we were there for Memorial Day weekend and rooms were at a premium, the price we paid didn't quite match up with the quality of the room, although, we wanted a room in the city so it was the best rate I could find. The elevator is oh-so-slow.

There's a small swimming pool that we used one evening. Us boys swam and the girls sat at the table and read. It was good enough for a short dip.

I would stay here again, but would also do some looking around for the best rate. Although the shuttle service they offered was quite good and convenient.

Room Tip: Take the stairs vs. the elevators when you can, the elevators are slow. I wish I had requested a ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpeditionMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear ExpeditionMan,

Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to review your recent stay. I am delighted with your kind words regarding our convenient location and the complimentary breakfast served. However, it is a regret that not all aspects of our facility was able to be at par with your standards particularly your room accommodation and internet service provided. All your comments have been taken into serious consideration towards improving our service.

As for our room rates, it is not our intent to inconvenient our guests instead provide rate options that make sense. Nevertheless, this point has also been noted for future consideration.

Once again, thank you for staying and I hope you choose us again on your next visit to San Diego.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I needed to spend the night in DT Dan Diego at the last minute and didn't think the trip was worth a splurge. This HIE was centrally located and had a price point just under $100/night. That rate included a continental breakfast and free wi-fi too.

The good: The room was average, but had everything you need. Housekeeping had cleaned it well and the bed was decent. Check-in was prompt and there were usually cabs waiting. Parking was available with in and out priveleges at reasonable (for dt San Diego) price.

The great: The location is really good. The price was great. By joining the loyalty program I recieved a late check-out of 2pm. I thought that was a great perk.

The poor: I kept trying to call the front desk one morning and the phone just kept ringing and ringing. When I finally walked out to the desk, the staff informed me the front desk button on the rooms phones doesn't work. They were sort of "oh well" about it. Not even a "so sorry for the inconvenience". There was also a drunk and stalky love story playing itself out in the lobby one evening. To be fair, that probably isn't a regular occurance and the desk staff handled it reasonably well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear mermaidit,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. You have covered all aspects of your stay and I am particularly appreciative of your comments about our great location and value. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge their good stay. I'm sorry for any inconveniences you experienced. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
khobar
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Was there for business in Downtown and stayed at this hotel. It is not really bad, but needs a lot of work especially with their elvators..i even think the certificates were expired! Looked more like a motel…I have stayed in better Holiday Inn express hotels before!
Good service: smooth check in and check out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nawafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear nawafe,

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and for taking the time to post a review. I’m glad to know that we were able to provide a hassle-free check in and check out for you.

You mentioned in details some concerns about some of our facilities. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have encountered. Your feedback is highly appreciated as this gives us the opportunity to improve on our guest satisfaction.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to serve you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#206 of 278 in San Diego
213 reviews
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Address: 1430 7th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-2815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to welcome you to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown. This 100% non-smoking hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of America s finest city. San Diego s most popular attractions are within minutes. With our staff's dedication to customer service, the San Diego Holiday Inn Express is a popular choice amongst all visitors.The hotel is within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter. For your convenience, take our free shuttle to the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Cruise Ship Terminal, and the San Diego Airport. Enjoy our complimentary hot new breakfast bar featuring fluffy scrambled eggs or cheese omelets, bacon, sausage patties, flaky biscuits, and sausage gravy. The hotel offers free WiFi Internet access, refrigerators in all rooms, and a free business center with three dedicated computers. The hotel is two blocks from the San Diego Trolley which will take you to Qualcomm Stadium in less than 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing