We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Occidental(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (742)
Filter reviews
742 results
Traveller rating
237
284
148
54
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
237
284
148
54
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalboa parkfree happy hourfree breakfastfree shuttlefree beer and winepancake machinehotel shuttleshuttle servicegaslamp quarterbreakfast roomhot breakfastfront desk staffan older hotelbooked this hotelstaff was very friendly and helpfulyogurtthe gas lamp district
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 742 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I wanted a convenient location at a decent price and I found it. The hotel is located with easy access to highways and within walking distance of many facilities. It was helpful to have a hotel shuttle that could provide transportation to and from the tour company station where we were taking a tour from.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KtGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdrodeway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear "KTgirl1", Thank you for taking the time to respond with a Trip Advisor survey about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown San Diego. We are so glad you enjoyed our quaint, historic hotel--we certainly value your loyalty and patronage as a valued Trip Advisor member too! My Management Team and I will continue to work hard and strive for our guest’s ultimate satisfaction. We hope to be able to host you again should your travels bring you to beautiful San Diego again in the future. Our Complimentary Happy Hour is Sun-Thurs 5:00 - 6:30 p.m. for all guests as a little "Thank You" for staying with us. Keep an eye out for huge hotel upgrades as we renovate the property over the next 12 months to make it “simply gorgeous”! Best Regards, BMB, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel is located a bit away from the gaslamp quarters and the Convention Center. Some people may actually prefer this quieter location. The hotel is located on a steep hill. The hotel is clean and the staff is obliging, friendly, and helpful. The room I stayed was bright and clean. Nice hot water. Breakfast is pretty good (it is free). The lobby is well maintained, well lit, and beautiful and has a great view. They have working computers in the lobby. Free wine, beer, and soft drinks are serves on a few days of the week. The hotel provides free shuttle service to and from the airport and also to the zoo and a few other tourist locations. The staff will arrange for a taxi cab, if you need one –wait time, about 5 minutes. There is an Italian restaurant across the street, which is small but serves tasty food and has friendly staff. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is more than a mile from the convention center. For those who would like to walk, it is no big deal. However, taxi cabs are avilable at the hotel or the staff can get you one in 5 minutes.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BowmanS301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdrodeway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear "BowmanS301", Thank you for taking the time to respond with a Trip Advisor survey about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown San Diego. We are so glad you enjoyed our quaint, historic hotel--we certainly value your loyalty and patronage as a valued Trip Advisor member too! My Management Team and I will continue to work hard and strive for our guest’s ultimate satisfaction. We hope to be able to host you again should your travels bring you to beautiful San Diego again in the future. Our Complimentary Happy Hour is Sun-Thurs 5:00 - 6:30 p.m. for all guests as a little "Thank You" for staying with us. Keep an eye out for huge hotel upgrades as we renovate the property over the next 12 months to make it “simply gorgeous”! Best Regards, BMB, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel with our two sons, ages 13 and 10. We looked for a inexpensive (for San Diego anyway) hotel that had breakfast. Upon arrival, the clerk was friendly and helpful. Our room had 2 queen sized beds that were comfortable and new. The sheets and towels were all bright and clean. The furniture was new, and the bathroom had been renovated with wallpaper. The flat screen TV was a good size with many working cable channels. We all agreed that the room suited our needs since we wouldn't be in the room for much more than sleeping.

Unfortunately, the hallway seemed a bit neglected (needs better lighting and some new paint/carpet). The room carpet seemed a bit dingy too, as though it needed a good cleaning, and the shower tile probably should have been redone when the bathroom was redone. (This is a minor cosmetic issue, not anything unsanitary). The artwork on the wall had broken glass, and the room wasn't very cold when we first got there. We did, however, solve the A/C problem when we realized that the vents needed to be turned out toward the room and not up toward the curtains. The bathroom is tiny and doesn't have any vanity area outside the bathroom, which makes it hard to get ready with four people in the room.

In the morning we enjoyed breakfast that included freshly made pancakes (literally made by a push of a button), scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, and good coffee. It didn't change from day to day, but you could change your choices and still have a full meal each day.

The parking garage is tiny. We drove a Nissan Armada through it and we were just barely able to get in and out! It is within walking distance if you like walking 10-15+ minutes with hills. But it is a short drive to most San Diego attractions, and they are willing to drive you in their shuttle to places like the Zoo.

The staff was terrific the entire weekend. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. They answered questions and even provided us with a corkscrew and wine glasses for our family get together in the lobby!

Overall, it was a good value for the money. It isn't a fancy resort, but the customer service was great, the breakfast saved us a lot of money over the four days we were there, and we were close to all the places we wanted to visit. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel may 29-June 6. We are in our mid 30's and traveled with our 23 month old son. Check in was great, we were upgraded to a larger suite, but it didn't have a balcony or view, we switched back to a double queen bed room with a great view of the city overlooking the pool. Kirsten at the front desk was extremely accommodating and delivered us a couple of bottles of wine(free), water and snacks for our son. Customer service at this hotel is a 10/10. The manager also gave usfree tickets to a padres mlb game, which was excellent. The hotel provides complimentary shuttles to the airport, balboa park, the bay by the water. Just be sure to tip, our driver Alex was very nice and gave us lots of tips of what to do.

The rooms are basic, but have all you need. Free wifi, lots of towels, clean, good TV, fridge.

Location- great with a child. About 10 min walk to gaslamp district, shopping etc. 10 mins to the boardwalk. You can basically walk to anywhere. Quieter area which was perfect for us.

Happy hour- yes free drinks 5:00-6:30! You can sit and enjoy the sun on the patio.

Free breakfast- yes with yogurt, fruit, milk, cereals, eggs, bacon, coffee(which was actually good). We definitely saved tons having this option.

Tamaika at the front desk organized our car rental. Pacific pick you up, and drive you back after. It was about $30 for the rental for 24 hrs. We drone up the coast to del mar, l jolla, pacific beach etc. Worth renting a car. But you don't need one. We took a taxi to seaworld.

I would recommend this hotel. No resort fees and great location and staff.


Stayed: May 2014
Thank lynnmairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed here for a business conference over a period of 2 weeks. HIE are known to focusing on good sleep and good showers and this is no different. The room was clean and spacious. However there were quite a few things that needs attention. Firstly, the air conditioner. Given the hot weather of SD, the AC was positioned near the working table and it takes forever to cool the spacious room and not to mention that the AC must be a decade old! Next the breakfast. Its very basic and the same menu everyday. Very poor. The hotel is located on a steep hill and is at least 20 mins walk to the Gaslamp area. If you are not very mobile you may want to look for alternatives or depend on the taxis all the time which may not be a good idea if you are budget conscious (which I guess you are if you stay at HIE). The lift that goes down to sixth avenue does not always provide access for you to come up since the door is locked from the inside. The wifi in the room was also very poor. I found the customer service of staff were rather average with the exception of one or two. Overall I would not return unless I'm really out of options.

Room Tip: Request for rooms with balcony.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Govindan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear GovindanNair,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews