We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Ranked #125 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Washington State
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pretty good”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights over the 4th of July. It was nice enough for our needs even though it is a bit outdated. The lobby area is very nice and modernized. It is within walking distance of many restaurants. The staff is very friendly. I don't know why some people complain about the breakfast. We found the quality and variety most satisfying. The parking charge was understandable as it is in the downtown area of a major city! We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdrodeway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear "Bcck", Thank you for taking the time to respond with a Trip Advisor survey about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown San Diego. We are so glad you enjoyed our quaint, historic hotel--we certainly value your loyalty and patronage as a valued Trip Advisor member too! My Management Team and I will continue to work hard and strive for our guest’s ultimate satisfaction. We hope to be able to host you again should your travels bring you to beautiful San Diego again in the future. Our Complimentary Happy Hour is Sun-Thurs 5:00 - 6:30 p.m. for all guests as a little "Thank You" for staying with us. Keep an eye out for huge hotel upgrades as we renovate the property over the next 12 months to make it “simply gorgeous”! Best Regards, BMB, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    262
    134
    49
    17
See reviews for
167
206
46
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We arrived around 11am and were able to get our room. It was right outside of the lobby which I thought might be a problem but it wasn't loud at all and actually very convenient. The free breakfast is good and saved us some money. The coffee was good also. Elevator to parking garage is extremely slow and garage is very small. There's a daily fee to park but it's actually cheaper than most hotels and it's common for there to be a fee in the downtown hotels. Location is good, close to zoo and some restaurants. Easy to get to from airport and freeway. Staff is very courteous and helpful. Bedding was very good with flat screen tv. Bathroom was a little small but clean. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in San Diego a few nights at the Holliday express , it's all American standard with a breakfast in the morning, quality from breakfast is different every day , Sunday ok en Monday horrible and lack of choise .
Rooms are ok , hotel is a older building with some vintage features , staff is friendly and helpfull , location is a ten minute walk to downtown
For me has the hotel 2 minors , picture so h are showing the pool are not realistic , pool is small , in the pictures on the booking sites is a stretched pool , max 10 people ,
There is a parking fee from 16$ a night way should be pointed in the info about the hotel , hotel has free WiFi and that's a plus

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Pete A,

Thank you for your taking the time to evaluate our property. I am elated that our rooms and staff service exceeded your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the challenges you experienced with our amenities and breakfast selections. I appreciate your feedback and allowing us the opportunity to address these issues with the appropriate people and departments.

I hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hotel is good enough for a business stay. Good breakfasts - first time I have encountered a pancake maker. Room was clean, bed confortable. Room was shwing some age. Wallpaper pealing in a couple of places and drapes had some holes visable with sunlight. If you use public transit - it is not far from the MTS trolley - be prepared for the hill leading up to the hotel.

Room Tip: If you like watching planes, a room facing 7th Ave will allow you to see aircraft on the approach to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear LosAngelesTrainer,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations. We are deeply sorry for any inconveniences you have experienced. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. We are hospitality professionals and strive to be the best. Your comments will be looked into.

If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I wanted a convenient location at a decent price and I found it. The hotel is located with easy access to highways and within walking distance of many facilities. It was helpful to have a hotel shuttle that could provide transportation to and from the tour company station where we were taking a tour from.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KtGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdrodeway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear "KTgirl1", Thank you for taking the time to respond with a Trip Advisor survey about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown San Diego. We are so glad you enjoyed our quaint, historic hotel--we certainly value your loyalty and patronage as a valued Trip Advisor member too! My Management Team and I will continue to work hard and strive for our guest’s ultimate satisfaction. We hope to be able to host you again should your travels bring you to beautiful San Diego again in the future. Our Complimentary Happy Hour is Sun-Thurs 5:00 - 6:30 p.m. for all guests as a little "Thank You" for staying with us. Keep an eye out for huge hotel upgrades as we renovate the property over the next 12 months to make it “simply gorgeous”! Best Regards, BMB, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The hotel is located a bit away from the gaslamp quarters and the Convention Center. Some people may actually prefer this quieter location. The hotel is located on a steep hill. The hotel is clean and the staff is obliging, friendly, and helpful. The room I stayed was bright and clean. Nice hot water. Breakfast is pretty good (it is free). The lobby is well maintained, well lit, and beautiful and has a great view. They have working computers in the lobby. Free wine, beer, and soft drinks are serves on a few days of the week. The hotel provides free shuttle service to and from the airport and also to the zoo and a few other tourist locations. The staff will arrange for a taxi cab, if you need one –wait time, about 5 minutes. There is an Italian restaurant across the street, which is small but serves tasty food and has friendly staff. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is more than a mile from the convention center. For those who would like to walk, it is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BowmanS301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdrodeway, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear "BowmanS301", Thank you for taking the time to respond with a Trip Advisor survey about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown San Diego. We are so glad you enjoyed our quaint, historic hotel--we certainly value your loyalty and patronage as a valued Trip Advisor member too! My Management Team and I will continue to work hard and strive for our guest’s ultimate satisfaction. We hope to be able to host you again should your travels bring you to beautiful San Diego again in the future. Our Complimentary Happy Hour is Sun-Thurs 5:00 - 6:30 p.m. for all guests as a little "Thank You" for staying with us. Keep an eye out for huge hotel upgrades as we renovate the property over the next 12 months to make it “simply gorgeous”! Best Regards, BMB, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel with our two sons, ages 13 and 10. We looked for a inexpensive (for San Diego anyway) hotel that had breakfast. Upon arrival, the clerk was friendly and helpful. Our room had 2 queen sized beds that were comfortable and new. The sheets and towels were all bright and clean. The furniture was new, and the bathroom had been renovated with wallpaper. The flat screen TV was a good size with many working cable channels. We all agreed that the room suited our needs since we wouldn't be in the room for much more than sleeping.

Unfortunately, the hallway seemed a bit neglected (needs better lighting and some new paint/carpet). The room carpet seemed a bit dingy too, as though it needed a good cleaning, and the shower tile probably should have been redone when the bathroom was redone. (This is a minor cosmetic issue, not anything unsanitary). The artwork on the wall had broken glass, and the room wasn't very cold when we first got there. We did, however, solve the A/C problem when we realized that the vents needed to be turned out toward the room and not up toward the curtains. The bathroom is tiny and doesn't have any vanity area outside the bathroom, which makes it hard to get ready with four people in the room.

In the morning we enjoyed breakfast that included freshly made pancakes (literally made by a push of a button), scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, toast, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, and good coffee. It didn't change from day to day, but you could change your choices and still have a full meal each day.

The parking garage is tiny. We drove a Nissan Armada through it and we were just barely able to get in and out! It is within walking distance if you like walking 10-15+ minutes with hills. But it is a short drive to most San Diego attractions, and they are willing to drive you in their shuttle to places like the Zoo.

The staff was terrific the entire weekend. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. They answered questions and even provided us with a corkscrew and wine glasses for our family get together in the lobby!

Overall, it was a good value for the money. It isn't a fancy resort, but the customer service was great, the breakfast saved us a lot of money over the four days we were there, and we were close to all the places we wanted to visit. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#203 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#15 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Address: 1430 7th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-2815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to welcome you to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown. This 100% non-smoking hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of America s finest city. San Diego s most popular attractions are within minutes. With our staff's dedication to customer service, the San Diego Holiday Inn Express is a popular choice amongst all visitors.The hotel is within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter. For your convenience, take our free shuttle to the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Cruise Ship Terminal, and the San Diego Airport. Enjoy our complimentary hot new breakfast bar featuring fluffy scrambled eggs or cheese omelets, bacon, sausage patties, flaky biscuits, and sausage gravy. The hotel offers free WiFi Internet access, refrigerators in all rooms, and a free business center with three dedicated computers. The hotel is two blocks from the San Diego Trolley which will take you to Qualcomm Stadium in less than 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing