We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Ranked #126 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stay in hotels around the world, for the price, this hotel was pleasantly adequate. Very nice staff, clean room, amenities: decent breakfast, hosted wine/beer hour, cookies/milk @ 8pm, newspaper, airport/cruise shuttle, located near shopping plaza. Another star should be added.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank flyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2010

Nice, spacious and clean rooms. Great location. Good customer service. Breakfast was average.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGDun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

This was 1 of 3 hotels we stayed in during our visit to San Diego as my husband wanted to stay one night downtown. We used Holiday Inn points so the room didn’t cost us anything.
Room was nice but bathroom is very small. Beds are comfy.
Parking is $16 a day and making turns going up the ramps in the indoor lot is tight.
Location is good. Nearby is Horton Shopping Plaza and the gaslamp district. We also walked all the way to seaport village.
Nice size pool.
Breakfast is good – warm cinnamon buns, ready-made cheese omlettes, muffins, watered down juice, cereals, yogurt.
We were expecting ‘more’ of a city – some nightlife and some people, but then again we’re from the NYC area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhonaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Just returned from a two night stay here and found very little to complain about. It has spacious rooms, is very clean and beds were very comfy. There is no need for a car at this hotel if you are staying around town. It is a short walk to the Gaslamp district and public transportation is at most, a block or two if you want to get just about anywhere. They also have a free shuttle to the airport and nearby attractions. We used it once to get to the harbor but walked back. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast buffet was more than adequate and very good. The only complaint I have, and it is minor, is that all of the electrical outlets in the room were old and my chargers for my phone and laptop would not stay in. I had to plug it in to the bathroom outlet on the sink. There is free wifi in the room but I kept losing the connection. I told the front desk upon checkout and the man told me I could have requested a cable for ethernet. I now know that for next time and will definitely be staying here again. I booked this room from Expedia and it was definitely a great value for the money. San Diego is an awesome city with so much to do and very friendly people!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadie155Denton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Parking is in a garage around the corner, and if you drive anything bigger than a mini Cooper, beware. This garage is NOT made for normal sized vehicles with its tight turns and small spaces. Plus, you have to pay to park per day...which SHOULD be included in the cost of the room. TV didn't work when we arrived and had to wait until the next day for it to be looked at and fixed. Only positive remarks: breakfast was good and the bed was comfortable. Driving around through the city, there are many other places to stay with a much better view.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baygirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Friends and I occupied two rooms here recently while attending a large event. They had used the same hotel before due to its proximity to our intended location. They told me in advance that it was nothing to write the parents about, but perfectly adequate for a few days' stay. We are both members of IHC's loyalty program and thus have seen a number of Holiday Inn properties and knew what to expect.

I arrived on their complimentary shuttle from the airport and was given access to my room despite it being a few hours prior to the normal 3pm check-in.

LAYOUT

Doing some homework I discovered this property has a storied past. It was built as an annex to the historic 1920s El Cortez Hotel, and at one time the world's first moving sidewalk connected the two properties on a span over 7th Avenue.

This hotel is perched on the side of a steep hill, so that the entrance on one side is about five stories higher than on the other. A parking deck, two restaurants, conference rooms, offices, stores and a church fill the space under the hotel. Parking is included for guests, but drive carefully in the garage because the columns are very close together and battle-scarred from people scraping them.

A glass elevator on the low side connects the lobby level to the street. The lobby faces San Diego Bay although the view is punctuated by tall buildings closer to the water. This can be enjoyed both from the lobby lounge where IHC members are treated to happy hour during the week, and an adjacent terrace, partially covered, with tables for guests to relax, eat or smoke. Across the driveway is an outdoor pool and terrace with chairs and tables (but alas no umbrellas) all of which were kept scrupulously clean.

The lobby floor and two levels above it contain the guest rooms. There are two elevators which are used not only for the hotel but the parking deck below it, and they are painfully slow so we mostly walked.

ROOMS

My room was a king ordinary facing the street. The furniture was all in good repair and a laptop-capable safe and empty fridge (vs. a minibar) were welcome discoveries. Wireless Internet is available and included. The bathrooms are very small (there's a bumper on the door to keep it from smacking the toilet) but nicely renovated and everything was spotlessly clean and in working order. Beds are comfortable with a variety of pillows (labeled for your firmness preference).

My friends' room was a two-queen with a large terrace facing the pool and driveway area. Otherwise very similar in amenities. We both noticed that the air conditioners, while new-looking, struggled to keep the rooms cool.

If having a view or a lot of daylight is important to you, make sure you mention this when you arrive. On either end of the hotel there are a handful of rooms whose windows face a wall only about 3-5 feet away... not for the claustrophobic!

FOOD

There is no full service restaurant owned by the hotel. However, in the building (accessible by the outdoor elevator mentioned above) on the 6th Ave side is a little place called the Indigo Cafe which serves a variety of food (including breakfast at any time), has a liquor license, and is open until 9pm most days.

Free breakfast was available in the conference area below the lobby, and was well-stocked and fresh if not overwhelming in variety. Hot and cold cereals, scrambled eggs, cold hard-cooked eggs, bread, muffins, pastries, bananas, oranges, apples, etc. were daily staples. Most days we were there they also had biscuits and sausage gravy, and on the last day this was replaced by bacon. The hot cinnamon rolls were a big hit with someone in our party. Given the chaos we encountered at the last Holiday Inn breakfast (Eatontown, NJ http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g46868-d98139-r70561651-Holiday_Inn_Tinton_Falls_Eatontown-Tinton_Falls_New_Jersey.html) it was well-run and we were very satisfied. None of us could stomach the coffee but others seemed to be enjoying it so maybe we're just java snobs. We found good stuff at the Cortez across 7th Ave.

DRINK

IHC loyalty club members are invited to a happy hour in the lobby on weekday afternoons. Otherwise there is no bar owned by hotel. The aforementioned Indigo Cafe has a liquor license, however, as does the Cortez cafe across the street.

SERVICE

Everyone there was very friendly and helpful. The entire property is kept very clean and the staff were quick to help with any need.

SUMMARY

This is a budget hotel in an older building, but the management is doing a very good job keeping it clean, attractive and comfortable. Services are limited but in line with the Express marque and what they offer, they do well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShiftyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Very good value for money. Excellent price, and a great location (near the zoo and at walking distance to the gaslamp district).
Nice and clean room (very confortable beeding), free WI-FI and free breakfast.
The staff at check-in was very friendly.
As member of the priority club, they gave us glass of wine/beer during the happy hour.

However the parking was very expensive and dark !!! The elevators are very, very slow.

If you get a chance visit the

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank NRRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown

Address: 1430 7th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-2815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £81 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to welcome you to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown. This 100% non-smoking hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of America s finest city. San Diego s most popular attractions are within minutes. With our staff's dedication to customer service, the San Diego Holiday Inn Express is a popular choice amongst all visitors.The hotel is within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter. For your convenience, take our free shuttle to the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Cruise Ship Terminal, and the San Diego Airport. Enjoy our complimentary hot new breakfast bar featuring fluffy scrambled eggs or cheese omelets, bacon, sausage patties, flaky biscuits, and sausage gravy. The hotel offers free WiFi Internet access, refrigerators in all rooms, and a free business center with three dedicated computers. The hotel is two blocks from the San Diego Trolley which will take you to Qualcomm Stadium in less than 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing