We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, clean, good location, free breakfast, airport/cruiseport shuttle!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Ranked #123 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great hotel, clean, good location, free breakfast, airport/cruiseport shuttle!”
Reviewed 5 February 2011

This Holiday Inn Express property is directly across the street from the historic EL CORTEZ Hotel, and is the former hotel annex & banquent rooms of the El Cortez so the rooms are historic, but remodeled and CLEAN! Midge & Zuyla at the front desk were FANTASTIC at checkin and during our entire stay! Jose, maintenance engineer had to play shuttle van driver for entire hotel and the Rodeway Inn across the street. Jose was so cheerful, efficient, PATIENT, and helpful with van service to airport and nearby restaurants. This Holiday Inn Express has free shuttle service to the San Diego Cruise Port, which made me choose to stay at this property over nearby Hilton hotels, even though I am a Hilton HHonors Gold member. I am now a proud Priority Club Gold member convert and am treated with care & respect by Priority Club (take notice Hilton HHonors). Thanks for a great stay!
Great mexican food dive tip: POKEZ Mexican Diner on the corner of Tenth Ave & 'E' Street. A real dive, scruffy, grungy, yet friendly atmosphere and staff, but the food is FANTASTIC and cheap! Try the Unsual, Usual "Joey Special", a HUGE plate of delicious green tomatillo marinated boneless chicken, rice, beans, veggies, smothered in green sauce and melted cheese! Steaming side of fresh, hot flour tortillas. Comp chips & salsa, only a buck for seconds. Soda is only a buck, no alcohol. Cash, Visa/MC. We are going back to both!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimo767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    267
    136
    53
    17
See reviews for
175
210
47
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Writing this review from the hotel now. The building is clearly old, but the lobby is bright and modern, and more importantly, the rooms are also bright and spotlessly clean. Staff/service excellent so far. Parking garage is around the corner but the elevators go directly to the lobby, so that's fine. Parking fee is annoying but typical of any city so expected (for those who complain about $16 per day, in Chicago the daily rates are $35 and up, and in San Fran even worse -- not that it makes it less annoying, but ALL cities have parking fees, so to ding this hotel for this isn't quite fair). All in all, it has been a typical HI Express experience to this point.

Now for the one huge negative: the windows in my room might as well not exist. The walls don't seem that bad, but in a room on a lower floor fronting 7th Street, the street noise through the windows is unbelievable. Regular traffic is not a problem and not terribly audible, but trucks, buses, etc. are beyond loud. In fact, conversation on the street below is clearly audible in the room. At first I kept checking to see if the windows were closed, then I opened them myself to confirm that it actually it just as loud whether they are closed or open. There have been several busloads of teenagers loading into school buses during the early evening hours, and the buses idling outside pre-loading and then the noise of the loading has sent me running for headache medicine.

Even though the hotel itself is fine, location is good/convenient for the purpose of my trip to SD, price is in line with other hotels of this class, etc. the street noise would be a deal breaker for me for future stays, as I'm hypersensitive to that sort of thing. A higher floor room facing west to 6th Street might be fine though.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eighmeagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

After a long car trip, from Hermosillo Mexico, to San Diego, Ca, arrive to this hotel was a refresihng experience, the staff couldnt be more gentile, always with a smile in their face. the rooms were clean and comfortables. The location was very good, close to downtown shops and gaslamp district. The breaksfast was good with hot and cold options, and again a smiley staff. free high speed internet always a plus.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreamsTapatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Overall our stay was nice here. The hotel is obviously old and has been remodeled. The room is rather modest in size, with 2 double beds a small table and 2 chairs another chair and a bureau that contained the TV and a mini-refrigerator along with 3 drawers. The closet was open style behind the entry door to the room. There is an iron and ironing board provided in the room and hairdryer in the bathroom. There is also a small coffee maker. We were on the 3rd floor and had sliding glass doors that led out to a balcony with a plastic chair and a view of downtown/waterfront, all-be-it a mostly obstructed view of the waterfront. The bathroom was a very tight squeeze. 2 People do not fit in here, one barely fits in the room. The toilet looks like one from the old school days. Enough said the bathroom was SMALL, but the linens were nice. Housekeeping does a great job.

Our biggest issue was noise levels were REALLY bad in the rooms especially on the weekend. It appears to be a popular hotel for families/soccer teams/college kids, all of whom were noisy into the wee am hours and sometimes even drunk and shouting in the hallways at 2:30AM, hotels are for sleeping and rest not partying and personally I think "guests" such as these should be asked to leave the hotel. This was the biggest problem on weekends, weekdays were fine, mostly business travelers, quiet rooms and hallways. Weeknights there is a wine/snack hosting in the lobby for about 2 hours, that is a nice touch for business travelers. Breakfast is below the lobby on level M1 and consists of a typical hotel breakfast, eggs (scrambled some days, microwave omelets others), bagels and muffins, toast, juices, coffee, cereals, and some days pancakes. Basic but sufficient. We had lunch at the new orleans style restaurant down below one afternoon and it was very good.

Many thanks to Midge, who makes you feel as if you are right at a friends house. She and the staff helped make this trip enjoyable.

The hotel is only 3 blocks (about a 5 minute) walk from the Orange Line which can take you down to the convention center or the waterfront just a few stops away. It is also only about 5 blocks from the Mall downtown. San Diego is an easy city to get around in and the location of this hotel is good for the price you pay.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for budget minded business travelers on weeknights Sunday-Thursday, but avoid it on Friday and Saturday nights as you cannot get away from the noise and rude behaviour of other guests.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy-Milford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2010

Okay the hotel/motel may not be a 5 star appearance and the rooms are well they are rooms.. but for the money - I have a fridge, hot breakfast, free internet, nice pool and pool hang out area, quiet neighborhood day and night yet only blocks from stores, waterfront, and restaurants and a nice sized balcony and free milk and cookies at 8pm. Not bad at all...

But it gets better - I am a priority club member (but anyone can be.. just sign up for free) and I must say its been a long time since I was greeted so kindly on check in (for being a valued priority club member), and given a check in present (lotion and razor in a beautiful carrying bag) and upgraded to a room looking towards the bay and allowed early check in (10 am) and a managers greeting from 5-630 every weekday with FREE ALCOHOL and nibbles. Okay.. I admit... I felt more "special" staying here than staying at the Hilton last week... and holiday Inn costs almost half as much...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenB_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

We stayed for 3 days and found the hotel to be older but very well kept. The hotel is only blocks (easy walk) from the Gaslamp area but without all the traffic. It is also a very easy walk to Balboa Park and the San Diego Zoo, barely a need for a car. I must also say that the staff were very friendly and seemed interested in where we were from and going on to. Since we were from Canada, they asked lots of questions. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blair55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, In.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2010

This was a great place to stay. The best part was that you had the convience of the shuttle service. the holiday inn nearer to the bay is 2x the the cost of this inn. I do not think my wife and I would have enjoyed being there verses the cost..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob0931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
#205 of 279 in San Diego
208 reviews
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Downtown
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse San Diego
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown
Address: 1430 7th Ave, San Diego, CA 92101-2815
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to welcome you to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown. This 100% non-smoking hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of America s finest city. San Diego s most popular attractions are within minutes. With our staff's dedication to customer service, the San Diego Holiday Inn Express is a popular choice amongst all visitors.The hotel is within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter. For your convenience, take our free shuttle to the San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Cruise Ship Terminal, and the San Diego Airport. Enjoy our complimentary hot new breakfast bar featuring fluffy scrambled eggs or cheese omelets, bacon, sausage patties, flaky biscuits, and sausage gravy. The hotel offers free WiFi Internet access, refrigerators in all rooms, and a free business center with three dedicated computers. The hotel is two blocks from the San Diego Trolley which will take you to Qualcomm Stadium in less than 10 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown Hotel San Diego
Holiday Inn San Diego
San Diego Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing