We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Cheap and Friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of California Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
California Suites Hotel
Ranked #228 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Clean, Cheap and Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Can't beat the price, and the rooms are clean with fridge and microwave. Location is not bad either. Outside is not so good but the inside is nice. Scenic view from window, and good room service. This is a budget hotel , so try to keep an open mind, and remember your booking for the sleep.. right?

Room Tip: Get a room with a view and you will be happier
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    102
    65
    39
    49
See reviews for
115
75
16
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Check this out, you get a physical key, no cards. Cathode ray tv. See photos that hotel does not want you to see. Talked to a white couple in parking lot, they loved the place. So it really depends on you standards. I was horified. Smells, and hotel staff immediately talk about plans to renovate, as if I care. Pay the extra $15 and go elsewhere.

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Oh-Pooh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Doesn't look like much from the outside but once you get into the courtyard/room area it's quite nice. In a good location with a large variety of restaurants nearby and the on ramp to the I805 just next door for easy access to the highway system. The rooms are nothing to write home about but they are clean with fridge and microwave. The bathroom had no sink, had to use the sink in the kitchen area for shaving, etc. The courtyard and pool area is clean, well kept and attractive. Breakfast is marginal--cereal, sweet rolls, fruit. Staff is friendly. But the real attraction is the price. For what you pay here it would be hard to beat in the San Diego area. Recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomcat408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

I had stayed there with my family. We got a nice room that overlooked the fountain. View from our room was pleasant and scenic. Room was surprisingly clean as I was not expecting it (it’s a budget hotel, so didn't have much expectations.) Room had fridge and microwave but no coffee maker. Services were fine. But they can improve the continental breakfast.

It is not easy traveling with kids. But the hotel is close to Balboa Park, San Diego zoo and beaches. So we didn't face any difficulty in commuting. Staff was really helpful. Throughout our stay, they helped us with the directions. Highly recommended for its easy location.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

The grounds are nice and the beds are comfortable enough, but there wasn't free wifi in the room as advertised, and the continental breakfast consisted of muffins. There is a toaster but no bread. They are stingy with the soap and shampoo. It's a nice place to stay, but don't expect too much.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheamus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We had three rooms here with other family members. The second night my son knocked on the door and I was in the shower, when I came out I asked him how he got into the room his response was his key. I said that was not possible we have two different rooms we tried his key and it opened the door. We then tried the third room and it opend that door as well. I went to the office but he manager was not available it was a bit after 6 PM. I was not comfortable so we checked out that evening and found another hotel. The next morning I called and wanted to speak to the manager but he was still not available. I left my number a and have had no response. This is a security issue that no one should have to experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jeff g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the California Suites Hotel for 7 nights and my only negative comments would be that housekeeping wasn't quite up to par (they didn't leave cups, soap, shampoo, etc.) and the front office staff wasn't the most professional or the friendliest, however, it is a 2-star hotel so I didn't expect much. The furniture was a little outdated but the room was very spacious with more than adequate storage space (1 single closet and 1 double closet with built in shelves), plenty of cabinet space in the kitchen, a microwave, and refrigerator. I did notice blood on the comforter the morning of our second day but my boyfriend had a wound so it could have come from him. That evening upon our return, we had fresh sheets and a fresh comforter. The breakfast was adequate for our needs (cereal, bagels, muffins, oranges, juice and coffee) and was a nice start to the day. The hotel is within a short distance to all attractions and the hotel even provides written directions to the popular destinations. We did have to pay for internet but I probably could have just asked someone for the password (hint, hint). Soundproofing wasn't the best but with the a/c on I didn't hear a thing and I'm a very light sleeper. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and I would recommend California Suites to anyone looking for a clean, 2-star hotel in a convenient location. The pool and hot tub close at 10 and everyone minded the rule. There are a lot of restaurants nearby as well as a miniature golf course and a bowling alley if you're looking for something to do at night.

Room Tip: We had a room by the pool but I think it would be nice to be by the fountains. I don't think any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tdeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
6.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Loma Lodge
6.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
1.9 mi away
Ramada San Diego North Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Motel 6 San Diego Mission Valley East
6.1 mi away
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
Days Inn and Suites Sea World
#221 of 279 in San Diego
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
5.7 mi away
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#93 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Suites Hotel

Property: California Suites Hotel
Address: 5415 Clairemont Mesa Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92117-2308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — California Suites Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your California Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing