We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in the heart of downtown San Diego.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
Ranked #203 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Rancho Cucamonga, California
2 reviews
“Great value in the heart of downtown San Diego.”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The rooms were spacious and clean and a great value and the staff exceeded my execution with the great service....thank you Suzette and Erica....and I would definitely advise everyone to stay at this red roof inn....I will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rflores869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    59
    51
    24
    27
See reviews for
46
55
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Went to San Diego for the Hot Chocolate 15k race. We got a great rate on these rooms for being downtown and close enough to walk to our start line near the Petco Arena. I had to add a room at the last minute and that was no problem and we got a better rate. Even with multiple rooms under one reservation and separate credit card payment Erica at the front desk made check in and out seamless. The rooms were clean and smelled clean-not stuffy. The coffee in the lobby area was actually good. Was it the best hotel I ever stayed in? No, the shower was like standing on a bosu ball very odd and the bed was not the most comfortable. However, the staff, the rates, and the closeness to downtown Gaslamp district were perfect!! I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katerella71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014

all service is excellent, they help me in Spanish and English language. I will come back, because de place is highly sunny and very good climate. There are many attractions. is lends the place for a good holiday.

Room Tip: comer suite are large an sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leopoldo_resendiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

After a very long drive yesterday from Northern California, Ivan welcomed us with his upbeat attitude. I was pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness and comfort of the room. Ivan later helped us to refresh some towels and went out of his way to be friendly and make sure we had everything we needed. We have one more night here and the trip is great so far. We would definitely come back. Great service always makes a difference!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwqng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed at Red Roof. Check in was very quick and friendly. I wanted to drop off my rental car that night so I did not have to deal with the extra time to drop off the next morning. Ivan on the front desk told me their airport van will be there to pick me up. I dropped car off and waited for the van. Ivan called me and asked me where I was and I did not realize the van was a small one and was waiting at the end of the line. I found the van and apologized for holding him up but did not notice the logo on side. Ivan called driver and asked him if I "was found". Got back to hotel and he greeted me and asked me if there was anything else needed. Just a very pleasant evening.
Check out was just as pleasant with Suzette calling me letting me know the shuttle was here to pick me up and when I went to front desk had my receipt ready. Room is decent and considering it was a Red Roof Budget motel I enjoyed my stay.
RC

Room Tip: Nice place to stay. Quiet and close to downtown and airport. Rooms are in a quad so parking was conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel is located on three sides of a block and so there is a road on at least one side of every room. There is no double glazing and so you hear very little noise that is happening outside all night. Any traffic stops at the junctions and dumsters operate throughout the night. No good if your a light sleeper.

Also this hotel is located at the top of town and so if you have problems with mobility then this is not for you.

Finally parking is $16 a night and with no breakfast not worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GloucesterTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Diego hotels

Menard, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I would like to begin by saying that our stay here began with the most courteous service from your front office. The room was clean and all furnishings were appreciated. We decided that the service here was above and beyond excellent and changed our plans to include another nights stay!!!!!! Thank you for all the kindness to make our stay here so much fun. Also Suzette is amazing!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaleb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Days Inn San Diego/Downtown/Convention Center
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown

Property: Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown
Address: 719 Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3213 (Formerly Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown)
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Non-Smoking Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown is located just minutes from The San Diego International Airport via car or our complimentary shuttle. Our newly renovated rooms are the provide the perfect place to stay while visiting local attractions like the San Diego Convention Center, SeaWorld, San Diego State University or the USS Midway, all located within an easy drive of our location. For a day or evening out, enjoy all that the Gaslamp Quarter has to offer from food, to shopping to entertainment less than a mile from The Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown. Enjoy our Non-Smoking rooms and free WiFi while experiencing all that San Diego has to offer. Our business center is open 24 hours for all of your travel needs and a microwave & refrigerator are available in select rooms. Relax in our lobby with coffee house style coffee and tea in the lobby. Parking is available for passanger vehicles is available for a fee and complimentary shuttle service is available to the San Diego Airport, Amtrack & cruise ship terminals. Shuttle Hours are from 5AM to 9PM. So, if your destination is the San Diego Zoo, or taking in a game at the ball park or just visiting all of the attractions and events San Diego has in store, the Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown welcomes you as a guest in your travels to San Diego Downtown. One well behaved pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn San Diego Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn And Suites Downtown
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel San Diego
Rodeway Inn Downtown
Rodeway Inn San Diego
San Diego Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing