We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Post cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Ranked #58 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Post cruise”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel post cruise, I bid on the room thru Orbitz and stayed for about $125/night. The room was comfortable and the location was convenient. We walked to the Little Italy district the first evening and had a great Italian Diner at Chianiti, which the front desk recommended. We had a car rental (parking was $10/night, going to $14/night 4-1-12) which made our stay very enjoyable. We walked every night, close to the water front, there is a lot to see in San Diego, a beautiful city, it would be a great place to live. Don't miss Balboa Park, Coronado Island & Point Loma, we started to La Jolla, but got into rush hour traffic and turned around, would have liked to seen the zoo, you can do only so much in 3 days.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0bT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    645
    167
    41
    19
See reviews for
363
514
75
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

A nicely renovated hotel. Great private balconies. Standard breakfast. Walking distance to lots of great restaurants in little Italy. Close to airport as well.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelaton28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
732 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel is not a 5 star property, but they do not pretend to be nor advertise so. What they are is a good quality mid price hotel that is secure, very conveniently located to most of San Diego’s attractions, very efficient and hospitable and well worth the money in a city of very expensive hotels. On the 12 floor, we found the hotel to be very quiet and enjoyed the city view. Each room has a small balcony that you can stand on to enjoy the view. Parking is located on the property, and is reasonably priced at $10 per day, but the parking spaces are the smallest I have ever seen and very difficult to get into and out of even with a smaller car. Carpet in our room was a little soiled, but the rest of the hotel looked very clean. Overall this was a good experience and I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigredmachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Our Bayview room was spacious and clean. The hotel was in a great location with easy walking distance to Little Italy and the Embarcadero. The tram and trolley stop were very close by. The hotel provided a lovely breakfast and the restaurant is also open for dinner if you arrive back late. We ate here one night and it was lovely, staff friendly and service great.
Reception was great and very helpful with organising tours or giving directions. We would be happy to stay here again, they also provided a free shuttle service to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AarondQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

After much "research" on hotels in San Diego, I decided on this Best Western property for a Spring Break trip with my 17 year-old and his friend. First off, the hotel offers free airport shuttle service. My primary goals in selecting a hotel were to be close to the trolley/bus line so I wouldn't have the expense of renting a car, to have breakfast included in the room price, and to be centrally-located in a safe area. This Best Western fit the bill! The staff was extremely helpful and courteous, the room was a decent size for 3 people and was very clean and comfortable. There was a cute little balcony with a great view of the city. We only had to walk a few blocks to Little Italy, the trolley stop, the Gaslamp Quarter, and the Embarcadero. We had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KCJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlwickens, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Inn, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for your time and kind comments in reviewing our property. We strive to provide superior customer service and a friendly place to stay.!!
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My son and I stayed here for a Spring Break trip and enjoyed our stay. I liked how close the hotel is to the airport. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast each morning. Our only complaint was the outside noise (train and street) that we could hear in the room. The bed was very comfortable and the shower had plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Everytime I have gone to San Diego for work, the company has put us up at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn. The hotel is resonable, clean and the staff is friendly and other than a few minor occasions with guests, it is fairly quiet. It is centrally located in the downtown area close to the airport, The Gas Lamp District, the Harbor, Little Italy and the MTS Trains. The only issues I have with this hotel is that there is no room service for dinner on the weekends and the attached restaurant is not open after breakfast on Sat or Sun. and dependig on the room, the wireless internet can be spotty. Other than that I would stay there even if I went for pleasure.

Room Tip: I like any room above the 8th floor and on the bay side but that is my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kat4man4du
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tlwickens, Manager at Best Western Plus Bayside Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Best Western PLUS Bayside Inn. We strive to provide superior service to all of our guests. Your comments are always welcome.
T. Wickens, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#75 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#120 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing