We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in downtown SD”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Ranked #57 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Regina, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value in downtown SD”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Decent price. Great staff - very friendly. Nice extras - such as breakfast and cheaper parking - that you don't find at the fancy downtown hotels. Within walking distance of Little Italy, Gaslamp, Midway carrier, marine museum, harbor. A good option for families as the staff are very kid-friendly. My coworker stayed at the Westin, paid a lot more (even with conference discount) for a similar quality of room and no breakfast. Hotel decor is a bit dated but the hotel is very clean. Room amenities were all well-maintained and in working order (no wall dings and sloppy bathroom tile fixes to stare at).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
3 Thank Derek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    654
    167
    41
    20
See reviews for
367
525
77
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed at the Bayside Inn in June. The hotel was just right for us. We had a room on the 11th floor facing the bay. There was a building site next to the hotel but no work was being done while we was there so wasn't the hindrance i was expecting. There was a free buffet breakfast in the restaurant next door which was adequate enough to start the day. Little Italy with lots of restaurants is a short walk north and the Gaslamp Quarter is a nice walk south. The trolley stop is one block away if you need to get about and the transport was pretty good and cheap.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPete_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickleton, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Overall hotel was nice, room was spacious once they got us into a room that didn't have a light fixture off the bathroom wall being repaired. Normally the inconvenience of being moved to another room would not be a problem, but we'd been awake since 3:00 AM Eastern DST and it was very disappointing to not be able to fall right into our bed for a much needed nap. Breakfast was included and respectable...but the offerings showed little or no consideration for Gluten Free diet guests. They should also upgrade to real orange juice and coffee was pretty weak and devoid of any real flavor. Tried to cancel a one-night return reservation (we stayed a total of three nights!) due to unforeseen health issue, but were still charged full rate because we didn't cancel 24 hours in advance. Next time I will make sure to schedule all health emergencies far enough in advance to adhere to the Best Western policies. Little respect shown to a loyal Best Western Rewards customer, IMHO.! 3.8 out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank H Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The upside: location in Little Italy, San Diego, bay side by a few blocks. Shuttle driver very friendly as was Sylvia in office. All the faces at desk smiled..

The not so upside: 1) only one way in and out of hotel. 2) Given room on mid floor bayside at rate booked. Very noisy with traffic below and closeness to red line/Amtrak. Requested higher floor, which was accommodated on the condition of higher charge per night because bayside. What??!! Both rooms bayside, one just less loud than the other. 3) Construction to bldg up against left/south. So if you leave left side of your drapery closed and look only to middle or right, you can see bay instead of construction workers right next to your room looking in. 4) Thin fabric shower curtain, no interior vinyl liner. Water from shower splashes right through soaking floor. 5) Felt more like I was in Chinatown instead of Little Italy, just sayin'.... I forgot that element of staying there. The steamed rice and soy sauce breakfast table was popular for many. We enjoyed the scrambled eggs and juice.

Would we go back? Possibly. Being in San Diego is the most enjoyable part but there are a lot of new places open close by and others being built so we'll see.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CactusBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while on a brief visit to San Diego. Our standard room (with 2 king beds) was huge. Lots of space to spread out. The room was clean and well-equipped (a coffee maker, microwave and fridge). The breakfast included in the price (served in the restaurant next door) was excellent with a good choice of hot and cold food. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Location is good. We had a car, so drove to places we wanted to visit. Parking was $14 a day which seemed quite reasonable. We walked to the Gaslamp Quarter which was a 15 minute pleasant walk. No complaints at all about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This Hotel is all that it could be. The staff goes out of their way to treat you as if you are staying at a 5 star location. The breakfast is more than adequate although if you are staying for more than say 4 days you might want to take advantage of one of the MANY nearby eateries. The hotels proximity to everything, including the somewhat confusing transit system, makes this my next choice for an affordable place to stay in the amazing city of San Diego.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We stayed here for Comic Con and we were very happy with our stay. We were not looking for much out of a hotel and The Best Western provided it. No real issues. It was clean. The area was safe. Any help we needed the staff quickly accommodated. The location was a mile from the convention center which gave us easy options to get there. I liked the courtesy shuttle to and from the airport that was helpful and saved us a few dollars. I also liked being very close to Little Italy as well. This is not a luxury hotel as long as your expectations are in line I think you will be happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soitgoes14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#72 of 279 in San Diego
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#59 of 279 in San Diego
894 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing