We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely San Diego stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Ranked #57 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Hood River, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely San Diego stay”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Bayside Inn in San Diego, CA. A decent hotel and the room was adequate- comfortable mattress. The pool and hot tub were decent, but not out in the sun at all. There was no place to hang around and talk, there was no lobby to speak of. But, I'm sure that property is expensive there and that they did the best they could. Really close to the harbor, train station, etc., a really easy way to go car-free and only use mass transit and walking to get around. We almost always have a great experience at Best Western - thanks!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    645
    166
    41
    19
See reviews for
362
514
75
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The BW Bayside inn in Sand Diego provided very good value,location, and hospitality. Very nice rooms, friendly and helpful staff, and nice selection of breakfast items. Each night of our stay we were within walking distance of a quality restaurant. The wharf was also within walking distance where we were able to take a cruise of the harbor, take the Old Town Trolley, and see the various ships at the museum. Staff was always very helpful in helping us plan our daily activities .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tustin, California, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My wife and I used the Best Western PLUS Bayside Inn primarily as home away from home. He prefer the San Diego Airport to one closer to us so we go to San Diego a day earlier, stay at the Best Western and their shuttle takes us to the airport. On our return we repeat that with their picking us up at the airport, spending a night or two at Best Western and then either taking the train home, which works great, since the hotel is just three blocks from the train station. Of course San Diego is one of the best destination cities in the world. The zoo is world class!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Lucklady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
201 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We recently stayed here on vacation with our two teens. Front desk staff friendly and moderately helpful. Free shuttle to and from airport. Room was large and clean. We had a mini fridge and microwave. there was free wifi which worked well. There is a free breakfast buffet that was better than most of these types. Reasonable selection. The breakfast is served in a restaurant next door. Staff there were nice. Location is very convenient to the waterfront, little Italy and Gaslamp areas. We felt safe and walked everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadrunner0820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
238 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel was very clean, had all the necessary room amenities and the bed and pillow were super comfy. In addition to a great view of the harbor from balcony rooms, it had one of the lowest parking fees at $14/night. However, the room soundproofing was not good as I could hear normal conversation from the adjoining room and inconsiderate guests from a lower balconies at 4 AM. Breakfast(included) wasn't anything to rave about and the dining room requires a trip outside but all in all a very nice stay. Close to Gaslamp District and Little Italy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer31310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I will be checking out in the morning. This BW was impressive and nearly perfect. The one negative is the typical BW breakfast. Had it once and the other three mornings we went elsewhere. Our room was great, everything worked well, the TV and theWiFi. Why can't all BW Plus hotels be like this one? I have had so many bad experiences at BW that Just when I am ready to give up my faith in BW is restored by a place like this. One caveat expect to pay 14 dollars to park in the adjacent multi level garage. I will definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank greyhound85034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel is ok to spend some days in San Diego. Since you'll probably need a car to visit all the attractions, a central location is adequate and it's way cheaper and quieter than gaslamp quarter.
There are some restaurants, banks and a CVS pharmacy nearby, but restaurants close very early (around 9 pm). The hotel is really near the bay (around 3-4 blocks) and you can easily walk till USS Midway, Seaport Village, etc. Breakfast is ok, considering american hotels. We stayed in a room that had a door to another room (normally used by familes) and we had really noisy neighbors. So, the first days were really noisy, you should avoid this kind of room and also rooms near the elevator. You can park your car at the hotel, but it costs $14 a day. Staff is friendly and helpful. There was a pool, really crowded, which i didn't use...

Room Tip: You should prefer a room on a higher floor facing the bay. Avoid the ones that have a door to other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asbarreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#76 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#63 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#118 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing