We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pre-Cruise Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Ranked #58 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Pre-Cruise Experience”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We chose this hotel because it offered free transportation from the airport and also to the cruise ship. It's in a perfect location downtown, within walking distance of Little Italy, The GasLamp District, and the international mall. A buffet breakfast was included each morning at their restaurant next door, with enough choices to please everyone. The room was very comfortable and quiet. The staff was always very accommodating and a helpful resource during our two day stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, even all the way to the top (11th) floor, to have a lovely view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenH442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    645
    167
    41
    19
See reviews for
363
514
75
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yellow Springs, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The bay view side of the motel has beautiful views of Mission Bay. Hotel staff are helpful and courteous. Breakfast is good. Parking is $14/night which isn't bad and internet access is free (as it should be). I stay there each visit to San Diego and highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Had to stay in San Diego for a conference. This hotel was my first choice because of its price. Arriving there, I was very pleasantly surprised with the quality. The room was great, and so was the "free" internet. The breakfast was included also, which was really nice. Overall a great experience that I'd recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Vinzenz U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Booked two rooms for 2 seniors, 2 adults child & baby. Arrived w/o a car on Amtrak. Shuttle p/u us up within minutes. Daniel, the driver, is first class. Upon arrival to the hotel, we were greeted by a lovely staff, including the manager, Sylvia. She made us feel right at home. We arrived earlier than the recommended check in time, but they had our room ready. , and grandparents adjoining room was ready in 30 minutes. Wonderful, since we had a tired and cranky baby on our hands. The crib was clean and good to go. It's one of those portable playpen types, and baby jumped right on in. Ok, I just chucked her into it but she loves it. The room seemed tidy and spacious. We had a balcony facing the bay including Midway and the Star of India. Boy the view was breathtaking. It was worth the extra few bucks.


Breakfast - This is coming from a guy who is a buffet afficionado. There wasn't a complete selection like some other complainers were expecting, but hey, what was offered, I'd call it the "basics plus", was sufficient. The restaurant / eating area is next door to the hotel and is staffed by helpful employees. They quickly set us up with a high chair and family styled seating. The offerings were plentiful, and varied somewhat from day to day. If your a light eater, you had your yogurts, cereals, fruits, danishes. For the hungry jacks there was scrambled eggs and ham, and depending on the day, pancakes, sausages, spicy potatoes, etc. Heck, they even had miso soup and rice! Everyone looked at me strangely for having miso for breakfast but you know what, that stuff is delish! My starving little 12 year old tried to keep up with her pops but gave up early on. Only baby hung in there as she fed the hungry floor by hurling cereal and fruits all over the place. Fresh orange juice, milk, toast and oatmeal rounded off the meals.

The room - WiFi was a must and yep, all our devices connected instantly. None of that security code mumbo jumbo you encounter everywhere else. It just worked. The flatscreen and remote also worked perfectly. But darn those beds were a little too cozy! We chose the double queens, and looking over noticed my DW (I just found out that DW means Dear Wife so I feel cool using it) and daughter were fast asleep. I usually stay up late watching T.V. or youtubing nonsense on a tablet, but nope, not here at the "Bay". I felt like I was resting on a fluffy cloud, and after checking to see that it wasn't baby underneath, I dozed off instantly. Come on, when and where else can you get 6 plush pillows all to yourself?

Never once smelled any smoke, can't complain about the parking fee (no car). For those reviewers mentioning the noise, it was a non issue for us. Hearing the faint trolley rings from the 10th floor was actually fun, but all noises were drowned out by closing the sliding door and activating our travel size fan. Fridge good size, microwave clean and working. Ironing board, big tub and shower. No lotion, minus half a point. No toothbrush. minus another point. Oh wait, that was my dumb fault. Pool and spa were working but none of us wanted to go outside since it was really cold and windy. My card key stopped working one time and before I yelled, AHA, something to whine about like all the other yelpers, I realized my DW had locked it from inside to keep intruders from waking up baby since the door makes a loud thump. No prob, just went in to grandpa's room next door and used the connecting door.

The location is probably one of the key features we chose this inn. Two blocks from the Trolley station helped the familia reach Old Town in a flash. A few more blocks gets you to the Harbor walk. And it's a few blocks from Little Italy, which was jumping in a safe, classy way. There were bars and restaurants filled by locals, who for some reason all look happy, well off, and fit. Hmm, don't see that much happiness here in LA but oh well, the food was delicious. Oh wait, back to the Hotel review. Did I mention there was a Rite Aid diagonal from the hotel? Get your water bottles, baby food, cup o' noodles, beef jerky, whatever knick knacks you need at any time. Everyone was so friendly down there in SD. Must be the weather or something. There were some homeless here and there but in no way threatening. It's too nice down here, clean streets, air, water. Oh they say the hotel was undergoing renovation. We saw no signs of that, everything looked done.

Anyways, since checkout is at noon. We decided to checkout early on our last day and visit the Midway Museum before our return train ride at 4pm. Since baby had no interest in visiting the amazing war ship, the hotel was accomodating and let my DW and DB (darling baby) stay an extra hour. Upon checkout, Daniel was nice enough to shuttle both of them to meet us at Midway. That is first class service.

To sum it up, I've been to standard BWesterns. But this one stands up to it's Plus designation. I heard there are BW Premiers, which are even more upscale. I wonder what they have there, maybe Sushi? If so, I am so there!

Room Tip: The rooms closer to the elevators give you a view of Midway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Excellent Location, walking Distance to just about everything. Very comfortable Check in/out very simple. Had bay view left the window open all night the breezes were wonderful, my Wife did not want to leave! Will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We picked this hotel because of the location. It is perfect if you are looking to go to Gas Lamp District, Little Italy, Coronado Island, Lajolla, OB, PB, Balboa park or the Zoo! It's very easy to get around town from here and the view of the bay is beautiful! We did not use the pool or hot tub, but we did have the free breakfast one day that was included...very impressed for the variety of items for this being a "continental" breakfast. The only reason we didn't eat breakfast here every day of our stay was because we wanted to try out the best rated breakfast in SD. Brian's 24 has the best breakfast and awesome Bloody Mary's! Our room was very clean, all the amenities worked well and the staff was very friendly. We will be back in SD next spring and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Quinn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Recently we visited San Diego and stayed at the Best Western Plus Bayside Inn. It is close to the railway station and the hotel provides van service to and from the station and to and from the airport. The hotel is within a short walk of the Bay. It is within a block of the marvelous restaurants in Little Italy. The beds were very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent, plentiful, and free. We strongly recommend the hotel to visitors to San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank LDNandJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#76 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#119 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing