We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn
Ranked #55 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Bayside from Fri, Feb 4th to Mon, Feb 7th. Let me start by saying how convenient the complimentary airport shuttle was. It was not more than a 10 min wait before the van was there and then a 10-15 min drive to the hotel. We got there around 11:30 a.m. and they let us check in early. We were in room 1405 on the top floor with a bay view room. The view was great, we could see the Star of India ship and the sunset in the evening. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The location is perfect for everything we wanted to do. The trolley stop is only about 2 blocks away. We took the blue line to visit Old Town. The hotel is situated about 2 blocks from Little Italy, and a little farther away (10-12 blocks but still walkable) to the Gaslamp area. Those were all of the areas we wanted to go so it worked out great. Also, being so close to the bay, you can walk to the ferry and other site seeing tour boats. The breakfast was average I would say. It was nice having a few warm items to choose from (breakfast potatoes, pancakes one morning, oatmeal, eggs, grits) along with the usual continental breakfast items (muffins, toast, cereal.) Just to let you know, you can purchase sausage, bacon, or other items for an extra charge, although we never did. We got a rate of about $125 a night and I thought that was good for being in such a great location. I thought that the staff was great, they gave us directions several times and even extended our checkout time. I would stay here again when in San Diego.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2011

A friend and I stayed there to be in the downtown area for New Years Eve. As we were checking in service wasn't at it's best. To check in took about 15 minutes, as another guest had a complaint about parking an associate started raising her voice/"yelling" at her. There is a $10 fee for guest parking and not much avaiulability as guest were double parked, which frustrated us. Driving into the lot seemed like such a tight squeeze that would be hard to have some cars entering and exiting at the same time. After all the madness of checking in and parking our room was on the 6th floor so we had to take the elevator. They had two but one out of order, and still it managed to take "forever and a day". I was however happy with the room. Breakfast was great but the area was on the other side of the parking structure. Overall the stay was meant for us to sleep, and we did just that. This is NOT a get away, vacation type of stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MizzEboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We recently stayed here for 4 days for our annual Christmas staycation. This is a typical Best Western. Nothing fancy, but clean and it had everything we needed. great location in downtown San Diego, It's within walking distance of most downtown attractions. The breakfast was adequate and was a welcome addition. We splurged and got a bay view, which was very cool.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CARLYN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We stayed for a week in the Bayside Inn
The location was brilliant You are minutes away from Little Italy which is gorgeous
Wine bars and nice restaurants.(they have a farmers market too on a Saturday)
You can walk to the harbour which is an interesting half day and then up to seaport village
An outdoor shopping centre.
We got the trolley to old town San Diego not far at all This is a lovely square very Mexican well worth a visit.
We also got the ferry across to Coronado twice this beach is gorgeous very cosmopolitan place loved it!
The only reason I would say short stop is that the hotel has slightly more of a business feel rather than leisure due to the pool area being quite small no bar + not getting much sun but for a few days thats fine.
The Amtrak rail noise is loud but soon solved by keeping the window shut and putting the air con on.
We had a bayview room absolutley brilliant view !
So all in all I would reccomend for a short break

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kirsty201077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We stayed 4 nights in San Diego. This hotel was wonderful, it was quiet, reasonably priced, clean and the staff were excellent.

We weren't going to rent a car to drive to WAP and Seaworld (was going to take a tour bus) but the staff helped us to locate a good deal and advised us on places to eat, see and driving directions. When we left they organised our taxi, they also had incidentals provided free of charge-like toothbrushes, shavers etc. We had breakfast included in our meal and ate at the restaurant in the hotel, it was fine-both contintal and hot food that was freshly made.

I went to use the internet kiosk and as it wasn't working was allowed to go into the office itself to email. Siliva and Hortio were wonderful as was Vera (I think) the other lady who worked there. When we left there were no hidden charges, local calls were free. All staff from housekeeping to office were great and were very friendly and my 6 yr old loved them.

I also requested a bayview room and got one at no extra charge. This hotel was perfect for walking along the Esplanade and catching city transit. There is a small grocery store/pharmacy about 1 block away and it's easy walking to the train/tram stations.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisakellycdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying on the 14th (top) floor. We had a view of the water/ships, city, even planes landing. We loved the the conveniences and furniture. Great for a romantic city stay or business traveler. Parking was $10/day though.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CutesyBubblez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We loved San Diego and this hotel was great. It is an ideal place to stay if you don't mind walking, as we walked all around San Diego and found our way back to this hotel without a problem. The only thing about San Diego is the amount of homeless people which is a bit daunting when you are not used to seeing so many, but have to say that they do not hassle you in anyway. This hotel had a great breakfast included in the price and we loved our room with partial views of the harbour. The room was spacious and loved the little balcony that we also had to let in some fresh air. Woudl without a doubt stay here again. The other bonus with this hotel is that they also have a free shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel - saved on a taxi fare!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FordyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
SpringHill Suites San Diego Downtown/Bayfront
Downtown
Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Urban Boutique Hotel
Urban Boutique Hotel
#64 of 278 in San Diego
674 reviews
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#124 of 278 in San Diego
2,679 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#62 of 278 in San Diego
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Bayside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Bayside Inn

Address: 555 W Ash St, San Diego, CA 92101-3414
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in San Diego
#73 Business Hotel in San Diego
#75 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £103 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Bayside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bayside Inn is located in the heart of downtown San Diego, perfect for site seeing or business trips. Our proximity to Little Italy offers guests easy access to amazing dining and breweries from award winning chefs. Guests can easily walk to shopping and dining at the nearby harbor area including Seaport Village & The Headquarters. Those that love to explore and site see find our central location to many local museums and attractions, like the World Famous San Diego Zoo(R) and the Midway Museum very convenient. In addition to our complimentary services, like a daily breakfast buffet, shuttle service and WI-FI, guests may take advantage of some of our new and enhanced amenities from our 2015 first floor remodel. The beautiful outdoor pool and hot tub area with woven modular lounge seating is great for evenings with friends, family time or just relaxing. The new onsite fitness room is perfect for an invigorating work out. We also added a fantastic Sundries area with snacks, small meals and beverages for the convenience of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Bayside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel San Diego
Best Western Bayside Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing