We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Ranked #19 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good place to relax”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

EXCELLENT! Really enjoyed myself here! Wonderful and relaxing location just by the beach, be sure to request a quiet room though.

A great thing to do, if you have time, is to go on a whale watching cruise. The girls from reception are happy to help you find and book it. And if you don't want to go anywhere far, the hotel pool is a perfect place to relax

Staff all in all is very attentive and helpful, rooms and common areas clean and nothing to complain about breakfast either!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. We definitely strive to provide services and amenities that allow our guests to have a nice relaxing and enjoyable be stay. I am so glad you were able to experience this! We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Sincerely,
Ruben G.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    817
    420
    118
    42
    25
See reviews for
582
428
72
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Hotel is right on the boardwalk in Pacific Beach but has two buildings: ask for the one closest to the beach, and with a pool view (or the full ocean view, which is considerably more expensive). The other building is closer to the noise of Mission Boulevard, and farther from the water, though you can still see the ocean at an angle from the balcony. There are restaurants within easy walking distance and several more good ones about a mile away. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Parking charge is $18 a day. It is about ten minutes from Sea World, and about twenty from the Zoo and downtown attractions. If you want to be at the beach, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duvall, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The decor is nice and "surfy". They have good sized rooms at a nice price. Its central to all the fun in San Diego and RIGHT on the beach.
Plus La Playa Mexican restaurant across the street - amazing!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Caleb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

It has been a few years since my husband and I stayed at this location. The first time it was part of the Best Western chain.
We have stayed at many places, hotels, rentals in the area since.
This time, staying at Blue Sea Inn, was truly excellent. It was comfortable, felt very safe and the service made you feel like you were truly a guest.
A cheerful good morning from all staff. Cleanliness was obviously important to them, as there was always upkeep cleaning.
The only negative experience, was with the coffee shop, which I'm told owned by a third party.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 1960lovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for those wonderful comments about your recent stay with us! I am very delighted to hear that our team members provided you with service that made you feel that you were “truly a guest”. From the front of the house to back of the house, our team members take great pride and joy in providing superior customer care. Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit to the newly renovated Blue Sea Beach Hotel!
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We already stayed here twice. Its affordable during the off season. We came down here before christmas 2013. We love the room we got. Always ask for the room with a pool and ocean view. Not necessarily fronting it
Just partial view is nice. But make sure say the pool view or else you will be placed where you see ugly roof tops but with a partial beach view too. But who wants to see roof tops when you can get a better view with the same price. Love the rooms very clean, staff are courteous the only thing i dont like is the building parking too small. But anyway i will definitely come back to this hotel everytime I'm here at SAN DIEGO. Angie

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michiko T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. I am happy to hear that our staff was able to provide with professional and courteous service. I definitely agree that those partial view rooms do provide a very nice view at a great value. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you visit San Diego. Thank you for your patronage!
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I think this has become my new GoTo hotel in San Diego. I reviewed once in early spring and since then the hotel has started a major update. I was worried about noise because of this but I honestly didn't hear a single hammer strike! The construction is in an area away from where everyone has a room. The staff was just as professional and helpful. They recommended some local restaurants which I tried and loved. Look for my review of them soon:) if you are headed to the beach don't overlook this sapphire gem.

Room Tip: Partial view rooms are a bit deceptive as the view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prima D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I read the review from pjandersonma and our experience is sooo similar -- except we are the "almost" 80s on the twice per year holiday. I know of no other place on the California coast that has so much to offer and with such easy access. There are times when we have brought the whole family along and this place is just perfect for all ages. The members of the staff do a terrific job, but they have also become friends. Those involved in the management are constantly looking for ways to make your/our vacation experience even better. We are eagerly anticipating our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Ocean Park Inn
#28 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#101 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Property: Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing