We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Ranked #22 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We had a good time at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel.
It is a good hotel in a great location for a holiday in San Diego, it is right on the beach, close to shops, restaurants and bars.
The rooms are large and clean.
The building is old and a dated but it was being renovated while we were there so I would say they are addressing this already.
There is plenty of parking for a fee, as you really need a car if you want to explore San Diego.
All in all we can recommend it as a good place to stay at a good price.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Easytravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for posting your comments! The next time travel takes you away from Australia and brings you to San Diego, it would be our pleasure to accommodate you once again. Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    426
    124
    43
    25
See reviews for
603
437
72
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The hotel is centrally located for what we wanted to do. Dillion and Christina were totally awesome people to come in contact with. They were very helpful, always had a smile and always said hello. Easy to find, easy check in, easy time extending the stay, check out was a breeze. We enjoyed it and plan on the next trip getting an ocean front view near the swimming pool. Thank you so much for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
I could not agree with you more, Kimberly, that the Blue Sea Beach Hotel is most definitely close to everything! Thank you for those great comments about Christina and Dylan. They are truly great hospitality professionals . Your patronage is greatly valued and appreciated!

Sincerely,

Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We were privileged to acquire a winter sale rate for five nights in an ocean front room at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel. The first room we were assigned was adequate but the heating unit wasn't working. We were given a portable heater and the promise of an upgrade to a suite for the next four nights. We were able to keep the same special room rate and have the benefit of a two room suite with both rooms facing the ocean along with two balconies. We never were able to get the heater to feel that warm as we were used to warmer weather coming from Las Vegas. It was acceptable. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. I had stayed at this property years ago when it was a Best Western hotel. I looked forward to staying here again because of it being so close to the ocean. I was not disappointed.

Room Tip: If you request an ocean front room, I would advise getting a 2nd or 3rd floor room. The bottom floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norskdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for those wonderful comments about our hotel and staff! It was our pleasure to be able to provide you with an upgrade to one of our ocean front suites. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit from Las Vegas to the Blue Sea Beach Hotel.
Regards,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

CHECK IN: Quick & easy, curtious front desk staff.
CHECK OUT: Quick & easy. Wasn't ready to leave town so left car in garage - no problem.

ROOM: Recently updated. Very clean, modern design, very roomy. Single bed w/sleeper sofa, small table & 2 chairs. Entry way had sink, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker. Not ocean view, but left balcony door open and could hear ocean. Air conditioner wasn't working - wouldn't turn on, got it fixed right away, but it never cooled below 75F - leaving balcony door open at night cooled room down nicely. Very noisy people in apartment next door on Friday night - til 1 am (but I hear that is typical of Pacific Beach). TV (if you watch it) is in sleeper mode and will turn off automatically after a certain amount of time.

POOL: Clean & spacious with views of the ocean. Hot tub was salt water (so nice) not chlorine so skin didn't get all dry and pool smelly.

LOCATION: Right on the beach. Tons of restaurants & bars to the north, about 3/4 mile to amusement park.

PARKING: No information stated on website, but it is $18/day, in garage (6 foot clearance) or in parking lot. If you don't want to fork out the extra cash, park on the road or in the free public lot adjacent to the hotel. Just abide by the city enforced limits (for street cleaning) of staying during the week. There are other pay lots clsoe by that are a fraction of the cost.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view or on the public parking lot side - very noisy neighbors to the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lhwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you so much for posting your comments. Our front desk staff prides themselves on being able to provide quick, easy and courteous service when checking guests in and out. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the newly renovated room. Your feedback regarding the new rooms is greatly appreciated! I am sorry that you felt the parking fee was a little high. Parking in the Pacific Beach area is a premium due to the very limited number of public parking in the area. Thank you again for all of your honest comments.
Regards,
Ruben G.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great location right on the beach. The property has recently changed ownership so they are experiencing transition pains. We were suppose to have an ocean front room per our reservation, when we checked in we were told there were there were none available. I was less than pleased, coming from the Midwest in the middle of winter (a bad winter) being oceanfront is at the top of my list. The room we got had an ocean view, however it was directly above the hot tub, when we got back to our room one evening it sounded like people were in our room!

Clean rooms, plenty of clean towels, comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room above or by the hot tub. The way it is enclosed makes it funnel right up to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
I am so sorry that we were not able to accommodate you with an ocean front room during your recent stay with us. I can sincerely appreciate your disappointment and displeasure, especially coming from the mid-west. We were anticipating having more ocean front rooms available during the time you were here but due to the renovations to some of our oceanfront rooms, we were not able provide the additional oceanfront rooms. I sincerely apologize again for this occurrence. The next time the winter in the Midwest drives you to come to Sunny San Diego, It would be my pleasure to personally assist you with your accommodations. I can be reached at 858-488-4700- extension 420. I look forward to hearing from you and thank you for staying at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel!
Sincerely,
Ruben G.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Hotel was in a good location. We had a ocean front room that had a gorgeous view. The room was very clean. The towels were soft, the bed was very comfortable. The pool area was small but very clean. The parking behind the hotel is limited but the parking under the hotel was a nice area. We had a few issues with the staff at the front desk.
We tried to check in early but our room wasn't ready, we didn't expect it to be, but just wanted to check. Dylan at the front desk told us to check back again in a little while when we asked about a place to eat he gave us two options that were right across the street, I personally expected a list of restaurants in the area. He didn't seem to have time to help us even though there was no one in line behind us. Actually he was rude enough that we considered canceling the room and paying the fee to not stay at the hotel We came back later to check if our room was ready again we were treated like we were being a bother. Fortunately when we came back after 4pm there was different staff working and the service was better. The other staff members were all great including the housekeeping staff. I am glad we decided to stick it out, because the hotel was wonderful and we may give it another try next time we are in town

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelersfromIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and providing us with your comments on your recent stay with us. I am sorry that your initial contact with one of our team members was not to your satisfaction and it is an item that has been addressed. I am very delighted to hear, though, that you went on to have a great stay with us and that you were very pleased with our service. We look forward to providing you with great accommodations and service the next time travel brings you to San Diego!
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Room was tired but clean. Parking is cramped and limited. Staff was very cheerful and helpful. Location was perfect. I would stay here again with no qualms. Parking is the only real complaint I have. The parking slips are so narrow that you can't open the doors on newer cars if you are next to another car.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
1,993 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 278 in San Diego
897 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,161 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Property: Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing