We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Ranked #22 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Upscale beach hotel”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 days at the end of our 2 week southern California vacation. What a great spot. We had the partial ocean view which was just fine for sitting on the balcony and enjoying a morning cup of coffee. There's a Keurig in each room...wonderful touch! Also a decent size refrigerator and a microwave. Perfect if you are spending several days at the beach. No breakfast at the hotel but an easy walk over to World Famous or Woody's on the boardwalk will meet your breakfast needs. We also signed our two kids up for surfing lessons and the fact that they were right there in front of the hotel was a huge bonus. The beds were amazingly comfortable...best sleep of our entire trip! They are raised so make sure you check underneath for stray belongings when you leave. Also, we all stubbed our toes at least once so watch out for those edges. Yes, you have to pay $18 a day for parking but it's the beach. They could roll the parking charge into the room rate, but at least they give you the option of hunting for parking if you want. As another reviewer mentioned, if you are in the building with the lobby (further from the beach) you may have a room overlooking a parking lot and restrooms, along with your ocean view. It was actually kind of interesting watching people come and go and initially I was worried about noise, but it was no problem at all. My only 2 issues were the parking lot (VERY tight spots) and if you park under the overhang, you may get blocked in by housekeeping's laundry bins. The hotel very nicely puts pool towels in your room, however, on one occasion, housekeeping took our dirty wet towels and didn't bring us new ones. That was fine, but we went to the front desk to ask for some and they told us they would have housekeeping bring them. 30 minutes went by...no towels. I went back to the front desk and was told they were on their way. Another 20 minutes; I was ready to go back down to the lobby and I met the housekeeping person on my way. He had 2 towels (there were 4 in the room). I told him I needed 3 so he said he would go back downstairs and look for more...they were backed up in the laundry. I came downstairs with him...no more towels so he took me to the front desk where they pulled 2 more clean towels from under the counter and handed them to me. Not sure why they couldn't/wouldn't give them to us in the first place and I was unhappy that I sat in the room for almost an hour! Overall, however, a great spot and a good time. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cesejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
I am very pleased that our beds allowed you to have the best sleep of your entire trip! I am very sorry, though, for the inconveniences that were caused to you and your family as result of the beach towel issue. Our management team is acutely aware of this and we are working toward vastly improving the beach towel service we provide. Your comments are greatly valued and appreciated! Thank you for staying at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel.
Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    433
    124
    43
    26
See reviews for
609
442
72
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We booked a two queen bed room, partial view. We did have a partial view of the ocean, but had a full view of the public restroom and parking area. I would of rated this hotel at 4 to 5 star with a better view. The was excellent with regards to how nice and clean. The beds were very comfortable. The shower was great, especially if you are tall. The pool is heated. There is basically two different buildings with regards to views. Most of the king rooms are in the building along the beach. We were in the building behind the front building where most of the two bed rooms are located and this is where you get the partial view with. Location to the beach, water and restaurants was excellent. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rctaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
I am very happy to hear that you found our hotel nice and clean and that our staff was friendly. Our team takes great pride in delivering great service to our valued guests! Thank you for posting your comments and enjoy the rest of your summer!

Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack BC Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great location. Rooms clean and updated. Steps away from the beach. A bit pricey but the location is fabulous. We had king suite facing beach. Paid a-little extra but well worth it as with 2 teens we were able to spread out a bit and 2 baths was s blessing. Loved the view and great sunsets. All staff were very pleasant,kind and helpful. Would not second guess staying here again. Best little hotel we have ever stayed in. One of our best hotel experiences.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sdtrip4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruben G, General Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Wow! It brings me and my team great pride and joy when we are able to provide accommodations that elicit a “best hotel experience”! Thank you for those wonderful comments and we be more than happy have you stay with us again in a “heartbeat”!

Sincerely,
Ruben Garza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We took this trip specifically to go surfing for the first time. This hotel was the PERFECT location. Our surf lessons (with Pacific Surf School - excellent) were just steps from our ocean-view room. I could have thrown a towel at them from our balcony. The room was very clean and comfortable, the staff was very nice and helpful and the location just couldn't be better. There are plenty of good restaurants and pubs right next door and all along the boardwalk. The beach is wonderful, the pool area at the hotel was nice too. The hotel also has bike rental, so one day after surfing we rented bikes and rode up to La Jolla Cove.

We'll be going back, for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean-view rooms are expensive, but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberg, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

First of all let me state that we probably wouldn't have stayed here because of the cost, had we not been down for a wedding. That being said, this is a great location, being on Pacific Beach, within walking distance to restaurants and the beach. The check-in/out staff were friendly and efficient. The rooms were tastefully appointed. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a little inconvenient for two people to get in/out with the sink being at the door. Our tv reception for some reason was bad, but the movie channels seemed to be clear. Parking is at a premium in the whole area, so an additional fee of $18 per night per car is tacked on to your bill.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEnglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Newly renovated, oceanfront and close to restaurants makes it a perfect place for families! We got the king suite with rollout sofa and two bathrooms. Even a balcony for the suite area and bedroom. Way exceeded our expectations and would definitely come back here.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Aimee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Location is wonderful! Beach right outside, sand in your toes within seconds. Not all rooms have the beach view, unfortunantely ours faced the parking lot. Boo! Parking is $18.00!!!!!! And pretty much mandatory, finding parking on your own...not feasible. Rooms were clean, nicely decorated and beds comfortable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank lissafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,006 reviews
Ocean Park Inn
#29 of 278 in San Diego
1,046 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#8 of 278 in San Diego
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Surfer Beach Hotel
Surfer Beach Hotel
#97 of 278 in San Diego
673 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sea Beach Hotel

Property: Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Address: 707 Pacific Beach Drive, San Diego, CA 92109-5028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Beach , Pacific Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Diego
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#28 Business Hotel in San Diego
#63 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Sea Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pairing a beachfront location with newly renovated deluxe accommodations, the Blue Sea Beach Hotel knows a thing or two about vacationing. Whether you are traveling with family or flying solo, you'll appreciate our easy access to the Strand surfing and sunbathing and an assortment of iconic attractions and activities like the San Diego Zoo and the Gaslamp Quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Sea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Blue Sea Hotel San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing