We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,677)
Filter reviews
1,677 results
Traveller rating
1,000
464
136
48
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,000
464
136
48
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean front partial ocean view oceanfront room world famous restaurant pool area board walk within walking distance sound of the waves pool and hot tub mission beach balcony door perfect location underground parking first floor restaurants and bars front desk staff loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,677 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Conveniently located. Feet from the beach, blocks from great drinking and food. Wonderful ocean views from the pool area. We used the pool and hot tub nightly after hours on the beach. Great for all ages. Our kids took surfing lessons yards from our hotel (shout out to Pacific Beach Surf Shop - great people). The staff here is also very friendly. Parking is expensive but convenient. Fire pit advertised from 5 to 10 though rarely lit at five, closer to 6. Location, location, location. Pictures are from the pool area against the glass. We would return.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 60mikev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSeaGM, Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review! We are delighted you had a 5-star experience with us at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel- mentioning the staff and the great location. It is our pleasure and priority to help contribute to memorable experience like the one you had, we hope you can join us again and create even more great memories, we look forward to your next visit!

Thank you,
Nicholas Villalobos
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

I spent weeks wondering if it was worth the extra cost to be oceanfront for a few nights of our trip. I’m so glad we decided to stay here, we even added an additional Hey night. We stayed in a room facing the pool with a partial ocean view. It was the perfect spot with kids. The view is awesome! The boardwalk right outside your door is great too! In walking distance to so many restaurants and shops.

A few cons: there should be some sort of ventilation in the bathrooms and it would be awesome to be able to have the fire pit on earlier in the day when it’s chilly out! Parking is a little much at $24/night but we found public parking each day and didn’t end up using the lot.

We would def stay here again!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank MHL77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSeaGM, Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Wow! Thank you for such an amazing review and for mentioning our view from your room or pool area, our parking, and helpful staff, we appreciate it so very much. We are very glad you were recommended by a friend and that we did not disappoint. We cannot wait for your return either!

Thank you,
Nicholas Villalobos
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Loved the location of the Blue Sea Beach Hotel in San Diego, California. Beautiful, restful and close to a really good restaurant named World's Finest. Spent 4 nights in mid-September and had the best time. Close to La Jolla, which is also one of my favorite locations.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSeaGM, Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We appreciate you taking the time in writing us a review. We are happy you could view all the amazing locations that San Diego should offer. As you mentioned, we are perfectly located near many fine attractions. Please be sure to come back and visit us once again at the Blue Sea Beach Hotel.

Thank you,
Nicholas Villalobos
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2018

We booked an ocean front suite with 2 queen beds, a sitting room with a sofa bed and 2 full bathrooms! It had a small refrigerator, microwave, sink, and 2 small outdoor balconies! Our room looked out over a "boardwalk" (wide concrete sidewalk) and it was so much fun to sit outside and watch the walkers, bikers, scooter riders, and surfers. The pool area was really stunning with a gigantic painting on the building and beautiful furniture. The hotel is not brand new, and it is not a "chain"; but if you love a small boutique hotel in a great location, this is it! We appreciated the elevator and not having to climb steps with our luggage. The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. They sell a wide array of beverages in the lobby, but there is no pop machine. I got my diet Coke fix by walking a few blocks to Ralph's! The "World Famous" restaurant next door has the most delicious Lobster Benedict!

Room tip: Room 314 is a suite with 2 bathrooms and 2 balconies overlooking the ocean!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sailor0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSeaGM, Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review based on your recent stay. We are thrilled you had a 5-star experience - mentioning the wonderful location! It is our pleasure and greatest desire to be apart of memorable experiences. We hope you can join us again during your next visit to the San Diego/Pacific Beach area!

Thank you,
Nicholas Villalobos
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff is great and really helpful. The rooms were clean. Great location, right on the beach. Lots of restaurants nearby. Able to walk along the beach snd stop for food and/or a drink. Would definitely return.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank layla328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueSeaGM, Manager at Blue Sea Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review! We are thrilled you had a 5-star experience and mentioned the amazing views and great location. We look forward to seeing again in the soon.

Thank you,
Nicholas Villalobos
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews