We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Ranked #69 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 18 February 2013

One of the top 5 Best Westerns we've stayed at for sure. The room looked nicely decorated and the grounds were perfect for a stroll in the afternoon and evening. My family and I stay at many Best Westerns, but I don't have the desire to write about all of them unless they really impress or disappoint. I was impressed! The girl that checked us in recommended a nearby Mexican restaurant that was perfect! I forgot her name but hope she reads this. Thanks to Hacienda Hotel for a perfect time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mae-Sal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for the awesome review! It means a lot to hear you were impressed with our hotel and had a perfect stay! We appreciate your loyalty to Best Western!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,632 - 1,638 of 2,094 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

it was a great place to stay. 2 families in one two bedroom. it was 11 of us in all. 4 adults 2 teenagers 5 kids all in one room. We had 2 queen size beds and a couch bed and two roll out beds all in one room. The view was great. We are all the Shopping stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joe_garcia2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us a great rating! I am happy to hear your family had a comfortable visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

My family was very comfortable and the location is beautiful. We highly recommend the Best Western Hacienda, it's walking distance from Old Town San Diego, great for business or pleasure. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Olivia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for the wholehearted recommendation of Best Western PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town’s comfort, location and value! We look forward to providing another great deal for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This could have gone so much better but it didn't. The rooms were a little expensive but I figured they'd be great... my mistake. The room was tiny. It felt like it was an office that was converted into a hotel room. The closet didn't open because the nightstand was too big and in the way, they shower door hit the toilet when you opened it, the bathroom door and the shower door could be opened at the same time because of the size of the bathroom, the bed took up 2/3 of the room itself... I could list everything that went wrong but the end result was that the room was miniscule and the price was too high for it. Will I be back? Not likely.

Pay VERY close attention to the photos for the room as they are NOT what the rooms actually look like.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank Danyael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I was disappointed to read you stayed in a room that was uncomfortable for you. Please accept my apologies for any failure on the hotel’s end to anticipate your needs. I understand this is a personal preference and would love the opportunity to personally assist your room selection on your next visit to San Diego. We have several different room configurations so I am confident we can find a room you will be delighted with and find a great value for your lodging dollar. Feel free to contact me should you have any further concerns or additional comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

This is our first time staying at the Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel in Old Town. Great location since we could walk to each place we visited in Old Town, San Diego. We had a nice view of San Diego. I did not have any idea it would be a total of 112 steps up to our room. We really got a workout that day, as we spent the afternoon touring the USS Midway and climbed many, many stairs on it as well. If you have a fear of heights or cannot climb dozens of stairs up a steep hill, you might consider another location. After we reached the top of the hill, we looked back and enjoyed the view! We enjoyed a quiet night of sleep and ate a huge, delicious breakfast. I would really consider staying at this hotel again. Thank you everyone at the Hacienda Hotel for such a nice visit!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

You are most welcome! We appreciate you pointing out our famous views! Our hotel is built along a hillside that overlooks the surrounding area and designed to match the architectural charm of Old Town San Diego. We’re delighted to hear you slept well and enjoyed your breakfast at Acapulco Restaurant. We hope you do stay with us again! Feel free to call ahead if you would like to go over all your room options. Yes, we have several sets of stairs but seven of our eight buildings also have elevators. We are here to serve you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We always enjoy our stay at the Hacienda Hotel. We will probably return in a few years. The room was OK, but the TV position left something to be desired. The TV was difficult ot operate. But we did ok

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you for the excellent rating and letting us know you will return for a future visit! As a Best Western Traveler familiar with our hotel, you feedback is important. I will review your TV suggestions with our management team. We want to make sure we are maximizing the space in each room, so I appreciate it. Please let me know if there is anything I can assist you with on your return trip. And be sure to call ahead so we can welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank RUSSELL G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Old Town Inn
#9 of 286 in San Diego
1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#27 of 286 in San Diego
2,363 reviews
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#46 of 286 in San Diego
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Address: 4041 Harney St, San Diego, CA 92110-2866
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £83 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing