We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Romance in Old Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Ranked #75 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Thousand Palms
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New Romance in Old Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My husband and I went to Best Western Hacienda Hotel and Suites for our 15th Wedding Anniversary. We were given a top floor room with panoramic views of the city. How beautiful! The pool and Jacuzzi were very inviting and relaxing, too. The on-site restaurant, Acapulco, serves fabulous meals, and the on-site bar/lounge added more relaxation at the end of the night.
The Old Town Plaza offered great shopping experiences and we ended our evening with lobster and cocktails at Rockin' Baja Lobster, just a short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: A lot of levels in this hotel. Weak of heart or knees should request a lower level floor. But for fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1000PalmsCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us for your very special occasion. We feel honored you chose our hotel and delighted to hear your experience was a success! Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    622
    235
    107
    59
See reviews for
614
505
69
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor MI
Level Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

The hotel sprawls over several city blocks in kitschy oldtown. The staff is friendly, polite and helpful, but has trouble explaining how to get from one part of the hotel to another. Rooms come equipped with floor-to-ceiling windows, with wood shutters that one may either shutter completely so passers by can't see one in bed (leaving the room dark and gloomy) or open and invite other hotel guests to peer in. The bed was lumpy, and the bath towels were small, but the room had a welcome ceiling fan. Skip the restaurant, which has pretty terrible food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TokyoVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your candor. I am pleased to read your experience with our team was a warm one and I’ll be sure to work with them in regards to making sure each guest receives a hotel map with CLEAR directions. Before your next San Diego visit, please reach out directly through the hotel. I want our leadership team to manage your room location assignment in a personalized manner. Between our eight buildings, we have locations to suit most any preferences. Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed for a week to tour San Diego attractions. Loved being able to be within walking distance of a transit Center and the many shops, museums and restaurants of Old a Town. Hotel was clean & quiet . Beds and pillows very comfortable. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Staff friendly and helpful. - we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stay in building number 3 if you want to be near the pool, plaza and laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We look forward to welcoming you back again! Your many compliments are appreciated. I am especially glad to read you found the bed and bedding so comfortable. Great sleep is never overrated. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me if I can ever be of assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This was a great hotel to stay at just off the main road in Old Town San Diego. The front desk was great, check in and check out smooth and having the underground parking for our motorcycles was the most pleasant surprise.

Be prepared to walk a little up and down stairs but after the first couple of times, you know your building and can really enjoy the hotel. The views of the bay at night were marvelous and in the morning I watched some of the planes take off and the sight was great.

Easy walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in Old Town.

Room Tip: Building 7 is the farthest away but the views are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greatplacesnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for highlighting our views, service, parking and convenient location as reasons you rated your stay at 5 stars! We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay. The service and the room were excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Hotel restaurant had and excellent breakfast buffet. Everything in Old Town was within walking distance, and it was refreshing to take evening walks around town. I highly recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethp352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for recommending the Best Western PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town! We sincerely appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Hotel was nice and in a nice location. Nice and Clean, just watch out on check out!! they make you pay $7.00 for bottled water that you don't use and breakfast tickets whether you use them or not. Our bill went from $139.00 for one night to $170.00 next morning at checkout. I am a Bestwestern Diamond with over 72000 points.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Traintravel58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your review. Please accept my apology for any confusion you experienced at the front desk. This must have been very frustrating. We aim to be transparent with regards to all hotel policies and fees. Our resort fee is $7.00 per day which includes two bottles of water daily, a daily newspaper, the in-room safe, morning complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby, airport transportation and a free margarita coupon for the Old Town Tequila Factory. If you still have questions regarding your final bill, we would be happy to work with you directly. Please reach out to Dean (our Front Desk Manager) or myself through the hotel and we would be happy to work with you. Thank you again for giving us this opportunity to meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel was nice, just a little dated on the amenities. the breakfast buffet was a good spread with several options and and the choice of free dinner entree or $ off a regular menu items was nice. The location is a quick walk to the Old Town section of San Diego, which was full of restaraunts and shops.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for the compliments of our cuisine at the Old Town Tequila Factory. Since opening the restaurant a few months ago, we have been getting great feedback. We sincerely enjoyed having you as our guest and look forward to providing another great hospitality experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#20 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard San Diego Old Town
#121 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing