We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge room, clean, great location, lots of steps to reach rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Ranked #75 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Huge room, clean, great location, lots of steps to reach rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Great location in Old Town. Lots of Mexican restaurants including the hotel one, not much variety. Have to cab or transit into New Town for other food. Hotel is built on a hillside with different buildings, there are elevators but also lots of steps to reach rooms. May be difficult to access for some people. Room was huge, clean, a bit dated. Usual BW room amenities like fridge, microwave & coffee maker, 2 bottles of water provided each day. I was there as part of a group and the rate was very reasonable, including parking and breakfast. Breakfast better than normal, especially for the price, including eggs, potatoes, sausages, etc, waffles, fruit, cereals, baked goods etc. Only dislike was noise from emptying adjacent restaurant dumpsters at 6 am.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking adjacent restaurant because of dumpster noise early in morning. If you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for staying with us! Your details are sure to help others planning travel this way. We hope to welcome your group back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    634
    241
    111
    63
See reviews for
636
515
71
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I am very please to give my recommendation to this hotel. I stayed in room 208. This room has a king size bed, refrigerator, and microwave. You can over see the Old Town restaurants and planes leaving into the San Diego skyline from the airport. It has a fantastic restaurant attached to the site. My wife found the special on Bookit.com. The package includes free breakfast, parking, and Wi-Fi.
Be aware the restroom is small, my wife ended up using the sitting area for her make up use and such.
This is a no smoking in room. I wish they could make the whole facility none smoking. When I was sitting on the balcony, the people next door were smoking and I went inside to get away from their nasty habit.
Overall the bed was nice. They have a pay per view options, and an Aux port for your smart phones. This place is a great stay !!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 208
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review and photos! We have over 200 traveler photos of the property now on TripAdvisor. We are honored to be your favorite home away from home in San Diego! Come and stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel was centrally located to everything, so no need for a car. Jesus and staff was wonderful! I would have given this hotel 5 stars, but discovered the room to be less desired. It's very dated! The interior is in need of desperate updating. It was a urine smell throughout the room, which more than likely came from the carpet and couch. Also, the rooms had complimentary coffee, but noticed on one of the cups a woman's pink lipstick was on one of them. I would probably stay here again, but request a newer room. Now, looking at the reviews; I see that the hotel does have a few remodeled rooms, so will request next time.

Room Tip: Request for a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cacper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the 4-stars despite the discomfort with your room. We would like to follow up and make repairs to that particular room if needed. If you are willing, please contact Dean (our Assistant Front Office Manager) at dean@haciendahotel-oldtown.com and reference this review. We welcome any further comments you may have or issues you would like to discuss. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel was beautiful and the staff awesome! The location was across the street from old town and the trolley tours which take you almost everywhere. The MTS light rail train is just beyond Old town which can also take you anywhere.
The view from my room was fabulous and the room service was perfect!! The front deck staff, especially Jesus, was incredibly helpful and resourceful. I couldn't have asked for a better vacation

Room Tip: I arrived at 9 in the morning but they still let me check in, and I went ahead and requested a top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Your photos capture the hotel’s gardens beautifully! Thank you for posting them along with your review. Jesus will be sure to get the recognition he deserves for helping make your stay memorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, CA, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Aside from the fact that you can hear the planes taking off early in the morning, I love this hotel. Great location in Old Town, clean rooms, very beautiful well-kept grounds, nice people. I would recommend this place, and will likely stay here again! Great if youre visiting The Whaley House!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Adrienne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have been staying at this hotel whenever we visit San Diego for years, and it never disappoints. It's in the middle of Old Town, but the Trolley to downtown is just a short walk away. I strongly recommend the Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for this strong recommendation. We have sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I chose to stay in Old Town because I really love small/old towns, and the fact that it is easier to explore by walking. We arrived at San Diego/santa fe depot via amtrak from LA Union station, then took the metrolink/greenline to go to Old Town. The BW Hacienda has a nice, safe and convenient location. It was 3-4 blocks or 8-10minute walk from the Old Town Transit Center. If you are carrying heavy luggagge, it's best to call the hotel beforehand to arrange your free shuttle/pick up at the station. There are many nice restaurants,bars and shops nearby. Just one block or a minute walk is the Old Town Trolley Tours where you can get the hop on/off tickets to explore the city. Check in and out was smooth. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The Old Tequila Factory resto serves buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our room was in building 5, which was a little bit confusing to find so make sure to listen to the instruction on how to get to your room easily. The room and bathroom were clean with basic amenities. It has a coffeemaker, tv,microwave and fridge. Bottled water were provided too. View from the hotel is breathtaking and very relaxing. There are vending machines in designated areas. Guest laundry is available too. The pool is nice, most of the time crowded but okay. We really enjoyed our 4-day stay and for the rate/price that we got, it was all worth it! I recommend this place to single persons who wants some peace and quiet, a weekend getaway for couples or just family bondings. Will definitely choose this BW again next time!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BinLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Fantastic! We love when guests come to the hotel by rail. Unlike a lot of destinations in the city, Old Town is a great area to explore and get around without a car. Your details about hotel amenities are also welcome. We designed the property to combine the functionality of amenities guests value most with the Spanish charm of Old Town. We’re glad you enjoyed it! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing