We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Ranked #70 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Good location in Old Town, walking distance to main street with restaurants and souvenir shops and very close to many historic sites. Hotel itself is different - built in the mode of haciendas with common walkways outside the rooms in the various buildings - we counted 7 buildings in all. It took a few days to get used to the layout with the elevators tucked away and lots of stairs and steps, we are glad we didn't have to carry luggage to/from our room. Picturesque hotel for sure, large rooms well equipped, quiet. The restaurant in the hotel was called Tequila Factory and buffet breakfast was included in our stay, this was the most disappointing part of our stay - cold food, disinterested staff, we even had to search for cutlery. Having a nice restaurant would have changed our rating to excellent.

Room Tip: If you are older and/or have mobility issues, this may not be the hotel for you, due to the amount o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank invue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Cool photos! Thanks for adding to our collection! Your compliments and feedback are always welcome. We hope you join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 2,061 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Most of the time the people at the front desk are rude,there is a big change over with employees at that position,they had a couple of nice girls before.but they are long gone,they double charged me last time,it was thru inexperience,besides the desk it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

: I’m glad your impressions at the front desk this time did not dampen your overall satisfaction. Please don’t hesitate to personally reach out to Dean Featherstone (Asst. Front Office Manager) or myself if you ever have a problem in the future. We want you to have a warm and welcoming stay each and every time you are here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Right in the middle of Old Town, this is a good jumping off spot for visiting San Diego. The staff was friendly and available. We suffered a bit from noisy neighbors, and the management said they would be very observant in the future. Parking at their facility is fairly spendy, but street parking is out of the question, so go for it.

Room Tip: Suggest top floors for quiet. There are many buildings to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry_in_Issaquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Our hotel makes a great home away from home in San Diego. You nailed it! Before your next stay, call ahead if you would like to go over parking and transportation options! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and really enjoyed this place. As with any hotel there are good and bad points. I will give you the negatives first:

For a hotel this size the pool is small but nice.

It is close enough to the airport that you can still here some planes, although this was not a problem for us. It did not keep me awake at night.

They charge both a parking fee and a resort fee.

Now for the positives:

Our room was beautiful with nice high ceilings. The air conditioning was good but a bit uneven. Some parts of the room were colder than others. The beds were very comfortable. We also really liked the wood shutters and the ceiling fan.

The grounds of this hotel are gorgeous! Although the layout maybe a bit confusing for first timers.
Rooms also have a nice sitting area outside with a table and chairs.

The location is right in the middle of Old Town San Diego with lots of good restaurants nearby. We did not eat in the hotel. For breakfast we went to O'Hungrys (1 block away) and had the $2.99 egg special which was pretty good. Also had the rib special there for dinner which wasn't bad for $6.00. Food here was less expensive than in our hotel.

Overall I loved this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnB00007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I’m glad to read you were comfortable in your bed and reasonably satisfied with all the aspects of your stay. Our maintenance team checks the A/C units for servicing before heading into summer. I will put this review on his radar. We want to do everything in our power to earn that fifth star on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel property was very confusing and the parking tight. The staff was nice, the rooms clean but the service was somewhat lacking for the almost 200/night that I paid. It was Cinco de Mayo and all streets were blocked in and around Old Town. This hotel had a good location from which to venture out into the street fair. It was reasonably quiet even though the fair was occurring right down the block.

Room Tip: Depends on where you want to be. A series of buildings snuggled together in a maze of pathways. Go o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

We appreciate your comments. Look for specials on our hotel’s website throughout the year. Booking direct is always favorable. We have several different room configurations to offer, each priced differently. And feel free to call ahead so we can welcome you back or assist you with your reservation options. We can also help with activities, dining and transportation choices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed here for three days and two nights to celebrate Mothers Day weekend. I love this hotel so much because it feels like you are out of the country. Each room is spacious. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. Though the area seems small, the hotel was very helpful in assisting us in parking 2 oversize vehicles. It is located at the top of Old Town, San Diego. It has a great view of the city and it offers easy access to local restaurants , shops and nightlife. You are only 15 minutes to Sea World or the Gaslamp District. It is the only hotel that I enjoy staying at when I go to San Diego. I am already looking forward to going back again very soon.

Room Tip: I enjoy staying in any room at any level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for the wholehearted recommendation! We hope to see you and your granddaughter again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is located in Old Towne which is historic and fun. The food is great, service is all about you. Recommend for a weekend or for a business trip, easy access to freeways. My granddaughter tagged along and we had fun after I concluded business.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you for the wholehearted recommendation! We hope to see you and your granddaughter again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#9 of 278 in San Diego
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Address: 4041 Harney St, San Diego, CA 92110-2866
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £84 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing