We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST Location in Old Town- San Diego, CA.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Ranked #70 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
El Centro,
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BEST Location in Old Town- San Diego, CA.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I would like to thank Dean for letting us check in early. We were scheduled to stay at the Courtyard Marriott for 3 days for the Memorial Day weekend. Well we got a surprise when they slipped our bill under our door for only two nights. I called the front desk, and they notified us that they only had us down for 2 nights and that they were now sold out. So lucky I called the Best Western Pus Hacienda in Old Town. We were able to check in early like at noon. We had a truck and really had not place to store our stuff. So thank God for Dean to the rescue. We stayed in room 806 this is the perfect location right above the parking structure. It is located walking distance to everything In Old Town. We will stay here again and ask to try to stay in this same room or in the 800 building were this room was located. Thanks Dean for all your help :-)..

Room Tip: Building 800 all rooms are walking distance to Old Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravlerElCentro_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We’ll pass along your gratitude to Dean. Thank you for sharing this experience and for choosing to stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    756
    654
    245
    113
    63
See reviews for
658
533
71
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

it's a nice hotel in a wonderful location. Almost a month later i have received no request for an evaluation of my stay; that alone tells me something. Personnel ranged from nice, helpful (most of them) to borderline rude. The housekeeping was casual, to put it mildly, and I saw no evidence of supervision. Overall, I sensed an attitude of 'what we can't do for you' than 'what we can do.'

Room Tip: Some rooms have a magnificent view. I was put in the closest unit, which maybe was more convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Wow. We do send out surveys (via the reservation email address) to each guest so I am concerned you did not receive one. Thank you for putting that on my radar. If you would like to discuss your stay in further detail with our leadership team, please feel free to reach out to Dean Featherstone (Asst. Front Office Manager) or myself through the hotel. We want what you want, which means we strive for each guest to have a great experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

As you'd expect in "Old Town," this isn't the newest hotel, but even though it's tired in some spots, this hotel, with its vintage California style, is pretty clean and welcoming. Staff was kind and helpful to me. And it's right in the heart of a funky SoCal tourist district. The first thing you have to know about this place is that it's built on a hill, and a map really helps with navigating the place. You'll likely do elevators and stairs getting around. It's an adventure, and parking can be interesting. One thing that was completely modern was the TV remote, which is claimed to be sparkling clean, in its own fresh cardboard holster, not just lying around. Seems like a sealed design and maybe they can put them in a dishwasher. A rather nice feature for hypochondriacs as those remotes can be pretty filthy. Speaking of TVs, you can hear the sound from other rooms, so you might want to pull out those earplugs that you should always pack when traveling. As for location, it's very close to the airport and downtown and much of what San Diego offers. If you plan on coming here, expect a classic '60s/'70s experience, mostly better for tourists, not business types.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, try to ask for a room that's easy to reach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TVH350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your comments and recommendation. We hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I really wanted to stay at this hotel because it looked nice. It is extremely well decorated. The issue was beyond the surface. I paid for parking but there were no spots. I ended up parking on the street. The room was noisy. I could hear the rooms next to me and whenever the water turned on in a different place I could hear the pipes working.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Amir J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for pointing out the charming style of the Best Western PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town! It sounds like parking and the room noise dampened your enjoyment though. Please feel free to reach out to me at the hotel if another stay in San Diego is in your plans. I would like to make sure your expectations will be exceeded. Parking availability is hardly ever an issue and we can put you in a room location more suited to your preferences. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Good location in Old Town, walking distance to main street with restaurants and souvenir shops and very close to many historic sites. Hotel itself is different - built in the mode of haciendas with common walkways outside the rooms in the various buildings - we counted 7 buildings in all. It took a few days to get used to the layout with the elevators tucked away and lots of stairs and steps, we are glad we didn't have to carry luggage to/from our room. Picturesque hotel for sure, large rooms well equipped, quiet. The restaurant in the hotel was called Tequila Factory and buffet breakfast was included in our stay, this was the most disappointing part of our stay - cold food, disinterested staff, we even had to search for cutlery. Having a nice restaurant would have changed our rating to excellent.

Room Tip: If you are older and/or have mobility issues, this may not be the hotel for you, due to the amount o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank invue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Cool photos! Thanks for adding to our collection! Your compliments and feedback are always welcome. We hope you join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Most of the time the people at the front desk are rude,there is a big change over with employees at that position,they had a couple of nice girls before.but they are long gone,they double charged me last time,it was thru inexperience,besides the desk it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
: I’m glad your impressions at the front desk this time did not dampen your overall satisfaction. Please don’t hesitate to personally reach out to Dean Featherstone (Asst. Front Office Manager) or myself if you ever have a problem in the future. We want you to have a warm and welcoming stay each and every time you are here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Right in the middle of Old Town, this is a good jumping off spot for visiting San Diego. The staff was friendly and available. We suffered a bit from noisy neighbors, and the management said they would be very observant in the future. Parking at their facility is fairly spendy, but street parking is out of the question, so go for it.

Room Tip: Suggest top floors for quiet. There are many buildings to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry_in_Issaquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Our hotel makes a great home away from home in San Diego. You nailed it! Before your next stay, call ahead if you would like to go over parking and transportation options! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
1,838 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Property: Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing