We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“California Mexican at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Ranked #79 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
San Mateo, California
1 review
“California Mexican at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My family stayed at the Best Western Hacienda Hotel in Old Town. We had such a great time!
Old Town is within walking distance, much to see and do. Great restaurants to walk to.
The hotel was like living in a California Hacienda but built against the mountain. Many levels, but very nice. My room was pretty roomy with 2 queens and a pull out twin bed couch.
There was a Microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. There was also a separate
2nd sink outside of the bathroom which was super nice!. Our rooms had a great balcony and was able to see the Sea World's fireworks at nite. Their Tequila Restaurant had a wonderful view of it as well. They have outside area with fire pits. Their margaritas are just wonderful. The food was great!
We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the entrance of the hotel are larger and have the fireworks view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks for highlighting the amenities, beauty and views as reasons for your satisfaction. The Old Town Tequila Factory team will enjoy hearing you loved the margaritas there as well. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    610
    227
    105
    58
See reviews for
600
491
68
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The rooms are great, the sevice is the best, the location in Old Town gets you close to a lot of dining and entertainment options and it is easy to get anywhere in San Diego. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank WillFam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
This is the perfect place to stay in San Diego. Old Town is very centrally located and the train, trolley and our complimentary hotel shuttle make getting around easy. Thanks for saying it all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myplace
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Such old world charm! Spacious room above the swimming pool with private balcony. Great view of the Point Loma and city lights. Great service at the desk, thank you, Jesus, for being so helpful with choosing a room. I will definitely be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasandia3278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank YOU for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your return. I will pass along your compliments to Jesus. Look for specials here on TripAdvisor or our hotel’s website. Please be sure to call ahead so we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menifee0, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My recent stay at the San Diego location resulted in probably 3 hours of sleep. We stayed in room 700 and the wall AC unit was so noisy! It clicked on and off all night and would startle me awake. The bathroom light motion detector kept clicking on then off and back on all night. And the one time I actually was able to sleep the alarm clock started blaring music at 3:30am. Being half asleep, I tried to unplug the clock, because I couldn’t figure out how to turn it off and then it started to make a beeping noise until I plugged it back in. I complained to the front desk upon check-out and I received No apology, just a “We will let maintenance know” comment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Gerrelle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
I can understand your frustration. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the staff. Our A/C units can sometimes cycle if a window or door is left open but the other issues you mentioned are rare. Thank you for bringing my attention to these. Will your travels bring you this way again? If so please contact me through the hotel. I would like our leadership team to manager your reservation in a personalized manner to ensure you have a more restful and satisfying stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We go to San Diego all the time and usually stay at Hotel Circle. Never again. The Hacienda is a charming hotel just above San Diego Avenue--walking distance to all of Old Town with several access points back to the property. The rooms have a Spanish flair, and if you don't have a balcony, you have a table and chairs on the patio outside your room. We enjoyed afternoon drinks and morning coffee under the palm trees. The hotel is multiple levels connected by stairs and elevators. Just beautiful.

The pool is adequate. The hot tub was not hot at all, but it is summertime. We received complimentary drinks upon check in. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Really, the walk ability is what makes this hotel such a gem. Old Town is a destination all by itself, so to be able to walk out the door and down the stairs to excellent food and shopping--and a few blocks walk to the trolley--make the Hacienda a steal.

Room Tip: If you are handicapped or need accessibility, ask for a room on the pool level near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msjen141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
The hotels at Hotel Circle didn’t have a chance. Thanks for letting us know we won your loyalty! It’s a great compliment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stay a very enjoyable week at this hotel, as others have stated, it is a beautiful hotel and grounds. We stayed in building #8 right next to the office building. Although there was no sofa in these rooms, they are very nice.
Upon checking in, the desk clerk was very accommodating and told us that if we did not like our room to let her know and she would find us another.

Our room had a high ceiling, two vanities/sinks, lots of mirrors, 2 wonderful queen beds and linens and towels, microwave, coffee maker, fridge, hair dryer and chairs and table in front of the room on the walkway/patio. There was no noise from the outside and very very clean. We had a rent car and never had a problem parking.

Things that could be improved.....at times,the water pressure in bath was not the greatest and at times the shower was only warm. There was no facial tissue and not enough hooks or towel racks on the wall. Two days the maid was late (4:30 pm) cleaning our room.

We found the restaurant there very good and very convenient, we ate there everyday, I've written a review on it also.

We walked through the plaza section of the hotel to get to the restaurant and if I ever get to go back to San Diego, I think I'd prefer one of those rooms as it is close to the restaurant and has a lovely courtyard to visit with other guest.

Overall I loved this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texasgran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are delighted to read that you were able to use and enjoy the room, hotel amenities and The Old Town Tequila Factory. Our patios are always appreciated by guests as great places to socialize and unwind. Thank you for sharing your valued feedback, positive or otherwise. We greatly appreciate your warm acknowledgments of our front desk staff as well. We were glad we had the opportunity to welcome you to the Best Western PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town and we hope we'll have the chance to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, CA, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The rooms are worn out looking. Carpet is very dirty and sinks don't drain. Furniture needs to be replaced. Couch is dirty and sinks. Wood furniture is dinged up and looks like it is ready for the thrift store.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for your candid comments regarding your stay with us. We admire your attention to the details, as they can make all the difference, and appreciate you bringing these room features to our attention so we can work to improve them. We trust you find Old Town to be a more inspiring and unique backdrop than other locations and hope you will consider staying with us again the next time business or pleasure brings you to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Old Town Inn
#22 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard San Diego Old Town
#120 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing