We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay for SDCC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Ranked #72 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
victoria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great place to stay for SDCC”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here for san diego comic con for the third year in a row. It just can't be beat for price, location, and convenience. It's just a few minutes from the trolley that takes you to downtown San Diego, the conference center, Gaslamp district etc. Saves you from the madness and high prices of hotels downtown when the comic con is in town. The restaurant in the hotel is good too, I enjoyed the Mexican food there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank litetraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Welcome back! We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and are delighted to hear everything, including the food at our new restaurant the Old Town Tequila Factory, was excellent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    650
    241
    112
    63
See reviews for
646
526
71
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Love this little gem. Check in was quick and efficient. We found street parking so need for the extra parking cost. The rooms were clean and nicely done. Having the sofa bed always helps. The bed and pillows are excellent and the bathroom had everything we needed. We would and plan to stay here again. Great value for the money. We did have a noisy fridge but it was on and off and I am sure if we had reported the issue it would have gotten switched out but we were only there for the night and heard it very late. It is very easy to move around SD with the trolley just a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Julsinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thanks for staying with us during comicon. We appreciate the kudos on check-in, cleanliness and value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Co. Kildare
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Really enjoyed the location of this Hotel - just a short walk to lovely old world streets and nice shopping. Staff at reception were very kind and helpful. The location of rooms - spread out and a three levels and the higher up -the better the view! Very well appointed bedroom which ticked all the boxes. The restaurant a number of times - proved to be a great choice and good value as well. Free internet terminal at reception - nice one! Stayed 3 nights and would highly recommend. (Retired & travel a lot)
Tom k, Naas

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for the recommendation. We are here to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was a business trip. I was tired and hungry and just wanted to get to my room and was hoping it was a descent room but I was so pleasantly surprised that I want to return to the Hacienda just to experience it again. I loved my room, it was so clean, smell great, enjoyed the restaurant, the layout of the Hacienda...magnificent, the Old Town San Diego so close by. Also I love plants and I absolutely loved all the plants - everywhere and they were taken care of. I want to come back with my husband so we can enjoy the Hacienda Hotel in San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I will let our landscape team know their work was appreciated. It is our rooms, service and garden like setting that brings guests like you back again and again for work or leisure. Please let me know if you ever need any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We recently atended a family reunion in San Diego and rented 3 rooms at this hotel. We had stayed there previously and enjoyed the location and view. The hotel filled our needs and were very attentive. Noteworthy was the customer service by Emily and the front desk staff. We had cribs placed in two rooms for our granddaughters. The rooms were clean, well appointed and large. We had a large balcony in front of our rooms which we used for gathering the family. One suggestion for the hotel is to have one of the units like Bldg. 300 be declared a no smoking zone. The rooms were non smoking but the tables on the balcony had ashtrays. This is bad since I suffer from COPD and am very allergic to second hand smoke. Otherwise our stay was very pleasant. Thank you BW staff and management for making our stay a very memorable stay.

Room Tip: Bldg. 600 has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MannyinFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us again and posting this excellent review! Your suggestions are being considered as well. We want all guests to have a perfect experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Family and I stayed 2 nights and had a great time. Staff was friendly and helpful, grounds were immaculate and well looked after. Our room, albeit on the small side (for my preference), was comfy and clean, was in the "800" building, somewhat separate from the rest of the complex. That was fine as my sons and I enjoyed wandering about through various corridors, and plazas, discovering a fountain here, a fresco there. Our building was close to the Tequila Factory restaurant (partnered w/ BWHOT), which made walking to the complimentary (w/ our particular booking) breakfast a nice uphill walk to start the day. (Breakfast was good also. Nothing fancy.. Nice outside patio w/ great view too) Turns out, there's an elevator which runs from the restaurant back in to the hotel grounds, and dumps out on the 3rd floor if I remember correctly. As noted, this place is sprawling over a hillside and has numerous levels. When we go back, we'll request a room on the "300" building I think. It seemed to have larger accommodations available and also great views facing out onto the city and/or bay. Lemme' say this about the location; in visiting SD over 30 years, I'd only visited Old Town maybe once for dinner w/ a family friend. I had no idea there was as much to do as there is.. Our sons enjoyed panning for gold and viewing fossils in the mineral shop. They made (dyed anyhow) their own candles at the candle shop, watched a blacksmith do his thing at the forge. Heck, they had a great time just climbing on the huge, old trees in the "park" closed to vehicle traffic, in the middle of all the retail, and dining options. We agreed we could've easily spent another 2 nights there just to discover all Old Town has to offer. Getting to any of the beaches was simple and quick too, as the location is central to all of the coast points, and downtown too.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daniel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Old Town makes a fantastic San Diego home base for this very reason. There is so much to do and see all within walking distance of the Best Western PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town. Thanks for these excellent tips for travelers and families!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Martin, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I felt like I was at a resort, but our room was very disappointing:( it was next to garbage pick up! Every morning I was awoke to loud garbage truck! 4:39,5:30 7::00 we stayed 3 nights? Our room very dated and small:( walked to see if other rooms were nicer, they were! So u might get a nicer one? Was not worth the cost!:(

Room Tip: Walk around to view them if possible?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations! Please reach out to Dean Featherstone (our Asst. Front Office Manager) or myself so we can help you choose the best room for your travel needs. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#21 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Property: Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing