We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with excellent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Ranked #67 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
San Diego, United States
1 review
“Very nice hotel with excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Loved the atmosphere of this hotel and outside area. Restaurant and Bar would really nice and good food. Breakfast was very good large buffet with many choices. Close to Old San Diego area -walking distance. Took metro train to Gaslight district. Enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bekie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Great comments! Thanks for the positive feedback of our new restaurant, The Old Town Tequila Factory, our grounds and location. For those planning travel, we’d like to add that when you book direct, you receive complimentary breakfast and a welcome margarita. The restaurant is connected to the hotel and features the same panoramic views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    675
    254
    119
    65
See reviews for
704
545
73
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I've stayed at this hotel twice over the past two years and both experiences were very good. This is a straight-forward hotel, a nice clean place to hang your hat. It is in a neat area (Olde Towne) that anyone staying in San Diego should consider. I went here first with my wife, then with some friends. There is a nice little mexican restaurant within the hotel that has a friendly staff, nice out door seating area, and awesome margharitas. We walked every morning to O'Hungry's for their $2.99 breakfast of eggs, bacon, and hashbrowns. There are a lot of restaurants all within a 5 minute walk in a very cool little part of town. It's super accessible to the highway and you can be in downtown San Diego in 10 minutes easily.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picky_Traveler_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for choosing the Best Western PLUS Hacienda Hotel Old Town as your place to stay while in San Diego!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I've been staying at the Hacienda at least once a year since 2007. I haven't always been completely satisfied with my room (they vary in size, layout, view, etc.), but I've never had a complaint about the service I've received, and there's no beating the location of the hotel, or the physical beauty of its setting in the center of Old Town. It's no more than a block to the Heritage Park, the state park and the Old Town shops and attractions. The Old Town Transit Center is within walking distance, for connections all around the region via bus, Amtrak trains and the Trolley. Get on their mailing list for occasional discounts...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank joen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Great review highlighting our outstanding location near all the sights, sounds and smells of Old Town! We appreciate your longtime loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The room was very large, we were lucky enough to be booked on the top floor so we had vaulted ceilings. The location was amazing, right up the street from the Whaley House and all the restaurants in Old Town San Diego. We were here for Comic-Con and it was very convenient for our needs, just a short walk to the trolley station and away from all the crazy rush of people in downtown. We will defiantly try to book here for next year Comic-Con…if I can get tickets to go again! :)

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor, it's the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ana_zuniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us! Don’t hesitate to let me know if you ever need assistance for a reservation or during your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The location of this hotel allows a convenient stroll into "Old Town" San Diego. The influence of Mexican charm was everywhere with wonderful Mexican restaurants and apparel. At night, the town was alive with food, drink, music and folks walking around enjoying evening street venders. The haunted Whaley House, evening ghost tour, was a treat of spooky fun and told the history of a family that relocated there the 1850.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We’re glad you found so much enjoyment staying with us and strolling around Old Town. Thanks for leaving this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgecrest, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel was very clean and comfortable. It's also in the center of all the action of Old Town San Diego. All the best restaurants, bars and shopping are all within walking distance. The Tequila Factory restaurant on site was delicious. The entire hotel staff was friendly and professional. I don't think you'll be dissatisfied with your stay at this property.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for recommending our hotel to travelers here on TripAdvisor and mentioning our new on-site restaurant The Old Town Tequila Factory!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed at the Best Western Hacienda in Old Town San Diego for two nights in early August. We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel as it impressed us as being a "cut above" your typical Best Western. The hotel had character, excellent service, friendly staff, and was very clean and well maintained. were given certificates for welcome margaritas upon our arrival and went to the restaurant attached to the hotel and enjoyed the view - quite spectacular! The hotel is barely a 1/2 block from the main street in Old Town and everything you want to see in this area is within just a few minutes walk.
We were in room 703, right behind the lobby, in the lowest part of the hotel. The entire hotel stair-steps up the hill and overlooks San Diego. The higher up you are, the better the view. The first floor of the 700 wing, where our room was, was a little buried at the bottom it felt, and our room was rather dark. It backed up to a parking lot and trucks started unloading into that lot quite early in the morning so the noise was a bit annoying. The room itself was fine, pretty small to be called a "suite" I thought but it was adequate for the three of us. The pull-out couch that my son slept on was very comfortable.
All in all I thought that this hotel was fair for the price - we payed $203 for both nights. We'll stay there again if we ever need to be in San Diego.

Room Tip: Avoid the 700 wing...it's the lowest wing on the property and feels a bit "buried" at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anitathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryanaguinaldo, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for giving us your two enthusiastic thumbs up! We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed the charm and character of the hotel, friendly staff and welcome margarita. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Kings Inn San Diego
Kings Inn San Diego
#33 of 278 in San Diego
2,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Property: Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town 2.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing