We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Ranked #71 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Elko, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location, great staff”
Reviewed 26 September 2010

This is an older hotel and the rooms were not so clean, but it was affordable and in a great location. WIthin walking distance of Old Town and a short drive to downtown. I had originally reserved a queen standard, but the front desk clerk talked me into a jacuzzi suite. The jacuzzi was nice, but the floors were dirty and there were items in the cupboards left over from previous travelers. However, the staff was very friendly and free breakfast was very good. They had yogurt, make your own waffles, fresh fruit, cereal and muffins and pastries. There was also a very clean laundry room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesliJ1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    741
    650
    241
    112
    63
See reviews for
646
526
71
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Stay at this hotel for a military reuion, the gifts I bought for my girlfriend were gone. Complained to hotel manager but was not taken seriously. Be very careful of what you leave in your room.Opt for no maid service unless you are in the room.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baseman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
la verne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Room was small . I could hear people talking at 3:00 am could not sleep . I FORGOT MY 200 DOLLAR SUN GLASSES IN THE ROOM , We are 100% positive they were in the room . when i called at 9:15 am they went to my room and they said there is no glasses THEY KEPT MY GLASSES .... To them its no big deal......

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vidal51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

My company booked me at the Best Western Hacienda Hotel in Old Town on a recent business trip and I left very satisfied. I travel a lot for work, and often I stay at Best Western properties. They vary in quality from excellent to awful. This hotel is much closer to excellent.

I can't say enough about the location. You walk down the hill from the hotel and you are in the heart of Old Town San Diego, which has tons of restaurants, shopping, bars, and tourist friendly establishments. If you are visiting other parts of San Diego, you'll need a car which you can park in their garage for $12 per day. If you are just staying in Old Town, you won't need a car because everything is within walking distance. Several reviewers have commented about being forced to find parking on the street but this was not the case for me. My company specifically requested that parking and breakfast be included in my charges and there were ample parking spots in the hotel garage.

I had never stayed in an establishment quite like this one. It was clearly designed for tourists in mind (consider where it was located). As a business traveller, there are a few things I look for in a hotel--internet service, breakfast, iron & ironing board, etc. The hotel had wife-hotspots in the courtyard, but it seems that almost every room faced the courtyard so I always got a pretty good signal. Breakfast was served at O'Hungry's around the corner. While it would've been nice to have breakfast served in the hotel itself, I'm sure if someone were on vacation this would not be a major imposition.

The room was nice and comfortable. The bed was soft and I slept well every night.

The only two issues I had were the loud and unruly people staying at the hotel and the tiny little bathroom shower and sink. First of all, I understand that it is primarily a tourist hotel. However, even at a tourist hotel they should be required to keep the noise level to a minimum after midnight. At least two nights while I was there, I had trouble sleeping due to the loud conversations taking place in the courtyard outside my room. Second, it may be a result of asking for a single room but the bathroom sink and shower area were extremely small. I'm not a large man, but I was constantly bumping into the sides of the shower each morning.

Overall, I was very impressed. While the hotel is more conducive to pleasure than business, I'd definitely return to this property when I return to the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weary_traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

This is a great hotel complex on a hillside with lovely courtyards and fountains. With multiple buildings stepping up the hillside, it is easy to get lost in the quaint planted courtyards if you don't pay attention. The rooms are basic with a comfy bed and a character befitting the California Mission style of the complex. And the walking distance proximity to Old Town is ideal. The hotel restaurant lacks prompt service. But, luckily there are plenty of higher quality restaurants nearby in Old Town. I was pleased to see recycling bins in the rooms. However, their shower product bottles were not recyclable, indicating a serious lack of basic corporate environmental responsibility. Additionally, I was not able to connect to the high speed internet either in the room or by Wi-Fi in the courtyard. But I didn't feel like calling the front desk to resolve the problem. So, I suppose I shouldn't hold it against them.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDBonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

The Front Desk staff was so horrible at check-in and prior to our arrival, that we checked out early. Which you have to be careful of, because they don't tell you when you check-in that there is an early departure fee of $75. The best part about our stay was the wonderful waitress at the off-site restaurant we went to for breakfast. The GM needs to go there and see what great customer/guest service is.

There are too many unemployed people that would be happy to have a job. And the carpet in the room was dirty and had large stains on it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelguy077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

The Hacienda is beautiful but the service not so much. A friend dropped me at the hotel to register before we went for dinner and I was told "parking is free across the street." The lot, and everywhere around, was filled. Understandable in a city, of course. Half an hour later we had to return to hotel and pay large overnight parking fee without being told we could park for few hours for much less. When I explained to desk I got an argument.

Finding my hotel room was almost impossible because hotel is a maze spread throughout eight buildings at different levels--desk acted like I was an idiot for not understanding their directions--they didn't mention you have to go back to parking garage and cross street to get to building I was staying in.

To get to the restaurant on top floor, it took two elevators, one back in parking garage. But, the Acapulco restaurant was amazingly good and service was excellent.

The hotel is spread out all over a hill--gorgeous grounds, but extremely difficult to navigate--absolutely impossible for people who have a hard time walking.

I picked this hotel because it offered free internet and shuttle to airport. Internet didn't work (other guests complained, too) and the first shuttle left at 7:00am, much too late for my early flight. I paid $20.00 for a cab after being told there was no coffee---not a good way to start a long travel day.

Gorgeous room, gorgeous place, but I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdiana2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Old Town Inn
#21 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Old Town
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Old Town / Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town

Property: Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Address: 4041 Harney Street, San Diego, CA 92110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hacienda Hotel Old Town San Diego
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing