We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Service was Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
Ranked #92 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Best Western San Diego/ Miramar was a pleasant and peaceful experience. It is located close to Miramar Marine Corp Air Station and close to freeways. We were very impressed with the service and attention we received from the entire staff. The breakfast was delicious and the pool/spa area was very clean. Despite the painting and remodeling on one side, it was quiet after work hours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western Plus Miramar. We are so happy to hear that the “service was great”. We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service and are glad we were able to accomplish just that. We are also happy to hear that you took advantage of our complimentary breakfast. Thank you again for reviewing our property. We hope to see you during your next visit to San Diego. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2013

I don't usually like to complain about rooms, since I'm not booking at a top hotel. Just looking for a place to sleep on the road, but I don't recommend this place even for that. They charge an extra $1 per day (plus tax) for the room safe whether you use it or not. And they don't tell you that until you are checking out, it just shows up on your bill. The check-in clerk the first night was quirky and nice but the other staff throughout our four night stay were not very unfriendly. Housekeeping started knocking on doors to clean the rooms at 7:30 each morning. We were getting ready to leave about 8:30 one morning, loading stuff for our day trip. The maid asked me if I wanted them to skip cleaning our room for the day, since we were next in line and we weren't gone yet. The hot food served for breakfast was marginal. After the first morning, I just went with the cereal or skipped it altogether. Wouldn't stay here again, wouldn't recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yelri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was by far the most unkeep Best Western we have ever stayed in. Not only was there garbage under the bed, there was debri on the floor in the bathroom, rugs were dirty, bath tub did not drain. Simply horrible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Vickie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our hotel. We also appreciate your feedback as it is valuable to us. Thank you also for bringing up your concerns. Guests like you only make our job easier to address the items to our staff immediately. We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay and we hope you reconsider and stay with us in the future. Thank you again for reviewing the Best Western Plus Miramar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We traveled from Northern California to San Diego for a state Harley Owners Group event. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was very nice. Eggs, sausage, waffles, assortment of pastries and breads, juices, etc. Very filling to start the day off. In the evening, we would relax by the pool and socialize. Staff was friendly and provided options for our various requests and questions. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in reviewing your stay at the Best Western Plus Miramar. We are so happy to hear that our staff was “very accommodating and friendly.” We strive to work hard in providing exceptional quality service and are glad that you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are glad that you took advantage of that. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel and staying with us during your visit to San Diego. We appreciate you recommending our hotel and we hope to see you in the future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

So as you can tell from my previous reviews, I am a frequent guest here. Usually stay every two weeks for a weekend. For one, rate def got a major hike for summer time, which I was okay with, considering. However, pool got dirtier as summer progressed, rooms cleaned less thoroughly, parking became a def hassle, no ice on the bottom floor machine during my whole stay. After staying there every two weeks for about a year now, I got 86'd!! Someone stole one of my room keys while at a party & apparently there was a raucous that I knew nothing about until the next day. Keep in mind, this came on the heels of me complaining 3 times during the same stay (about the above) when I had never complained before. Apparently the new front desk person, who is not very efficient may I add (don't remember his name, but is only male at front desk), didn't appreciate it & I got cut. I have easily thrown a grand or more at this hotel. Oh well, I guess that's what loyalty gets ya. Hotel next door, here I come...lol.

Room Tip: I'd be scared of catching something if they don't clean that pool SOON!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Griselda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for investing some time in reviewing our hotel. We also appreciate you bringing up your concerns to our attention. Guests like you only make our job easier to address the items and fix them. To hear what has happened to you is very upsetting. What you experienced is the exception and not the rule for the kind of service we provide. I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and please know that your issues are being addressed with our staff so that we are able to improve our guest service to future guest. Again, I thank you for bringing this review to my staffs attention and hope that you will re-consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were absolutely satisfied. The front desk was very helpful and our room was very clean. I would definitely stay there again. We were not far from Seaworld. we had a good experience with this hotel. I was happy and had no problems and very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Maria,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar. I am so pleased that your stay with us was a success! I really appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience with us. We hope to have you and your family return and stay with us again! Best Regards from everyone at the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a great place to stay. It's centrally located, is neat and clean and inexpensive. I loved being close to eating places and shopping, and not having to deal with much traffic. I would recommend this hotel because of the bargain price and more than adequate rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Melissa,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar. I am so pleased that our hotel has been so accommodating to your needs. We love to hear what our guests have to say about our property. We hope to have you continue staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
8.7 mi away
Best Western Mission Bay
Best Western Mission Bay
#118 of 279 in San Diego
637 reviews
9.3 mi away
Best Western Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#187 of 279 in San Diego
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
8.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn San Diego - Pacific Beach/SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel

Address: 9310 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92126-4503 (Formerly Best Western Plus San Diego/Miramar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#38 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: £66 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn Miramar San Diego Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing