We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
Ranked #92 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ontario, United States
1 review
“Business Trip”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Nice, quiet, and comfortable! Stayed over on Tuesday nights for three visits over the last three months, and it was always a pleasant experience. Beds and pillows are comfortable! The staff are professional and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lupe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Lupe R,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western San Diego Miramar. We are delighted to hear our hotel is “nice, quiet, and comfortable”. We strive in providing excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. We look forward to your next stay with us at the Best Western San Diego Miramar. Again, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    117
    63
    27
    27
See reviews for
171
62
44
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Two stars is about right. This place really does not live up to its Best Western PLUS designation. This hotel also pale in comparison from Best Western Escondido (no PLUS!) that we had just stayed over prior to coming here. It's true that here they aren't charging you like a PLUS. However, there are a number of other areas that I think this hotel is not up to standard.

First of all, this hotel is not family friendly at all. Under the hotel webpage they listed the crib as one of the amenities. But actually, they would charge you for $15 a night. That hidden fee would completely offset the cheaper price it claims to be. Moreover, at their breakfast dining area there are no high chairs! I thought it's against the law to have no high chairs at eating places.

Secondly, there are hidden fees. In addition to the $15 per night crib charges, they also charge you $1 per night for the safe, even if you don't use it. While this is in the fine prints on their website, it still feels like a rip-off, and they aren't eager to tell you this fee upfront.

Third, I think the hotel is still somewhat run-down, despite claimed renovations. In the room I stayed in, the sink produced a foul rotten smell when you turned on the tap. It was quite scary to think the tap water was contaminated. After some internet research and experimenting, I concluded that the drain is partially clogged such that build-up of bacteria produced the rotten smell when you run water through. Still, not a good feeling. The bath tub and the frig also had obvious wear-and-tear.

Then, the wi-fi sucks. It is "free", but it is not password protected and the coverage across the property is uneven. So, free means intermittent access.

Finally, the area really kinda suck. It is close to the 15 freeway, but there are so much noise, both in air and on the ground, it is rather difficult to sleep unless you crank up the AC and listen to that white noise from the AC.

Like I said, we stayed at Best Western Escondido just prior to coming here, and this place really pale in comparison, for having a PLUS designation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cssnoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. Please know that although it is not required by law for eateries to provide highchairs, we are bringing your other concerns to the attention of our staff so that future travelers will not have a similar experience. We hope you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRESNO, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I have to stay in San Diego on a weekly bases for business. I have found this hotel to have excellent rooms, service, and people for the prices they are asking for the San Diego area. I do reccomend the hotel to many customers and friends when the visting the San Diego area. Great job done by all there!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for investing your time in reviewing the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar. We are thrilled to hear our hotel has “excellent rooms, service, and people”. We strive in providing excellent quality service and are delighted you took notice. We look forward to seeing you and future travelers alike at our hotel. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Because I booked a wrong hotel for my weekend get away trip in San Diego, I had to check out and move to a better hotel to be able to enjoy my short vacation in town with my husband. So I booked this hotel last minute before arrival.

Chris at Front Desk was a great help at check-in. Friendly, knowledgeable and Efficient! The guest room was clean and nice decorated. They saved my short vacation!!! Thank you so much!!

I will recommend this hotel to all my friends and will stay here again when I'm back in the area!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar. We are glad we “saved” your vacation with our “friendly, knowledgeable and efficient” staff. We look forward to seeing you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

My friend and I came down to S.D. area for medical reasons and stayed at this hotel. What a nice place to come back to after a long and stressful day! Manu, Chris and Mandy were very helpful and had a genuine smile on their faces when we needed to extend our check-out time, find a good particular kind of restaurant nearby and then with our last minute need to extend our stay. Manu checked on not only us, but other patrons as well, to see how things were going. Our room was clean (thank you cleaning staff) and nicely decorated and the breakfast served hot food, fruit, yogurt, breads and great coffee! We would most certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar. We are thrilled to hear our hotel is a “great place to stay”. We strive in providing excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are pleased you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, United States
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

when you check into this place do a very good walk through. I had urine on the side of the toilet and genital hair in the tub. I would give it a lower rating but the breakfast was very good. that was the saving grace for me.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar. We are pleased to hear we are a “nice” hotel. As you mentioned, we do offer a complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We hope to see you during your next trip to San Diego. Again, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I stayed here twice in last few months. I find all staff very helpfull, room is very clean. All housekeepers always work with you and Louie maintenance person is on top is job. I saw hugh improvement in hotel Lobby/Breakfast room after renovation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lobat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SD_GM92131, General Manager at Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar. We are delighted to hear we are a “very clean hotel”. As you mentioned, we did recently have a lobby/breakfast room renovation and are pleased you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
23.3 mi away
Best Western Americana Inn
Best Western Americana Inn
#120 of 278 in San Diego
314 reviews
8.7 mi away
Best Western Mission Bay
Best Western Mission Bay
#109 of 278 in San Diego
596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#188 of 278 in San Diego
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Diego North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel

Property: Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel
Address: 9310 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92126 (Formerly Best Western Plus San Diego/Miramar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#38 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western San Diego/Miramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn Miramar San Diego Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing