We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay. Close to everything. Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel
Ranked #98 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay. Close to everything. Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is an older hotel that has been kept up very well. Being an older hotel, you get larger rooms which is great, compared to newer, more expensive hotels. Parking was tight, but there was ample parking. Although a non smoking property, people do smoke outside the rooms and the smoke gets sucked into the room through the AC. Maybe move the designated smoking sections across the parking lot? The breakfast was adequate, but comparing to other BW Plusses, this breakfast was lacking. Surprised to see instant coffee at the breakfast bar. Staff was friendly, accommodating, and responsive. If planning to go to any San Diego tourist sites, this is the place to stay, as it's centrally located, the rooms are quiet, allowing rest after a long day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western Plus Miramar. We are thrilled to hear our hotel is a “great place to stay”. We work hard in providing a well-maintained property and are delighted to know we have accomplished said task. As you mentioned, we are centrally located near several of San Diego’s famous attractions and are pleased you were able to benefit from it during your stay. We look forward to seeing you and future travelers alike, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus Miramar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    96
    54
    26
    25
See reviews for
146
56
41
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
san bernardino, ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

there were no non smoking rooms available. in my opinion every room should be non smoking. it just wreaked horribly. the room was clean, but just not good. we used the a/c and the room got very cold, that was nice. then my wife says she is too cold so i tried to turn on the heater. it didnt work. the toilet ran the whole time we were there. the shower tub leaked out onto the bathroom floor dispite our best effort to keep the floor dry. our front door squeeked so loudly you could here it 40 to 50 yards away. trust me, we checked just to see. the pool was small. the pictures make it look a decent size, but they are deceiving. there were a ton of kids there and the way the hotel is wrapped around the pool, it got extremely noisy. good thing the pool closes at 9:30 pm. i thought that was too early until i heard the noise level it produces. the food was average. the staff was nice. being in san diego, the hotel is way overpriced. wouldnt stay here again if you paid for my room for me.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank bobteriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing our hotel. We are sorry to hear our hotel did not meet your standards, but are pleased to know our “staff was nice”. We encourage our guests to bring their concerns to our staff’s attention during their stay, so that we can best address the situation. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us again, in the future. Once more, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

This Hotel was a great bargain for the $99 dollars a night. The amenities included a microwave and refrigerator along with free internet. There was plenty of parking and the free breakfast was tasty, I especially liked the waffles and scrambled eggs. I was able to stream movies and series using the free internet which was speedy enough to make it a pleasant experience. The check in time is earlier than most and they have always allowed us to have a later checkout time. The cleaning staff are pleasantly inobtrusive, they are available if you need them but they always waited until we left the room to attempt a cleaning. I have stayed at this hotel at least three times and it is consistently excellent!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Frederick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar. We are thrilled to hear you had an “excellent Stay” at our San Diego hotel. We strive in providing outstanding quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, our guestrooms do come with a microwave, as well as a refrigerator and are pleased you were able to enjoy them during each of your stays. We look forward to your next stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed there for the Memorial weekend. Everything was good. Clean and quiet. The staff was excellent. They even saved a quiet room for me because I arrived late night. The breakfast was nice too including waffles, eggs, and sausages, although it ends at 9am. The wi-fi was not always fast, but I have no complains. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btf009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar. We are thrilled to hear our hotel is a “good choice”. We strive in providing outstanding quality service and are touched you took notice. We look forward to your next stay with us and appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Plus San Diego Miramar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullhead City Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

This motel is a trucker/contractor rest stop, The parking lot fills with big rigs and contractor trucks. The room looked clean but it was dingy and smelled. We kept the door open as much of the time as we could.The auto repair shop next door uses the parking lot to park cars to be repaired. Had it not been for the fact the room was paid for by the Gov't, we would not have one night in this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Donald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for investing your time in reviewing our hotel. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to continually improve. Please know your concerns are being addressed with our staff so that future guests will not have a similar experience. We hope that you would be so kind as to give us another chance and stay with us in the future. Again, thank you for reviewing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. clean rooms, flat screen tvs, refrigerator & microwave in suite. nice pillow top beds, coffee maker in room, pool and spa was nice. The morning breakfast is very good, scrambled eggs, waffles, cereals. coffee, milk, apple juice, and others. Nice staff that care. Thank you for the hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEFFREY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Jeffery M,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western San Diego Miramar. We are delighted to hear we are a “great Best Western” and that you “really enjoyed” our hotel. We work hard in providing outstanding quality service and are thrilled you took notice. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Best Western San Diego Miramar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Nice, quiet, and comfortable! Stayed over on Tuesday nights for three visits over the last three months, and it was always a pleasant experience. Beds and pillows are comfortable! The staff are professional and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lupe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Lupe R,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Best Western San Diego Miramar. We are delighted to hear our hotel is “nice, quiet, and comfortable”. We strive in providing excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. We look forward to your next stay with us at the Best Western San Diego Miramar. Again, thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
8.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
BEST WESTERN Mission Bay
#97 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
23.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Americana Inn
BEST WESTERN Americana Inn
#126 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
Quality Inn San Diego Miramar
#187 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites San Diego Miramar
9.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
8.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel
Address: 9310 Kearny Mesa Rd, San Diego, CA 92126-4503 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS San Diego/Miramar Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#38 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN San Diego/Miramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn Miramar San Diego Hotel
Best Western San Diego
San Diego Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing