We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
Ranked #87 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
rhome, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointed”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

midnight staff attitude poor-breakfast was cold-can't get coffee before 6 am & lobby bathroom not working-very disappointed overall in the cost of this room on our vacation except how easily accessible it was to MCRD.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    498
    248
    97
    58
See reviews for
465
442
61
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Location of hotel is nice especially with a harbor view. Hotel is in need of serious updating/remodeling of common areas and the individual rooms. Bathroom was seriously outdated. Beds offered average comfort. Room cleaning staff did a nice job of servicing our room each day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We spent 4 days at this hotel and were so happy with the experience. The rooms were clean and large and the staff went out of there way to make everything perfect. When we woke up one morning to a leak in our room due to an air conditioner they upgraded us to a bigger room with a wonderful view at no extra charge. We didn't even have to ask to be moved they just did it. The location is ideal the neighborhood is safe and the experience was very, very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Both the hotel and the staff are worn out and need updating. The room was okay, but the common areas were unclean and the staff seemed too tired and harried to be efficient. We were stuck in the elevator for 10 minutes, and when we finally got out on the top floor and used the stairs, we discovered the other floors were not accessible from the stairs and we had to go down to the ground floor to get out. Will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank eaglerockmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Having been home 1 week, and read lots of different reviews prior to staying here, I do agree with some and disagree with others. When we arrived we expected to be given a city view, but got both city and harbour view (2 for the price of 1!) on the 6th floor. The room was always clean and tidy, and plenty of coffee provided when we asked for extra.The reception area was also immaculate.. What I disagree with, was the noise people complained about - only due to road surface, not actual car noise, we had no problems whatsoever, and were on the side.
The staff were always friendly and helpful, even suggested places to go on a weekend/what to do, when there was no buses (and limited 1 hour service by #28).
The one thing I do agree with is the breakfast room. There was plenty to choose from: waffles, pancakes, cereal, toast, omelettes,potatoes, pasties, juices,tea,coffee. However, for the size hotel the main breakfast area is small and windowless, but there is additional seating next door, which is light and airy, but still small. It was generally kept clean and re-stocked frequently. This is the one area I think could do with an improvement.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor which had good views of the harbour/bay and city. A room on the side is q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyingangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at the yacht harbor in on the 4th of July. All
Customer service was off the hook! They were super nice and accommodating. One staff member went on a wild goose chase to fine my son a pack and play and well as a noise canceling machine because of the street noise being on harbor blvd. The room was ok, not anything to sing about. But the location for what we were there for was perfect. A wonderful spot for a walk to see amazing firework shows! The breakfast was pretty mediocre, it could have been better with bacon and sausage...and eggs without nasty fake cheese inside them. Eggs should be cooked alone and cheese should be real, and optional. Besides that, everything was great and I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I was a bit nervous reserving this room. We usually stay at the Marriott but unexpected expenses left us on a tight budget for a quick family getaway for 4 nights, 5 days....this is a 2 1/2 star hotel so I wasn't expecting a 5 star hotel.. with that said the only complaint I have is the carpets could use a good shampoo in the rooms..other than that the view of the harbor was beautiful, the noise really wasn't bad and im a light sleeper and the breakfast was quite adequate. The staff was very friendly and helpful.. pizza nova across the street is great and happy hour from 3-6 pm you can get some great deals... over all I would say this hotel is great for a family....I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristie5356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#117 of 278 in San Diego
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada San Diego Airport
Ramada San Diego Airport
#142 of 278 in San Diego
1,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn - San Diego Airport Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
0.1 mi away
Dolphin Motel
Dolphin Motel
#26 of 278 in San Diego
1,110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel

Property: Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel
Address: 5005 N Harbor Dr, San Diego, CA 92106-2307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Harbor views and a great location. New owners have completed millions of dollars in renovations including exterior and public areas and significant room upgrades. With new Sealy mattresses, new drapes and shears, upgraded linens and towels, new bath fixtures and fresh colors on the walls we think you will enjoy our new look and feel in our rooms. Still to come - new furniture and televisions and new meeting rooms. We have smaller budget minded rooms and larger harbor and pool view rooms. Something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Yacht Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Posada San Diego
Best Western Yacht Harbor San Diego
Best Western San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing