We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$322
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$261
US$202
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$183
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$245
US$172
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$180
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$350
US$325
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,918)
Filter reviews
3,918 results
Traveller rating
2,327
1,207
271
73
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,327
1,207
271
73
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasa del mar buildingblue wavefishing piernavy shipspoint lomawalking pathjunior suitewater viewhotel restauranttennis courtshot tubfull kitchenshort driveclose to the airportsea worldthe san diego areacoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,993 - 2,998 of 3,918 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Once again we stayed here as we have twice before. The location is the best. And everything looked brand new. This is the result of their continued renovations and upgrades.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. There are a few rooms that open on an interconnecting walk and are darkened by foliage and side structures.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This hotel is reasonably price, in a wonderful location, safe with an excellent staff and made for walkers. You can't go wrong when choosing a room with a marina view or ocean view. On one stay while walking the island a Navy air craft carrier cruised by and you could almost reach out and touch it. On another occasion a Navy destroyer. You can lay in bed on the marina side and view all the magnifent sail boats and from an ocean front room watch the Navy planes taking off. Absolutely no street traffic noise and parking is free. I have stayed at this hotel twice rooms are sparkling clean bathrooms are roomy rooms are large and cheery. I can't wait to return. Thank you Sean and Chris for the personalized service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angels3jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

At last in this Corporate Greed Era an attractive resort without the unethical "Resort" and "Parking" fees that reflect not only greed but also management stupidity because they kill the goose that lays golden eggs.
Reasonable prices for a waterfront location and gracious service. Excellent, reasonably priced restaurant.
Now the bill is inflated by taxes and fees imposed dictatorially by California and San Diego who are thus forcing the hapless visitors to help pay the deficits caused by their mismanagement.
A tip: Pay the small extra cost to get a Marina View room.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed three nights in this hotel and had a very positive experience. We stayed in the marina building and it was very clean, well appointed, had an excelllent view over the marina, had very comfortable beds and afforded us a very quiet, restful sleep. We had to chuckle when we found that one of the lamps still had a price tag on it. The location was excellent and allowed us to easily access the cruise ship harbour, Point Loma, Pacific and Ocean Beach, the airport and Interstate 5. We could simply walk across the street to a wonderful walkway along the shore with ample opportunities to view a parade of naval vessels entering and leaving the harbour. We had breakfast in the restaurant a couple of times and the leisurely walk along the marina walkway in the morning was most pleasant. All of the staff were delightful and the front desk, cleaning staff and servers at breakfast were fine representatives of the hotel. We were very pleased with our stay and would recommend the hotel for a night or for a longer stay without reservation.

Room Tip: We selected a marina view and it was wonderful although I do not think the sun actually ever directly shone on the balcony. The street view may have been somewhat noisier but if you want to see the morning sun and and enjoy watching the ships go buy it would be the place to be.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenOntarioCANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Whenever I find a great deal, I get a little concerned about what the hotel will really be like. This hotel lived up to all the reviews. We stayed in room 501 in the Casa del Mar building and it was wonderful – 2nd floor, awesome views of the ocean and San Diego skyline, clean room, comfortable bed, free wi-fi, free parking and no noise issues. The breakfast room service was reasonable, the food was good and it came right on time. The property was well maintained and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room came with a refrigerator and we had a microwave delivered (no charge). I enjoyed the complimentary bike rentals, perfect to ride around Shelter Island. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for the Casa del Mar building, top floor
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelMel72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews