We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Nearby Hotels
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Blue Sea Beach Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$210
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$321
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$276
US$202
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$221
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
US$336
US$172
ParadisePoint.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
US$325
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,918)
Filter reviews
3,918 results
Traveller rating
2,327
1,207
271
73
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,327
1,207
271
73
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasa del mar buildingblue wavefishing piernavy shipspoint lomawalking pathjunior suitewater viewhotel restauranttennis courtshot tubfull kitchenshort driveclose to the airportsea worldthe san diego areacoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,985 - 2,990 of 3,918 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I was very impressed with this hotel...right one the water and a great room to boot! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with everything. I would definitely return again.

Room Tip: There are rooms with kitchens and also 2 bedrooms as well which we didn't need. Others in our group did have them and thought they were great.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bienbrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Wow what a nice place to stay before the cruise. The drivers were outstanding. Pointed out the local attractions. Very well done on customer service. We would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cruiseshipnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We booked this after much procastinating about which hotel to stay at for a short get away with little advance preparation.
The location of the hotel is great. Being it is on Shelter Island it is a nice relaxed atmosphere with lots of walking available and water all around. The free parking and internet was what decided in our booking here. There are some good places to eat within easy, less than a mile, walking distance. The breakfast offered onsite at the Blue Wave was very reasonably priced and the food was good. It is an easy drive to get to the downtown area and there is a free shuttle for the airport. The pool and pool area is very small and the pool is not heated. Capacity for the pool was stated at 60 but it would have to be SRO. Not a lot of room for loungers either.
There is an old section and a new section of the hotel. The old section has been remodeled but the walls are thin. I am hard of hearing, Viet Nam, and I could hear the people in the next two rooms urinating...UGH! Each time the shower was used, the toilet was flushed, etc, we could hear it. Not what we were really looking forward to for a short get away. The room we were given was small, just about three feet longer than a standard cruise ship cabin and even though painted a light color was dark and dreary. The bathroom was nice with a nice shower, even though there was no light in the shower itself, there was one right outside the shower door. The hosekeeping staff were very good and the room was kept very clean. There was free internet, bring your own cable. The room had a large flat screen TV, a microwave and a small refrigerator. The box spring on our bed made so much noise, creaking and groaning from just sitting down, rolling over that my wife went to a CVS and bought ear plugs. We mentioned this to the front desk, thinking that maybe the frame was busted, but nothing was done. Later we talked to Chris at the front desk and he offered to move us to another room but when we tried the other room in the old section of the hotel it was just as bad so we stayed where we were. we did look at one of the rooms in the new section of the hotel and they were nicer but we forgot to check out the beds. Thank you Chris for trying to make our stay better.
There are certain rooms to avoid at all costs:111,117,122,144,157,168 our room,169, and 170. These are not good ones to stay in as there is no view and they are dark. There are Four rooms that are right across from the loading dock for the hotel and restuarant, plus along the walk way for the boat owners at the marina. This means lots of noise and foot traffic at all hours but especially very early in the morning. They are rooms: 134,135,136 and137.
Overall it is a nice place but we will stay somewhere else next time we drive into San Diego.

Room Tip: I have done this with room numbers to avoid in the review.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RickHLihue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wjorman, Manager at Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2012

Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. We have many room and suite options throughout the hotel and I wish our staff would have found a room that met your needs. We have 2 swimming pools and spas, both heated to 82 degrees and fortunately, we don’t have a problem with overcrowding but they certainly are the place to be when the weather is nice. Our guests can also enjoy the free wireless internet access at the pools and everywhere throughout the property.

We are constantly looking for ways to improve our hotel and feedback such as yours helps us to focus on areas that need attention. We appreciate the time you’ve taken and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel was everything I wanted it to be! First thing to know is there are actually 3 different buildings with different features on this property so call ahead to get a better feel of which building would suit your preferences. We stayed in the Casa del mar which is in the middle and has views of the marina or the bay. I had coffee on my own patio each morning facing the marina. Perfect. Everything was pleasant: the spacious room, the view, the patio, the pools, the free bike rentals, the service, and the price! The ONLY thing I can think of as a drawback for this hotel is having wheels- its not far from downtown/airport but I could see not having a car as a hardship from this location. So get a rental car already and drive to this awesome hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennykat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I'm very glad I booked the Island Palms for my week in San Diego. The staff was extremely helpful, very comfortable bed with an incredible view of the sailboats in the marina. At night we enjoyed the swimming pool and jacuzzi overlooking the harbor with a lit fireplace and 80s music. Parking was free and plentiful. The tennis courts under the parking structure were always available. Free wifi. Heavy classy wood blinds opened up to a patio with a spectacular view of the yachts day and night. They even picked up my wife from the airport when her flight was 3 hours delayed and my young child was asleep. It's a short drive, but not an airport hotel with boring atmosphere. Water pressure in bath very strong. Rooms had microwaves and refrigerators hidden under the large screen TVs. Excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AthensBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews